njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Governor Brendan T. Byrne (served 1974-1982)
Subgroup: Counsel's Office
Series: Records of Bruce Ackerman, Assistant Counsel, 1974-1978
Accession #: 1981.036
Series #:  S53CO012
Guide Date: 1990 (PR)
Volume: 5.0 c.f. [5 boxes]


Content Note | Contents

Institutional History

Bruce Ackerman served as assistant counsel to the governor from 1974 to 1977, reporting to a series of special counsels. From 1975 to 1977, he also served as special assistant to the governor. Mr. Ackerman reported to Lewis Kaden from 1974 to 1976, Alan Handler from 1976 to March 1977, and John Degnan from March 1977 to 1978. Principal functions of Mr. Ackerman involved constitutional and legislative issues pertaining to regional and state land use planning, housing and mortgage programs, state zoning laws and construction standards, urban renewal, farmland preservation, and economic development programs.



Content Note

These records consist of subject files, correspondence files, and drafts of proposed legislation. Most important are those pertaining to the Development Review Act, the Department of Community Affairs, State Highway Land Use Review Act, Mortgage Finance Agency, Municipal Land Use Law, State Uniform Construction Code Act, Capital Budget & Planning Commission, Qualified Bond Acts for Municipal & School Districts, Neighborhood Preservation Program, and Urban Industrial Development. The "miscellaneous files" contain records compiled by Richard Bernard, who appears to have been Ackerman's predecessor, and by other assistant counsels.

In processing these records from accessions received from the Byrne administration, the following ephemeral materials have been discarded: duplicates, published reference material, federal grant files, and authority minutes.



Contents

  Old Box No. New Box No.
Subject files* 636-37, 639, 641 1-4
Miscellaneous files* 638 5
Records discarded 640, 645-47  
*See file listing below. 

File Listing
Box 1
Annual Message
Appropriations Bill Reduction
Agriculture
Board Lists (legislation)
Budget Cuts
Bus Commuter Program
Camden County Capital Improvement Program 1976 (publication)
Camden County Overall Program Design (publication)
Current Planning Capacity Vol. 1, A Model (report)
CAPS - Local (Municipal Expenditure Caps)
Cases, General (Legal Research Copies)
Coastal Area Facility Review Act (CAFRA)
Cochran, Tom (memos)
Community Affairs, Department of (DCA)
               DCA - Executive Order
               DCA – General
               DCA - Preliminary Budget Request
Current Planning Model (report)
Degnan, John (memos)
Delaware Valley Regional Planning commission
DeRose, Ralph C. (Commissioner, Waterfront Comm. of N.U. Harbor) vs. B. Byrne
Development Review Act (DRA)
Development Decisions, Objectives of State Review of
Economic Development
Energy
 
Box 2
Environmental Protection
Executive Orders
Farmland Preservation
Financial Regulation & Assistance, Bureau of
Fire Marshall (General)
General (2 files)
Glassboro Borough vs. Byrne
Heintz, Katherine (memos)
Housing Acts, General
Housing Acts, Senator Greenberg's
Housing and Urban Development
Housing Assistance Bond Act
Housing Finance Act (HFA)
               HFA Bond Act Appropriations
               HFA - Governor's letter re: Fair Market Rents
Housing Inspection, Bureau of
Kawaida Towers (Newark housing project)
Labor and Industry
Labor and Industry - Construction
Labor and Industry - Housing Authority
Land Use Materials, General
 
Box 3
Land Use Material by Bruce Ackerman
Land Use Material Copies
Legislative News
Local Finance Board
Local Finance Board, General
Local Government Services
Metapath Project - Hackensack Meadowlands Development Corporation (solid waste disposal project)
Miscellaneous - Bruce Ackerman
Mortgage Finance Agency
Mt. Laurel Case (Municipal Zoning Lawsuit)
Municipal Bond Issue
 
Box 4
New Jersey Board of Recreational Examiners, Annual Report, 1975
New Jersey Mortgage Finance Agency program
Newark and Jersey City Budgets
Passaic Valley Sewage District
PATH Extension
Planning Assistance Annual Award, Comprehensive
Police Bills - General
Police Bills - Special
Population Reports, Current
Revenue Sharing
Robinson vs. Cahill (Public Education Financing)
Safe and Clean Neighborhoods Act
South Jersey Port Corporation
Tax - Taxation (General)
Tax Program
Transportation, Department of
Uniform Construction Code Act
Urban Affairs
Urban Industrial Development
Urban Loan Authority
Urban Reinvestment Authority
Wild and Scenic Rivers System
Zoning
 
Box 5
Administrative Action Program (Alan Handler file)
Bernard, Richard - Housing Files, 1974
Bernard, Richard - Housing Bills (2 files)
Bernard, Richard - Housing - Other States
Bernard, Richard - Senior Citizens Housing
Bernard, Richard - Special Legislative Urban Message
Community Affairs, Department of
Hackensack Meadowlands
Housing
Housing - Community Development Corporation
Housing - Pension Funds
NJ Mortgage Finance Agency (L. Leo Motiuk file)
NJ Mortgage Finance Agency (Art Winkler file)
NJ Mortgage Finance Agency Series F Bond Issue ($102,000,000)
Rent Control
Reversion Mortgages
Urban Development Act (Art Winkler file)

Created January 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations