njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Council of Proprietors of West New Jersey
Series: Lawrence Division Line Journal and Notes, 1743-1751 & ca. 1777
Accession #: 2005.048
Series #:  PWESJ007
Guide Date:  12/2005 (EC)
Volume: 0.1 c.f. [1 vol.]


Contents

Content Note

This small volume includes several distinctive sections bound together as noted below. Most of the volume concerns the East/West division line drawn by John Lawrence as well as James Alexander’s analysis of the Lawrence Line and the earlier Keith Line. Tipped into the end of the volume are two maps, one of which makes reference to the Revolutionary War battle of Short Hills on 26 June 1777. Judging by the paper, ink and writing, both of these undated maps (which were drawn by the same unidentified person) may date from the revolutionary period.


Contents

Section Title/Description
1. “A Journal Kept by John Lawrence in running the Division Line of the Province of New
Jersey, 1743”
2. James Alexander’s examination of the Lawrence and Keith Lines:
  a. 1 November 1750
  b. 20 November 1750
3. “Examination By James Alexander into the Causes of the Differences between Mr. Godfreys and his results concerning the Line between E & West Jersey,” October 1751
4. Maps:
  a. Central New Jersey (including Trenton, Princeton, Bordentown, Imlaystown and Manalapan), no date
  b. Northeastern New Jersey (including Morristown, Newark, Westfield, Short Hills, Somerset and Perth Amboy), no date. Includes the notations, “Short hills battle on ye 26 June 1777” and “West Field where the provincials Retreated after the Battle”

Created May 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations