njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Governor Brendan T. Byrne (served 1974-1982)
Series: Transition Records, 1974
Accession #: Various
Series #:  S5300028
Guide Date:  Pre-1989
Volume: 1 c.f. [2 boxes]



Content Note

Most of the files of the transition office of Brendan Byrne are arranged by subject, for example, education, labor, etc. They contain proposed policies and guidelines to legislative action, internal memos within the transition staff, drafts of bills, and letters from private organizations and lobbying groups. A separate file on "Legislation Preparation and Proposals" consists largely of drafts of new bills. The file labeled "Miscellaneous" contains documents relating to the organization of the incoming gubernatorial office, as well as materials relating to minor policy issues. The files were created by Lewis Kaden, who subsequently became Executive Counsel under Governor Byrne, 1974 to 1977.



Contents

Box 1 
1. Education/Higher Education
2. Energy
3. Labor
4. Law Enforcement, Alcoholism and Intoxication
5. Legislative Action – Conflicts of Interest and Disclosures
6. Legislation/Preparation and Proposals
Box 2 
7. Miscellaneous
8. Miscellaneous Studies and Proposals
9. New Jersey Turnpike
10. Sports Complex
11. State Compensation
12. Transportation
13. Workmen’s Compensation

Created January 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations