njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Governor Arthur Harry Moore (1879-1952), 3rd Term (1938-1941)
Series: Delaware River Water Supply Project Aerial Photographs of Delaware & Raritan Canal and Proposed Pipeline Route, 1938
Accession #: 1993.015
Series #:  S4600003
Guide Date:  3/1993 (JK)
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [99 photographs]


Content Note

Project History

The State of New Jersey acquired title to the Delaware and Raritan Canal by legislation approved 3 May 1934 (Laws of 1934, chap. 139). In May 1938, during his third term, Gov. A. Harry Moore proposed to the State Legislature that the 59 miles of the combined canal feeder and main line be used to create a water supply for northern New Jersey. This would entail diverting upwards of 150 million gallons of water daily from the Delaware River (as allowed by the Delaware and Raritan Canal Company's charter), through the canal feeder to Trenton, and then through the main line to New Brunswick. The proposed cost to the state was estimated at the time as $28 million. The legislature at that time chose not to consider Moore's proposal. A month later, in June 1938, Gov. Moore appointed a committee to study the feasibility of the proposed project. The committee was comprised of three engineers already employed by the State, as follows: Charles Capen of the North Jersey District Water Supply Commission, Howard T. Critchlow of the State Water Policy Commission, and Harry P. Croft of the Department of Health. The committee's report to Gov. Moore the following October showed that the project would require an average of 180 million gallons diverted from the Delaware River daily, including 30 million gallons taken in at Trenton for use in that area. Three possible plans were presented, ranging in cost from $29 to $33 million. Gov. Moore again presented his proposal to the State Legislature by a special message dated 13 February 1939. But despite additional documentation, the Legislature again chose not to consider the proposal at that time. Finally, beginning in 1944 and following a failed movement to restore the waterway for commercial traffic, the canal was rehabilitated as a water conduit under the Water Policy and Supply Division of the Department of Conservation.


Bibliography

Moore, A. Harry. Special Message of A. Harry Moore, Governor of New Jersey, to the 163d Legislature
           of New Jersey on the Delaware and Raritan Canal as a Source of Water Supply for New
           Jersey, Together with: Copy of Message to 162d Legislature on the Same Subject, Letters and
           Legal Opinion Relating Thereto, and Report of Committee of Engineers Appointed to Study
           and Report upon this Project.
(1939).

Gibson, David and Steven Bauer, James C. Amon. Delaware and Raritan Canal State Park:
           Historic Structures Survey.
(1982).


Content Note

This series includes ninety-nine aerial views along the path of the Delaware and Raritan Canal main line from Trenton to Bound Brook, and along the Water Supply Project's proposed pipeline location from Bound Brook to Elizabeth. The survey was flown by the 119th Photographic Section, 44th Division, Aviation New Jersey National Guard, on 5 July 1938. The series consists of three index views, and ninety-six aerial exposures at a flight scale of approximately 1"=625'. The photographs are roughly 9.5"x13" in size, and have been removed from the original scrapbook covers and placed individually in mylar plastic folders.


Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations