| Record
Group: |
Zabriskie
Family |
| Series: |
Papers,
1804-1887 |
| Accession
#: |
1995.036 |
| Series
#: |
PZABR001 |
| Guide
Date: |
11/1996
(JK) |
| Volume: |
1.5
c.f. [3 boxes] |
Contents
Content
Note
This
collection consists primarily of the legal papers of Abraham O.
Zabriskie and his sons, prominent attorneys in Bergen (and later
Hudson) County. A. O. Zabriskie served as Surrogate of Bergen County
and later Chancellor of the State of New Jersey.
Many of the documents were exhibits in cases brought before the
Chancery Court by A. O. Zabriskie as solicitor for the plaintiff.
Generally, these involve ejectment or foreclosure suits. Files described
below as "Papers re: case of ..." almost always include
(at least) an original mortgage and bond.
NOTE: The Zabriskie family papers were received by the
State Archives as part of a donation of early Bergen County manuscripts
relating to several families, including also the Robert Campbell
family and the Ward and Haring families. The documents relating
to the different families were completely intermingled, and much
research was done to establish the resulting manuscript series.
In many instances, the indexes and dockets of the Chancery Court
were used to identify A. O. Zabriskie or his sons as the attorneys
in certain legal suits. In such cases, notations to this effect
have been included in brackets in the items descriptions below (e.g.,
"[Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney]"). In other cases, a
direct connection to the Zabriskie family could not be ascertained
but the manuscripts have been included in this series based on the
localities and families involved and the fact that the bulk of the
donation was Zabriskie material. In these cases, the item descriptions
are followed by an asterisk (*). There is a possibility that some
documents of the documents so marked are not related to the Zabriskie
family.
The items are listed below in chronological order. Documents involving
legal actions were filed according to the date on which A. O. Zabriskie
or his sons initiated the lawsuit (if known), not the actual
date of the manuscripts, which might pre-date the suit by more than
a decade. The actual date of the document(s) is given in the item
descriptions below in parentheses following the date of the lawsuit.
Undated materials have been placed at the beginning of the collection.
All places referred to below are in New Jersey unless otherwise
indicated; most are in either Bergen County or Hudson County.
|
| No. |
Description |
| 1. |
Sketch
showing land of Henry Westerfield, William N. Day and John Westerfield,
[no place], no date.* |
| 2. |
Letter
of Hiram Carpenter to Daniel Low, Esq., re: title to property, [no
place], no date.* |
| 3. |
Map
showing the Morris Canal at a river crossing, [no place], no date
[in oversized box].* |
| 4. |
Map
(belonging to L. Zabriskie) showing property of J. A. Zabriskie, Jacob
Van Houten, Mrs. L. Van Houten, Christian [Mhir?], Heirs of John J.
Voorhis, David Bogart, Mrs. Margaret Westervelt, Fred Stanley, Mrs.
Greasbeck and Daniel Ackerman, and also showing New Bridge Road and
the Road from New Bridge to Hackensack, scale: 1"=200 feet, no
date [in oversized box]. |
| 5. |
Wrapper
from case of Peter Garrabrant v. [-?-], Bergen County Circuit Court
(Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney), Trenton, 11 December [no year]. |
| 6. |
List
of cases or claimants addressed to Abraham O. Zabriskie, Newark, 25
September [no year]. |
| 7. |
Deed
of Henry Bardan and Elsha, his wife, to John Ackerman for 1 acre in
New Barbadoes Twp., 8 September 1804 (sworn 26 May 1812) [fragmented;
in oversized box].* |
| 8. |
Copy
of estate inventory of Isaac I. Bogerts, Bergen Co., 26 December 1815.* |
| 9. |
Promissory
notes of William Ackerman to Daniel Dedrix and Cornelius Lydecker
for $200 and $100, [no place],
1 May 1817 & 20 February 1824 [2 items].* |
| 10. |
Promissory
note of Garret and Jacob Covenhoven to Albert M. Bogart for $400,
[no place], 10 May 1820 - 17 June 1829 [fragmented].* |
| 11. |
Copy
of the last will and testament of Thomas Stevenson, blacksmith, of
New York, NY, 19 March 1822.* |
| 12. |
Papers
re: case of Abraham Westervelt v. Elias Freeman and Mary Ann Freeman,
Edmund Condict, Ellis Potter, Samuel Parsons, Daniel [Parder?], Peter
Freeman and Samuel S. Gregory ([Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney], also
involves John Wetherholt), Chancery Court, 1 September 1830 - 20 July
1831 [2 items]. |
| 13. |
Note
of Andrew Demarest to Tunis Cole (Abraham O. Zabriskie, Notary Public,
The Washington Banking Company), Hackensack, 7 October 1833. |
| 14. |
Bill
and proceedings in case of George Y. Allaire et al v. The Washington
Banking Company (Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney; also invloves John
DeGroot, Abraham Westervelt, Abraham Hopper, Albert G. Doremus and
John Anderson), Chancery Court, Trenton, 17 June 1834 [copy]. |
| 15. |
Bond
of Michael Meeker of New Barbadoes to Tunis Cole of Hackensack (case
of Cole v. Michael Meeker, Margaret Meeker and Jasper Demarest, [Abraham
O. Zabriskie, attorney]), Chancery Court, 20 July 1835 (20 January
1834). |
| 16. |
Letter
of J. M. Mann to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: case of John L. Zabriskie
v. Isaac Hageman et als, Somerville, 14 March 1836. |
| 17. |
Copy
of deed of Parke Jones and Rebecca F. Jones, his wife, to David Anderson
for 42 acres in the County of James Citty [sic], VA, 11 May 1836.* |
| 18. |
Deed
of Peter Burdett, executor and son of Peter Burdett, to Francis Williams
for half part of Lot No. 10 in Hackensack Twp. (Abraham O. Zabriskie,
witness and Master in Chancery), 9 August 1836. |
| 19. |
Interlocutory
decree in case of John Ackerman Jr. v. James Travers, John Lorimer
Graham, Joseph Lawrence and James B. Taylor (Abraham O. Zabriskie,
attorney), Chancery Court, Trenton, 18 October 1836. |
| 20. |
Mortgage
of John C. Westervelt and Ann, his wife, and Peter C. Westervelt to
Joseph G. Blauvelt for ½ acre in Bergen Twp., 20 October 1836
[fragmented; in oversized box]. |
| 21. |
Deed
of Thomas Hamon and Martha, his wife, to John J. S. Van Blarcom and
John N. Terhune for 3.33 acres in Saddle River Twp., 29 November 1836
[fragmented; in oversized box].* |
| 22. |
Mortgage
of David L. Van Kleeck and Henry T. Wheeler to Joseph Townsend for
10 acres, 1 rood and 10 rods at Bulls Ferry, Bergen Twp. (case of
Townsend v. Van Kleeck, [Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney]), Chancery
Court, [January 1837] (2 November 1835) [in oversized box]. |
| 23. |
Bill
of sale for mortgaged premises in case of David Cory v. John Dow and
Agnes, his wife (Daniel Haines [and Abraham O. Zabriskie], attorneys),
Chancery Court, Hardyston, Sussex Co., 15 January 1837. |
| 24. |
Papers
re: case of the Executors of John G. Benson v. the Administrators
of Garret I. Earle [Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney], Chancery Court,
Bergen Twp., [March 1837] (includes material back to 13 May 1822)
[2 items; in oversized box]. |
| 25. |
Decree
in case of Leah Lozier's Executors v. John L. Van Sann's Administrators
(Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney), Chancery Court, 6 April 1837 [copy]. |
| 26. |
Form
of scire facias against garnishes in attachment, trespass case of
Corlis Lloyd and Sarah, his wife, late Sarah Clayton, guardian of
Lucy Drake, v. Samuel Gravat, Thomas DeBow and David Bowman, Commissioners
(Garret D. Wall, attorney for the plaintiff; copy to Abraham O. Zabriskie),
New Jersey Supreme Court, Monmouth & Burlington Cos., May 1837. |
| 27. |
Papers
re: case of Abraham Westervelt v. Josiah Johnson [Abraham O. Zabriskie,
attorney], Chancery Court,
10 October 1837 (includes materials back to 2 May 1831) [2 items]. |
| 28. |
Mortgage
of Rem Onderdonk and Kesiah, his wife, to Elizabeth Boyd for 49.49
acres in Saddle River Twp. (case of Elizabeth Boyd v. Cornelius G.
Van Houten and Kesiah Onderdonk, administrators, [Abraham O. Zabriskie,
attorney]), Chancery Court, 10 October 1837 (1 May 1828) [in oversized
box]. |
| 29. |
Papers
re: case of George Doremus v. Henry Payson, Ira Goodnow, Albert C.
Demerit et als [Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney], Chancery Court, Saddle
River Twp., 21 October 1837 (1 July 1836) [2 items; in oversized box]. |
| 30. |
Mortgage
of Cyrus S. Browning and Fanny, his wife, to Garret and George Green
for property in West Hoboken, Bergen Twp. (case of Green v. Browning,
Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney), Chancery Court, 6 April [ca. 1838]
(17 August 1837) [in oversized box]. |
| 31. |
Mortgage
of Elijah Fransisco and Jane, his wife, to Andrew H. Hopper for 11.75
acres and 6 acres in Franklin Twp., 9 January 1838 [fragmented; in
oversized box].* |
| 32. |
Order
of Chancery Court re: case of Peter Westervelt Sr. v. John H. Cornell
and Amelia, his wife (Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney for the plaintiff),
Trenton, 20 July 1838. |
| 33. |
Papers
re: case of Elizabeth Boyd v. Jotham Richards, Avery Richards, et
als [Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney], Chancery Court, Saddle River
Twp., 15 October 1838 (15 May 1833) [2 items; in oversized box]. |
| 34. |
Order
for publication in foreclosure case of Garret Westervelt & Jacob
J. Demott and Executors of John A. Westervelt v. Abraham Hitchcock,
Cornelius [P.?] Blauvelt and Martha, his wife, William B. Sloan, Moses
E. DeWitt and Thomas A. Mandeville (Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney
for the plaintiffs), Chancery Court, 20 April 1839. |
| 35. |
Papers
re: trespass case of Catharine Eckerson v. John Eckerson (George Cassidy,
attorney for the plaintiff; Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney for the
defendant), Bergen County Circuit Court, September 1839 & 22 August
1840 [2 items]. |
| 36. |
Mortgage
and bond of John Jordan to John W. Ferdon for 18.25 acres, 4.5 acres,
5.5 acres and 5.5 acres in Harrington Twp., 6 July 1840 [2 items].* |
| 37. |
Interlocutory
decree in case of The New Barbadoes Toll Bridge Company v. Edo Vreeland
(Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney), Chancery Court, Trenton, October
1840 [copy]. |
| 38. |
Papers
re: case of Abraham Westervelt v. Robert Lavielle et als (Abraham
O. Zabriskie, attorney; also involves Benjamin Vandervoort and Henry
S. Raymond), Chancery Court, Trenton and Newark, [February 1841] (includes
material back to 6 September 1838) [3 items; in oversized box]. |
| 39. |
Abstracts
of title for Charles E. and James F. Gardner tract (part of Elijah
Gardner homestead) in Bergen Twp. (Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney),
Jersey City, 8 February 1841 - December 1842. |
| 40. |
Papers
re: cases of Abraham Huyler v. William A. Lum and wife, Aaron M. Merchant
and Stephen Lum, and Abraham Huyler v. David H. Tichenor and wife,
and Aaron M. Merchant (Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney), Chancery Court,
Newark, Trenton and Hackensack Twp., 19 March - 13 July 1841 (includes
material back to
8 September 1836) [4 items; in oversized box]. |
| 41. |
Map
of the Van de Linde farm at [Wierimies?] surveyed for William Nicoll,
22 April 1841.* |
| 42. |
Papers
re: ejectment case of Francis Price v. John Ludlum and Suzannah Deas
(Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney for the defendants; J. D. Miller,
attorney for the plaintiff), Hudson Circuit Court, 22 July 1841 -
May 1842 (also 1823) [7 items]. |
| 43. |
Bond
of William Van Beuren of New Barbadoes to Edward J. Earle of the same
place (case of Earle v. Van Beuren et als, [Abraham O. Zabriskie,
attorney]), Chancery Court, 12 October 1841 (9 June 1838). |
| 44. |
Mortgage
of James Larue and Cathalina, his wife, to John Ackerman for several
tracts in Franklin Twp. (case of Tunis Cole v. James Larue et als,
[Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney]), Chancery Court, [11 January 1842]
(9 November 1825) [fragmented; in oversized box]. |
| 45. |
Mortgage
of Jacob P. Debaun and Hannah, his wife, to Albert G. Zabriskie for
73 acres in Franklin Twp. (case of James P. Demarest v. Jacob P. Debaun
and wife, [Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney]), 9 April 1842 (2 August
1837) [fragmented; in oversized box]. |
| 46. |
Papers
re: case of Joseph Post v. Mary Pulis, John Henry Pulis et als (Abraham
O. Zabriskie, attorney; also involves Aaron and Mary Pulhemus), Newton,
15 April 1842 (also 8 November 1831) [2 items]. |
| 47. |
Mortgage
of John S. Brinkerhoff and Catherine Ann, his wife, to Jacob S. Brinkerhoff
for Lot No. 6 in New Barbadoes Twp. (case of David A. Bogert v. John
S. Brinkerhoff and wife), Chancery Court, 12 July 1842
(4 March 1840) [in oversized box]. |
| 48. |
Mortgage
of Abraham Flavell and Ann, his wife, to Daniel Holsman for 2-story
frame dwelling house in Paterson (case of Catharine Holsman v. Abraham
Flavell, [Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney]), Chancery Court, 13 July
1842 (13 March 1837) [fragmented; in oversized box]. |
| 49. |
Letter
of E. R. V. Wright to Chief Justice Hornblower re: case of Myers v.
Engle, Hoboken, 22 August 1842.* |
| 50. |
Letter
of E. Morris, Clerk, to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: judgment search for
Richard D. Sisco and David Quackenbush, New Jersey Supreme Court,
[Trenton], 11 October 1842. |
| 51. |
Papers
re: case of Nicholas Kipp v. James S. Bogert and Mary, his wife, Richard
P. Cooper et als [Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney], Chancery Court,
Hackensack Twp., 15 October 1842 (11 May 1839) [2 items; in oversized
box]. |
| 52. |
Papers
re: case of Maria D. Quick and Joanna Quick v. Gasherie DeWitt and
Christiana, his wife, The Minister, Elders and Deacons of the Reformed
Protestant Dutch Church at Bergen, and John Van Horn [Abraham O. Zabriskie,
attorney], Chancery Court, 19 October 1842 (includes material back
to 19 November 1840) [5 items; in oversized box]. |
| 53. |
Order
to desist from prosecuting case of William Berry v. William Nicoll
and Derick Brinkerhoof, executors of Abraham B. Wright [copy], and
note of A. S. Pennington to Abraham O. Zabriskie, Chancery Court,
Trenton and Paterson, 19 & 21 January 1843. |
| 54. |
Letter
of [H. G.?] Prall to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: mortgage foreclosure
involving John [Comptin?] and Benjamin Secor, attorney, Haverstraw,
Rockland Co., NY, 10 February 1843. |
| 55. |
Mortgage
of Richard D. Sisco and Margaret, his wife, to Peter Perry for 49.74
acres, 8 acres and 20 acres in Pequannock Twp. (case of The Executors
of Peter Perry, deceased, and Arthur Johnson v. Margaret Sisco, John
R. Sisco, Barney R. Sisco, Henry Sisco et als, [Abraham O. Zabriskie,
attorney]), Chancery Court, 6 April 1843 (1 May 1839) [fragmented;
in oversized box]. |
| 56. |
Papers
re: case of Elshe Ackerman v. John S. Hepburn et als (involves William
D. Sisco; [Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney]), Chancery Court, Pompton,
West Milford, New Barbadoes and Hackensack Twps., 10 October 1843
(includes material back to 1 May 1833) [2 items]. |
| 57. |
Report
of Abraham Westervelt, Master in Chancery, in case of John J. Voorhis
v. John Terhune, Stephen Terhune and John B. Van Dien [Abraham O.
Zabriskie, attorney], [no place], 10 October 1843. |
| 58. |
Quitclaim
of Albert G. Lydecker to Rachel E. Post for 880 square feet on the
corner of Matlack and Division Sts., Village of Manchester, 16 October
1843 [fragmented; in oversized box].* |
| 59. |
Papers
re: case of Charles Hall v. Henry Kipp and Susan, his wife, Robert
L. Smith, John C. Henderson, Francis S. Lathrop and Dwight Lathrop
(Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney for the plaintiff), Chancery Court,
12 December 1843 & 4 March 1844 [2 items]. |
| 60. |
Letter
of James S. Wanmaker to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: bill of George Cassidy,
deceased, Ramapo, [NY?], 15 April 1844. |
| 61. |
Papers
re: case of John B. Ayerigg v. Cornelius W. Van Winkle and Maria B.,
his wife, Peter P. Demarest et als (J. D. Miller, attorney for the
plaintiff; Peter I. Ackerman, attorney for the defendants; also involves
Abraham O. Zabriskie and Cornelius G. Van Riper), Chancery Court,
Acquackanonk, 23 April & 20 May 1844 [2 items]. |
| 62. |
Papers
re: case of Hezekiah Alberts v. Calvin Tompkins (Abraham O. Zabriskie,
attorney for the plaintiff; William S. Pennington, attorney for the
defendant), Newark and Trenton, 14 May & 13 November 1844 [2 items]. |
| 63. |
Letter
of D. J. Stryker to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: lease involving Zabriskie's
father, New York, NY, 14 November 1844. |
| 64. |
Papers
re: case of Jacob Garrabrants v. Abraham Garrabrants et als (administration
of Jacob Garrabrants Sr. estate; Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney; also
involves Amus [sic] S. Miller, Neafie family and Josiah Bryant), Monmouth
Orphans Court, Freehold and Shrewsbury Twp., 11 January - 16 December
1845 (also 3 June 1837) [7 items; in oversized box]. |
| 65. |
Notice
re: case of Elizabeth Cadmus v. James Durie and Elizabeth, his wife,
Michael Van Iderstine and John G. [Banter?] (Abraham O. Zabriskie,
attorney for the defendants), Chancery Court, Jersey City, 5 March
1845. |
| 66. |
Lease
agreement, Theophilus A. Gill to Cornelius Van Ryper for 227 Greenwich
St., New York, NY, 31 May 1845.* |
| 67. |
Letter
of Joseph C. Hornblower to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: case of Ackerman
v. Westervelt, Newark,
10 September 1845. |
| 68. |
Notice
of trial in case of Paul M. P. Durando v. Arthur Green (J. D. Miller,
attorney for the plaintiff; Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney for the
defendant), Bergen Circuit Court, 16 October 1845. |
| 69. |
Copy
of last will and testament of Walling Van Winkle of New Barbadoes
Twp. (Abraham O. Zabriskie, Surrogate), 15 December 1845 (15 June
1822), and deed form for disposition of his lands in Bergen, Hudson
and Essex Cos., no date [2 items]. |
| 70. |
Letter
of C. P. Bassett to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: work for Mr. Roberts,
New York, NY, 14 January 1846. |
| 71. |
Letter
of J. D. Miller to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: Peter J. Ackerman and
Mr. Van Winkle, Jersey City, 1 April 1846. |
| 72. |
Papers
re: case of Abraham Westervelt v. David D. Demarest et als ([Abraham
O. Zabriskie, attorney], also involves Joseph Rose Jr. and John Collett),
Chancery Court, New Barbadoes, 21 December 1846 (includes material
back to 4 June 1829) [4 items; in oversized box]. |
| 73. |
Notice,
etc., of E. R. V. Wright to Abraham O. Zabriskie (attorney for the
defendants) re: trespass and ejectment case of John S. [Lutkins?]
v. Wynte Zabriskie and case of John W. Christie v. John Kelly in Bergen
Circuit Court, Jersey City, 28 December 1846. |
| 74. |
Papers
re: case of Wetmore & Co. v. John Stephens, New York, 10 December
1846 & 30 January 1847 [2 items]. |
| 75. |
Letter
of [David?] A. Hayes to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: Jonathan A. Kimball,
Newark, 10 March 1847. |
| 76. |
Note
of J. Miller re: case of William Green v. Lemuel M., Daniel B. and
James H. Crane (Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney) in Essex Circuit Court,
Jersey City, 10 March 1847. |
| 77. |
Letter
of Martin Ryerson to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: residence of and judgment
against Patrick [Canovan?], Newton, 12 March 1847. |
| 78. |
Letter
of William Pennington to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: opinion and will,
Newark, 28 April 1847. |
| 79. |
Papers
re: case involving lands of Robert Rennie, James Rennie, Jacob H.
Hopper, Peter Rennie, Enoch Hopper, Rebecca Hopper, Lawrence Freeland
and Eliza, his wife, Abraham C. Zabriskie and Marie, his wife, Christian
A. Zabriskie, and Richard Stagg and Sally, his wife, Lodi and Saddle
River Twps., after May 1847 (includes materials back to 8 February
1833) [8 items; in oversized box].* |
| 80. |
Letter
of William [Baun?] to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: sale of Mr. Crane's
property, Newark, 1 November 1847. |
| 81. |
Letter
of [W. H.?] Day to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: appointment of commissioners
James P. Demarest, John V. Banta and Peter Westervelt, [no place],
12 February 1848 |
| 82. |
Papers
re: Bennett partition (Henry French, Ebenezer Price and John Disbrow,
Commissioners; Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney; also involves Jos.
Gelle Dowell and John A. Lott), Brooklyn, NY, and New Brunswick, South
Amboy and South River, 3 March 1848 - 27 February 1851 [6 items]. |
| 83. |
Papers
re: case of E. Benedict v. George G. and Robert G. Campbell (J. D.
Woodward, attorney for the plaintiff; Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney
for the defendants; also involves Samuel H. Campbell), Plattsburgh
and New York, NY, 28 July 1848 - 31 May 1849 [5 items]. |
| 84. |
Papers
re: case of Garret Myers v. Henry N. Brown (Abraham O. Zabriskie,
attorney; also involves George M. Griggs), Chancery Court, Pompton
and Morristown, 7 October 1848 - June 1849 (includes material back
to 12 November 1831) [3 items, 2 fragmented]. |
| 85. |
Advertisement
(broadside) for sale of lands of Joseph Townsend in Bergen and Hudson
Counties by Abraham Westervelt, Albert G. Doremus and James P. Demarest,
Commissioners, and certification of Doremus, 8 & 18 December 1848
[in oversized box].* |
| 86. |
Letter
of P. Vroom to P. Bently re: [caption?], Trenton, 20 December 1848.* |
| 87. |
Papers
re: case of Mathew Dunlap v. Messrs. Gaunt & Derrickson (Abraham
O. Zabriskie, attorney for the plaintiff; John Hopper, attorney for
the defendants), New Prospect and Paterson, January 1849 - 8 March
1851 [4 items]. |
| 88. |
Copies
of affidavit of John Baker, a pauper, and order of John A. Zabriskie
and Joel M. Johnson for his removal to Hackensack Twp. (through the
Constables of Barbadoes Twp.), Franklin Twp., 1 April & 3 May
1849 [2 items]. |
| 89. |
Letter
of M. R. Zabriskie to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: effectiveness of New
York court judgments in Massachusetts, New York, NY, 24 April 1849. |
| 90. |
Certificate
of John Hopper, Surrogate, that administration of the estate of Nicholas
R. Terhune of Passaic County was granted to Arianna Terhune and John
N. Terhune, 13 June 1849.* |
| 91. |
Papers
re: case of Edward J. Earle et als v. Hackensack and Paterson Turnpike
Company and Garret Oldis ([Abraham O. Zabriskie, attorney]; also involves
Nicholas R. Terhune, John D. Romeyn), Chancery Court, Bergen Co.,
[December 1849] (includes material back to 9 March 1842) [3 items]. |
| 92. |
Copy
of last will and testament of Edo Vreeland of Harrison Twp., 16 March
1850.* |
| 93. |
Letter
of John A. Lott to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: receipts, [Brower?] bond
and Levi Hart property, Flatbush, NY, 3 March 1851. |
| 94. |
Mortgage
of Isaac Smith and Eliza, his wife, to Thomas I. Burns for 10,648
square feet in Woodbridge (case of Simon M. Phillips v. Eliza Smith
et al), Chancery Court, 4 [August?] 1851 (5 November 1846).* |
| 95. |
Letter
of [George Q. Shay?] to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: property of the Orphan
Asylum and the Society for the Relief of Indigent Females, New York,
NY, 4 October 1851. |
| 96. |
Copy
of writ of P. Gilchrist, Clerk, Hudson County Circuit Court, to the
sheriff commanding him to take John P. Thiel and John Veeckens into
custday to answer Raymond Nougaret in trespass plea, North Bergen,
April 1852 [pencilled on reverse: letter of William Sinclair, Assistant
New York County Clerk, to Capt. Pollard, Jersey City, 2 May 1852].* |
| 97. |
Letter
of Aaron Doty to Abraham O. Zabriskie requesting deed, Paterson, 7
May 1852. |
| 98. |
Letter
of James R. Jessup to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: case involving Messrs.
Hart, Morehouse and Merrett, and Mr. Shotwell, New York, NY, 8 May
1852. |
| 99. |
Letter
of Charles [Blight?] to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: bond, value of lots,
and Mr. Edge, Philadelphia, PA,
2 August 1852. |
| 100. |
Papers
re: case of Danielson & Alberts v. Smith & Nichols (Abraham
O. Zabriskie, attorney for the plaintiffs; Theodore Runyon, attorney
for the defendants), Newark, 8 & 16 September 1852 [2 items]. |
| 101. |
Letter
of Asa Whitehead to Abraham O. Zabriskie re: sick child and apologizing
for missing engagement, Boston, MA, 31 October 1852. |
| 102. |
Agreement
form for purchase of bonds, Paterson and New York Plank Road Company,
John Campbell, Treasurer, New York, NY, 5 November 1853.* |
| 103. |
Letter
of [--] to Catherine Ann [--] re: settling his father's estate, etc.,
New Orleans, 27 November 1853.* |
| 104. |
Promissory
note of J. W. Ten Eyck to William Gilchrist for $75, New York, NY,
[2?] November 1854.* |
| 105. |
Statement
of property in New Jersey to be conveyed by Homer Ramsdell to Long
Dock Company, [no place], September 1855 - June 1856 [fragmented;
in oversized box]. |
| 106. |
Mortgage
of Mary Anthony, William Johnson and Mary Ann, his wife, to James
G. Utter for .75 acres in Harrington Twp., 17 November 1858.* |
| 107. |
Order
of John Kelly, Sheriff, to Robert H. Berdell to attach the property
of A. B. Seymour in Supreme Court case of Hiram K. Miller and Franklin
T. Carpenter, plaintiffs, and cover letter of Berdell to Abraham O.
Zabriskie, New York, NY, 14 & 16 January 1860 [2 items]. |
| 108. |
Notice
re: case of Jersey City v. Chanceller W. Chase, John B. Draytin and
Job Neale (Zabriskie & Son, attorneys for the defendants), 16
April 1863. |
| 109. |
"Map
of Property of Lewis Moore, deceased, situated in the Village of Hackensack,
New Jersey" to be sold at public auction, William Williams, Surveyor,
scale: 1"=80 feet, 1864 [severed at creases; in oversized box]. |
| 110. |
Mortgage
of Barney Fagan to John B. Coles and William F. Coles, trustees, et
als, for Lot No. 220 in Pavonia, 3rd Ward of Jersey City (case of
William F. Coles et al v. Catharine Fagan et al, [Zabriskie &
Son, attorneys]), Chancery Court, 29 June 1864 (21 July 1851) [in
oversized box]. |
| 111. |
Papers
re: case involving P. M. Van Houten and the Bankers & Brokers
Telegraph Co., Bergen Co., Philadelphia, PA, and Baltimore, MD, 3
April - 18 July 1865 [7 items].* |
| 112. |
Agreements
for building, St. Paul's Church, Englewood (Hackensack), to Moses
E. Springer and Bernard McGuire, 24 January & 20 February 1866
[2 items].* |
| 113. |
Bill
of Thomas Gafney, Livery, Sale and Exchange Stables, to Charles G.
Sisson, Jersey City, 4 February 1867 - 29 December 1868 [in oversized
box].* |
| 114. |
Papers
re: case of James McMahonis v. Joseph Eustace (L. & A. Zabriskie,
attorneys for the plaintiff), Chancery Court, February - March 1869. |
| 115. |
Promissory
notes of Peter Van Buskirk, C. R. Christie and F. P. Van Riper to
William Cronk, New Barbadoes, Hackensack and Washington, 30 June &
1 July 1870 [3 items]. |
| 116. |
Deed
of Clara A. Fisher, wife of William J. Fisher, to William B. Smyth
for 14.12 acres and 3.25 acres in New Barbadoes Twp., 1 November 1870
[in oversized box].* |
| 117. |
Telegram
of Charles P. Smith to D. Zabriskie re: judgment (case not cited),
Trenton, 27 July 1871. |
| 118. |
Declaration
of trust of George W. Brainerd to David Belden for lands in Jersey
City purchased of Homer Ramsell and Frances E. L., his wife (case
of David Belden v. George W. Brainerd, [L. & A. Zabriskie, attorneys]),
Chancery Court, 7 August 1871 (1 November 1857). |
| 119. |
Mortgage
of Sophia Behre and Henry Behre to Adolph Hampe for Lots 697, 698
and 699, Block No. 20, North Bergen Twp. (case of Hampe v. Behre,
[L. & A. Zabriskie, attorneys]), Chancery Court, 30 September
1872
(4 November 1869) [in oversized box]. |
| 120. |
Notice
from bankruptcy case of Isaac P. Cooper to Theodore W. Myers, creditor,
U.S. District Court, Trenton,
14 November 1872 [fragmented].* |
| 121. |
Papers
re: case of Fanny Gilchrist et als v. Benjamin Higinbotham et al ([L.
& A. Zabriskie, attorneys]; also involves Robert Gilchrist and
Isabella Nilis), Chancery Court, Jersey City, Hudson City & New
York, NY, 14 October 1873 (includes material back to 1 April 1864)
[3 items; in oversized box]. |
| 122. |
Mortgage
of Patrick H. Laverty, Sheriff of Hudson County, to Sarah A. Bill
for lots in Jersey City of William Vanderminden, Rosine Rink, and
Valentine Rink (L. & A. Zabriskie, attorneys), 19 April 1877 [in
oversized box]. |
| 123. |
Sketch
and opinion of Leon Abbett, Corporate Counsel of Jersey City, re:
Ravine Road Sewer and claim of Henry A. Booraem, Jersey City, 22 November
1878 (includes material back to 16 October 1867) [2 items; in oversized
box].* |
| 124. |
Building
contract of Henry Kempfner and sketches of schoolhouse at Corona,
School District No. 36 of the Township of Lodi, filed 1 September
1881 [2 items, 1 fragmented; in oversized box].* |
| 125. |
Mortgage
of Michael Long to William W. Carson for Lot 32, Block 222, Jersey
City, 19 May 1884 [in oversized box].* |
| 126. |
Bill,
promissory note and protest, William H. Riley to G. W. Greason, creditor,
Jersey City, 30 November 1886 - 1 February 1887.* |
|
| *Direct
connection Zabriskie family not ascertained; see Content Note
above. |
|
| Box
2 |
| Oversized
items. |
| Box
3 |
| Oversized
items. |
|