njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Governor Brendan T. Byrne (served 1974-1982)
Subgroup: Counsel's Office
Series: Cabinet Committee on Cancer Control Files, 1976-1981
Accession #: 1982.020
Series #:  S53CO006
Guide Date:  Pre-1989
Volume: 3.0 c.f. [3 boxes]


Content Note | Contents

Institutional History

The Cabinet Committee on Cancer Control was established in May 1976 by Executive Order No. 40 for the purpose of coordinating and evaluating state agency cancer programs, in order to more effectively "identify sources of carcinogenic substances, minimize exposures to carcinogenic substances, and foster the development of ... cancer prevention [and] treatment" programs. Its membership consisted of the governor and the heads of the departments of agriculture, environmental protection, health, higher education and labor and industry. (The commissioner of education was added subsequently.) The committee met monthly and was chaired by the counsel to the governor. In its early years, the committee pursued its goals largely through activities by individual departments. Records from this phase of the committee's existence can be found with the general subject files of the counsel's office and the chief of staff.

However, in early 1979 the committee received a two year contract from the National Cancer Institute to study "the feasibility of a statewide cancer control activity," that is, to evaluate the coordination efforts of the committee itself. The contract funds were used principally to hire two full time staff members, Dr. Ian A. Mitchell, director, and Barbara Lenoble, deputy director, and to hire a consulting agency. In addition to its contracted duties, the committee also managed the governor's second Task Force on Asbestos. (The first task force was operated by the Department of Treasury.)



Content Note

These records are principally the product of the committee's director and deputy director, and consist of subject files, chronological (correspondence) files and asbestos files. Most important are the subject files, especially those containing the committees' minutes and agendas, and its contracts with the National Cancer Institute and with the "evaluation" consultant, Cresap, McCormick and Paget, Inc. Also significant are files relating to the Department of Health, the most active of the committee's constituent agencies.

Since the director and his deputy were not hired until 1979, most of these records date from 1979 to 1980. Copies of earlier documents can be found, however, in the file, "Cabinet Committee on Cancer Control pre 1979 records."

Among its more minor functions, the committee's staff continually collected publications from a large number of New Jersey health organizations. Of these, publications from state agencies were turned over to the New Jersey State Library's state documents section. Non-agency publications were discarded, as were the following ephemeral materials: duplicates, meeting announcements, and routine correspondence concerning personnel, finances, and general office administration.



Contents
  Old Box No. New Box No.
Subject Files, 1976-1981* 1123
1125-28
1-2
Ian A. Mitchell, Director
Chronological Files, Mar. 1979 - Jan. 1981 (22 files)
1124 2
Barbara Lenoble, Deputy Director
Chronological Files, Mar. 1979 - Feb. 1981 (9 files)
1124 3
Activities Log (Notebook and Supplementary File) 1124 3
Asbestos Files, 1976-1981* 1120-22 3
*See file listing below.    

File Listing
Box 1, Subject Files
Agriculture, Department of 1978-1980
American Cancer Society 1979-1980
Bergen County Department of Health 1979
Bladder Cancer 1979
Bond Issue: Cancer Research 1980
Breast Cancer 1980
Budget 1979-1980
Cabinet Committee on Cancer Control; Minutes and Agendas 1979-1980; pre-1979
Cancer Control Act 1979
Cancer Institute of New Jersey 1979
Cancer Registry 1979-1980
Cancer Resources Directory 1979-1980
Carcinogens 1979-1980
Cervical Cancer 1980
Child Labor Laws Regarding Carcinogens 1980
Civil Service, Department of 1979-1980
Clinical Laboratories Improvement Act 1980-1981
Coal Gasification Study 1979
College of Medicine and Dentistry in New Jersey (2 files) 1979-1980
Community Cancer Prevention Program 1978
Community Hospital Oncology Program 1980
Comprehensive Cancer Care Center 1979
Correspondence (General) 1979-1980
Diethylstilbestrol (DES) and its Effects on Pregnancies 1979-1980
Drug Abuse Prevention 1979
Education, Department of 1979
Education Department, "An Overview of Health Occupations Education
Programs in New Jersey"
1980
Environmental Protection, Department of (DEP) 1979-1980
Environmental Protection, Dept. of: Bureau of Radiation Protection 1978-1980
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 1980
Evaluation of Committee (2 files) 1978-1980
Federal Advisory Committees 1979
Fluoridated Water 1980
Fox Chase Cancer Center 1980
Gardner, Arlene, Assistant Counsel to Governor 1980
Health, Department of (3 Files) 1978-1980
  
Box 2, Subject Files
Higher Education, Department of 1979-1980
Higher Education Survey of Colleges re: Cancer Research Grants 1980
Hospice Care 1979-1980
Hydrazine 1979
Industrial Use Survey 1980
Interdepartmental Occupational Cancer Control Activities 1980
Interferon 1980
Labor and Industry, Department of 1979-1980
Manpower 1979
Masters in Public Health Program 1979
Memorial SloanKettering Cancer Center 1980
National Cancer Institute 1980
Annual Report 1980
Contract and Correspondence Programs 1980
Semiannual Reports 1979-1980
New Jersey: Garden State or Cancer Alley? 1979-1980
New Jersey Hospital Association (NJHA) 1979-1980
New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) 1980
Nitrites in Food 1979
Nuclear Energy Facilities 1979
Nutrition 1979
Occupational Health 1977
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 1980
O'Hern, Dan 1979
Oncology Society 1979-1980
Polychlorinated Biphenyl (PCB) 1979-1980
Potassium Iodide (2 files) 1979-1981
Prevention Subcommittee (Statewide Health Coordinating Council) 1980-1981
Program on Environmental Cancer and Toxic Substances (PECTS) 1979
Quinlan (Karen Ann) Center of Hope 1980
Radiation 1978-1980
Radium (Orange, N.J.) 1979
Research and Development Council 1980
Rutgers Community Health Plan (RCHP) 1979
Rutherford, New Jersey, Environmental Investigations of 1979
Saccharin 1979
St. Barnabas Medical Center 1979
Smoking (2 files) 1979-1981
Spill Fund 1979
State Agencies' Budget 1980
Three Mile Island 1979-1980
Toxicology 1979-1980
Upton, Arthur 1979
Urea Formaldehyde (UF) Foam 1980
Water Pollution 1979-1980
X-Rays 1980
  
Box 3, Asbestos Files  
Asbestos, Background and Policy (4 files) 1976-1981
Camden CETA Re: Asbestos Removal 1979-1980
Contractors Prequalified in Asbestos Removal 1980-1981
Federal Asbestos Regulations 1979-1980
Human Services, Department of 1980
Laboratories Equipped to Analyze Asbestos 1980
Schools (2 files) 1979-1980
Specifications for Asbestos Removal 1980
State Policy on Asbestos 1979-1980
Winston Towers (Cliffside Park) Asbestos Problem 1978-1980

Created January 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations