njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Governor Brendan T. Byrne (served 1974-1982)
Subgroup: Appointments Office
Series: Records, 1974-1982
Accession #: 1981.033, 1985.019
Series #:  S53AP001
Guide Date:  Pre-1989 (JK)
Volume: 7.5 c.f. [15 boxes]


Contents | Subject Files

Institutional History

The function of the Appointments Office was to prepare Governor Byrne's daily schedule. This primarily entailed responding to invitations for the Governor to attend an event or give a speech, planning his agenda of appointments, and making any necessary travel and security arrangements. During the Byrne Administration, the position of Appointments Secretary was held by Elizabeth Cohen (1974-1975) and Edith Byrne (1976-1982).

Archives holdings consist of Advance Files for 1974-1975 (background and briefing materials provided to the Governor in preparation of appointments and appearances); miscellaneous subject and correspondence files for 1973-1977; Telephone Message Logs for 1974 1977; and the finalized daily schedules of the Governor (Appointment Notebooks) for the entire period of his administration.



Contents
  Old Box No. New Box No.
Advance Files, 1974-1975 717 1-2
Inter-Office Memoranda, December 1973 - December 1975 718 2-3
Subject Files, 1974-1977* 717-719, 729 3-6
Telegrams, 1974-1976 730 6
Telephone Message Logs, 1974-1977 730 7
Miscellaneous Correspondence (not filed), 1976-1977 730 7
Appointment Notebooks, 1974-1982
   21 January 1974 - 6 May 1975
   7 May 1975 - 30 June 1976
   1 July 1976 - 31 August 1977
   1 September 1977 - 31 July 1978
   1 August 1978 - 30 September 1979
   1 October 1979 - 31 December 1980
   1 January 1981 - 19 January 1982
1674-78
1674
1674-75
1675-76
1676-77
1677
1677-78
1678
8-14
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
Daily Appointment Schedules, 1974-1975   15
Inter-Office Referrals, 1975-1976   15
*See file listing below.    
Note: Copies of  Speeches for 1974-1979, originally filed with the Appointments Office, have been moved to the Press Office.
Records Destroyed  
  Box No.
Daily Invitation Logs  
April - December 1975 G-713
1976 G-728
1977 G-737
1978 G-741
1979 G-1324
1980 G-1325
1981 & January 1982 G-1326
Correspondence – Alphabetical  
1974 to 1975 G-711
1976 to 1977 G-731
1978 to 1979 G-1323
1980 to 1981 G-1327
Publications  
Scenic & Historic Tours of New Jersey G-753
New Jersey Calendar of Events, 1976 G-753
New Jersey 1975 Annual Report G-753
Bicentennial Regrets G-728
Invitations  
November 1973 - 20 April 1974 G-705
21 April - May 1974 G-706
June - 10 September 1974 G-707
11 September -October 1974 G-708
November 1974 G-709
December 1974 G-710
Referrals, January - December 1974 G-718
Referrals, July - December 1974 G-718
January - February 1975 G-710
March 1975 G-709
April 1975 G-712
May 1975 G-714
June 1975 G-715
July - October 1975 (miscellaneous) G-716
September 1975 G-717
October 1975 G-721
November - December 1975 G-720
Open 1975 G-712
Referrals, January - December 1975  
Referrals, July - August 1975 G-718
January - March 1976 G-722
April - 15 May 1976 G-723
16 May - June 1976 G-724
July - August 1976 G-725
September - October 1976 G-726
November - December 1976 G-727
January - 19 April 1977 G-736
20 - 30 April 1977 G-732
May 1977 G-735
29 May - July 1977 G-733
22 - 26 July 1977 G-735
August 1977 G-734
1 - 15 September 1977 G-732
16 - 23 September 1977 G-734
24 September - 17 October 1977 G-732
18 October - November 1977 G-734
December 1977 G-735
Open 1977 G-732
Referrals, late 1977 - 1978 G-718
January 1978 G-744
February - 5 April 1978 G-743
6 April - 10 May 1978 G-745
11 May - 28 June 1978 G-750
22 - 25 June 1978 G-748
29 June - 31 August 1978 G-748
1 - 17 September 1978 G-746
16 September - October 1978 G-751
November 1978 G-749
December 1978 G-742
Open 1978 G-741
Referrals, 1978 G-741
Miscellaneous 1978 G-746
January - 11 February 1979 G-742
12 February - March 1979 G-744
April - 20 May 1979 G-747
21 May - June 1979 G-746
July - 14 September 1979 G-738
15 September - October 1979 G-739
November - December 1979 G-740
Open 1979 G-1323
Referrals, 1979 G-1323
January - March 1980 G-1311
April - 15 May 1980 G-1312
16 May - June 1980 G-1313
July - September 1980 G-1314
October 1980 G-1315
November - December 1980 G-1316
Open 1980 G-1327
January - February 1981 G-1317
March - April 1981 G-1318
May - 15 June 1981 G-1319
16 June - August 1981 G-1320
September - October 1981 G-1321
November 1981 - January 1982 G-1322
Open 1981 G-1327
Monthly Calendars, Jan. to May 1976 and Sept. 1976 to Feb. 1977 G-730
Scheduling Worksheets, miscellaneous 1975 G-730
Original Schedules (manuscript copies), 1974-1975 G-730
Original Inventory:  
Ruth Wulff  
File Box No.
Open Correspondence, 1979 G-1323
Open Correspondence, 1980 to 1981 G-1327
Correspondence - Alphabetical, 1978 to 1979 G-1323
Correspondence - Alphabetical, 1980 to 1981 G-1327
Daily Invitation Logs, 1979 G-1324
Daily Invitation Logs, 1980 G-1325
Daily Invitation Logs, 1981 to 1982 G-1326
Invitations, November 1978 - 19 January 1979 G-1322
Honorary Acceptances, 1981 G-1327
Edith Byrne  
File Box No.
Invitations, January - March 1980 G-1311
Invitations, April - 15 May 1980 G-1312
Invitations, 16 May - June 1980 G-1313
Invitations, July - September 1980 G-1314
Invitations, October 1980 G-1315
Invitations, November - December 1980 G-1316
Invitations, January - February 1981 G-1317
Invitations, March - April 1981 G-1318
Invitations, 1 - 15 June 1981 G-1319
Invitations, 16 June - August 1981 G-1320
Elizabeth Cohen  
File Box No.
Governor's Speeches, 1974 to 1975 G-752
Governor's Speeches, 1976 G-754
Governor's Special Message, 7 October 1976 G-753
Scenic & Historic Tours of New Jersey (publication) G-753
New Jersey Calendar of Events, 1976 (publication) G-753
New Jersey 1975 Annual Report (publication) G-753
Elizabeth Cohen & Diane Jantz  
File Box No.
Invitations, November 1973 - 20 April 1974 G-705
Invitations, 21 April - May 1974 G-706
Invitations, June - September 1974 G-707
Invitations, 11 September - October 1974 G-708
Invitations, November 1974 & March 1975 G-709
Invitations, December 1974 - February 1975 G-710
Invitations, April 1975, Open 19__ G-712
Invitations, (partial) April - September 1975 G-716
Invitations, September 1975 G-717
Invitations, October 1975 G-721
Invitations, November - 19 December 1975 G-720
Invitations, January - March 1976 G-722
Invitations, April - 15 May 1976 G-723
Invitations, 16 May - June 1976 G-724
Invitations, July - August 1976 G-725
Invitations, September - October 1976 G-726
Invitations, November - December 1976 G-727
Invitations, 20 - 30 April 1977 G-732
Invitations, 1 - 15 September 1977 G-732
Invitations, 24 September - 17 October 1977 G-732
Invitations, June - July 1977 G-733
Invitations, August 1977 G-734
Invitations, 16 - 23 September 1977 G-734
Invitations, 18 October - November 1977 G-734
Invitations, May - 26 July 1977 G-735
Invitations, January - 19 April 1977 G-736
Correspondence - Alphabetical, 1974 to 1975 G-711
Daily Invitation Logs, April - December 1975 G-713
Daily Invitation Logs, May 1975 G-714
Daily Invitation Logs, June 1975 G-715
Daily Invitation Logs, January - October 1976 G-728
Daily Invitation Logs, January - December 1977 G-737
Subject Files, 1975 G-717
Subject Files, 1973 to 1977 G-718
Subject Files, 1973 to 1977 G-719
Subject Files, 1973 to 1977 G-729
Daily Schedules, January 1976 - March 1976 G-722
Bicentennial Regrets G-728
Misc. & Calendar, January 1976 to March 1977 G-730
Correspondence - Alphabetical, 1976 - 1977 G-731
Diane Jantz  
File Box No.
Invitations, Open 1978 G-741
Invitations, January 1978 G-744
Invitations, February - 5 April 1978 G-743
Invitations, April - 10 May 1978 G-745
Invitations, July - August 1978 G-748
Invitations, 16 September - October 1978 G-751
Invitations, November 1978 G-749
Invitations, December 1978 - 11 February 1979 G-742
Invitations, 12 February - March 1979 G-744
Invitations, April - 20 May 1979 G-747
Invitations, 13 May - 26 June 1979 G-750
Invitations, 21 May - June 1979 G-746
Invitations, 14 July - 14 September 1979 G-738
Invitations, 15 September - October 1979 G-739
Invitations, November - December 1979 G-740
Daily Invitation Logs, 1978 G-741
Referrals, 1978 G-741
Listing, Subject Files, Boxes 3 through 6
Box 3  
Attorney General (1974)  
Bergen County (1974)  
Cape May County Correspondence (February 1974)  
Congressional Hearings (schedules and invitations to testify, 1975)  
Democratic National Telethon (July 1975)  
Education (1974)  
Election Files (February 1974)  
Energy Related Correspondence (1974)  
England Trip (15-17 June 1975)  
Executive Orders (1969, 1971)  
Form letters (1974-1975)  
Forms (1974)  
General Correspondence (1973-1974)  
Governor's Conferences (1974)  
Governor's Youth Program (15 July 1974)  
Health Department (19 March 1974)  
Histadrut American-Israeli Cultural Exchange Institute (June 1975)  
In-Office Appointments (1975)  
Institutions and Agencies, Department of (1974)  
Box 4  
Kansas City Democratic Convention (November 1974)  
Legislature (1974)  
Monmouth County Arts Councils (1974)  
Monmouth County Correspondence (1974)  
Morven Socials (1975)  
National - Democratic National Committee (1973)  
National Committee to Declare War on Drugs (April 1974)  
National Jewish Hospital (1974)  
New Jersey Association of Chosen Freeholders (1974)  
New Jersey Education (1974)  
New Jersey Historical Drama Association (1974)  
New Jersey School Board Association (1974)  
New York (1974)  
No Money Letters (rejections of requests for donations, 1975)  
Pre-Inaugural Material (November - December 1973)  
Press (material for news releases, press conferences and interviews, 1974)  
Princeton University Board of Trustees (1974)  
Box 5  
Proclamations (2 files: 1974-1975)  
Representatives of Governor's Office to Attend Functions (1974)  
Retirement Letters (1974)  
Speeches and Schedules, Pre-Inaugural (December 1973)  
Sports Passes and Schedules for the Governor (1974)  
State - Democratic State Committee (undated)  
State Police (1974-1975)  
Surrogates (September 1975)  
Tax plans (1974)  
Unionized Houses (3 June 1975)  
United Negro College Fund Dinner (21 May 1974)  
Washington, DC (1974)  
Bicentennial (1976)  
Candidate Forum Invitations (1977)  
Cranford Senior Citizens, HFA #442 (14 October 1977)  
East Orange UAW Senior Citizens, HFA #604 (14 October 1977)  
Election Materials (1977)  
Box 6  
Energy Crisis (February 1977)  
Geraldine Dodge Foundation (July 1976)  
Inter-Office Memos (March - July 1976, 2 February 1977)  
Ireland Trip (7-11 May 1976)  
National - Democratic National Committee (1975-1976)  
Princeton University Board of Trustees (1977)  
Ticket-Travel Information (1976)  

Created January 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations