njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Council of Proprietors of West New Jersey
Series: Account Books, ca. 1676-1951
Accession #: 2005.048
Series #:  PWESJ003
Guide Date:  12/2005 (EC)
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [3 vols.]; 0.3 reel [35-mm]


Contents | Reel List

Content Note

This series consists of three accounts documenting the distribution of proprietary land. Below is a preliminary description of the books.

Item 1. “Proprietors Book” or “Danl Ellis Book,” ca. 1676-1951 - This volume provides an accounting of acreage sold by, or due to, specific individuals. Although the dates of the entries span from 1676 to 1951, there are relatively few for the twentieth century. It is not clear how this volume is arranged and unfortunately, it does not include a name index.

Each individual’s account includes names of persons bought from or sold to, amount of acreage, date of transaction and generally, but not always, citations to a book and page number. The volumes cited include not only the minutes and survey books of the Council of Proprietors of West New Jersey, but also the West Jersey books in the series Secretary of State’s Office/Deeds, Surveys and Commissions.

Citations to the minute books are done by reference to the dividend from which the warrant for land was derived:


Citation Minute Book
3rd dividend Book 2 (3 September 1700 - 19 March 1711/12)
4th dividend Book 3 (18 April 1712 - 5 February 1728/29)
5th dividend Book 5 (4 May 1737 - 7 May 1751)

For example, a reference to “4th dividend, folio 99” is citing Minute Book 3, page 99.

[NOTE: Includes a folder of loose pages.]

Item 2. Accounts of Warrants and Rights Purchased, ca. 1714-1922 - This is an account of acreages deeded under specific warrants or “rights purchased” from ca. 1714-1922. As with the previous account, there are relatively few twentieth-century entries. The format of each account varies but generally includes the name of the person holding the warrant or right, amount of acreage and date. This is usually followed by listing of grantees, deed dates and acreage amounts. A survey book and page number is also sometimes included.

There is a name index at the beginning of the volume, but portions of the H section and all of G and L are missing due to lost page corners.

[NOTE: Includes a folder of loose material.]


Item 3. “Warrant Book,” ca. 1717-1748 - This is an accounting of acreages surveyed under specific warrants. The arrangement of the book is unclear and it does not include an index. Each account includes warrant date, acreage amount and name of warrant holder. Below this is a listing of surveys made for that warrant. Survey entries include name of individual to whom the survey was made and the acreage. Some accounts include amounts of land sold in one column followed by the actual amount surveyed. Each entry includes a book-and-page citation to survey books A through O. (The “Book B” referenced is Bull’s Book; there appear to be no references to Sharp’s Book which is also sometimes referred to as B.)


Contents

1. "Proprietors Book" or "Danl Ellis Book," ca. 1676-1951
2. Accounts of Warrants and Rights Purchased, ca. 1714-1922
3. "Warrant Book," ca. 1717-1748


Reel Listing - WEST JERSEY PROPRIETORS

Reel Contents Explanatory Note
4 Index to Minutes; Abstract of Surveys and Warrants; Account Books Grantor/Grantee Index to Minute
  Books 1 - 8 [1688-1782]
Extract of Surveys and Warrants,
  1717-1756
Account Books, ca. 1676-1951
   [3 vols.]

Created May 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations