Content
Note
This
series includes original tax ratables from the period 1773-1822,
as well as photocopies of several tax lists currently in the custody
of various historical societies. For further information on ratables,
see Kenn Stryker-Rodda's introduction to the published lists, "New
Jersey Rateables, 1778-1780," Genealogical Magazine of New
Jersey, 41(1):19-22, January 1966. Name indexes to the New Jersey
tax ratables include:
Jackson, Ronald
Vern. New Jersey Tax Lists, 1772-1822. (Salt Lake City,
UT: Accelerated Indexing Systems, 1981). 5 vols. [The beginning
date listed in the title is incorrect; the work does not include
a number of municipalities and/or entire counties].
Stryker-Rodda,
Kenn. Revolutionary Census of New Jersey: An Index, Based on
Rateables, Of the Inhabitants of New Jersey, During the Period
of the American Revolution. (Lambertville, NJ: Hunterdon House,
1986).
T.L.C. Genealogy.
Hunterdon County, New Jersey Taxpayers, 1778-1797. (Miami
Beach, FL: 1990).
T.L.C. Genealogy.
Bergen County, New Jersey Taxpayers, 1778-1797. (Miami
Beach, FL: 1990).
The following guide provides book, box, and item number for each
ratable (listed in order by county, municipality, and date). The
column labelled "GMNJ" shows citations to the Genealogical
Magazine of New Jersey for published (Revolutionary War-era)
ratables. The last column provides New Jersey State Archives microfilm
reel numbers for the ratables that have been filmed. See also, "An
Assesment Laid on the Inhabitants of Woodbridge pursuant to a Town
order Made the 6 of the Instant August 1768 For the Support of the
Poor, Samuel Force, Assesser," a photostat of which can be
found in the New Jerseyana Collection of the New Jersey State Library
(A974.941 W883).
The following
references are used throughout the guide:
* Oversized
box.
** See also
transcript in Box 120.
*** These
ratables are found in Great Egg Harbor Township's September
1773 ratables, Book 743.
**** Missing as of 8/22/89 — see microfilm.
|
| Reel |
Contents |
Explanatory
Notes |
| 1 |
Card
File Index, 1773-1822 |
This
index has been superseded by the
guide to the collection
See also published indexes New Jersey
Tax Lists, 1772-1822; Hunterdon County
Taxpayers, 1778-1797] |
| 2 |
Bergen
County,
Books #1 - #126
Bergen - Pompton [See Guide] |
Bergen
Township - Pompton Township
(1797-1819)
See Reel 25 for retake of Book #108 |
| 3 |
Bergen
and Burlington Counties
Books #127 - #202 [See Guide] |
Bergen
County:
Pompton Township (1820 & 1821) -
Saddle River Township & Abstracts
Burlington County:
Burlington City - Chesterfield Township
(1779-1780) |
| 4 |
Burlington
County,
Books #203 - #270
Chesterfield - New Hanover
[See Guide] |
Chesterfield
Township (1795-1813) -
New Hanover Township |
| 5 |
Burlington
County,
Books #271 - #315
Northampton - Washington
[See Guide] |
Northampton
Township -
Washington Township (1806-1809) |
| 6 |
Burlington,
Cape May & Cumberland Counties,
Books #316 - #440
[See Guide] |
Burlington
County:
Washington Township (1812) -
Willingboro Township
Cape May County:
Lower Township - Upper Township & Abstracts
Cumberland County:
Deerfield & Downe |
| 7 |
Cumberland
and Essex Counties
Books #441 - #524
[See Guide] |
Cumberland
County:
Fairfield Township - Stow Creek Township
Essex County:
Acquackanonk Township -
Elizabeth Township (1781-1783) |
| 8 |
Essex
County,
Books #525 - #583
Elizabeth - Orange
[See Guide] |
Elizabeth
Township (1783-1822) -
Orange Township (1810-1821) |
| 9 |
Essex
and Gloucester Counties
Books #584 - #664
[See Guide] |
Essex
County:
Orange Township (1822) - Westfield Township
& Abstracts
Gloucester County:
Deptford Township |
| 10 |
Gloucester
County,
Books #665 - #780
Egg Harbor - Greenwich
[See Guide] |
Egg
Harbor Township -
Greenwich Township (1773-1794) |
| 11 |
Gloucester
and Hunterdon Counties
Books #781 - #869
[See Guide] |
Gloucester
County:
Greenwich Township 1795-1802) -
Woolwich Township & Abstracts
Hunterdon County:
Alexandria Township - Amwell Township
(1780-1789) |
| 12 |
Hunterdon
and Middlesex Counties
Books #870 - #959 |
Hunterdon
County:
Amwell Twp. (1802 & 1803) -
Trenton Township & Abstracts
Middlesex County:
East Windsor Twp. - New Brunswick
[South Ward] (1778 & 1779) |
| 13 |
Middlesex
County,
Books #960 - #1049
New Brunswick - South Amboy
[See Guide] |
New
Brunswick [South Ward]
(1780- 1797) - South Amboy Township
(1780- 1810) |
| 14 |
Middlesex
County,
Books #1050 - #1105
South Amboy - Woodbridge
[See Guide] |
South
Amboy Township (1817-1821) -
Woodbridge Township (1778-1819) |
| 15 |
Middlesex
and Monmouth Counties
Books #1106 - #1178
[See Guide] |
Middlesex
County:
Woodbridge Township (1820-1822)
& Abstracts
Monmouth County:
Dover Township - Stafford Township
(1784-1794)
Howell Township - See Reel #19 |
| 16 |
Monmouth
and Salem Counties
Books #1179-#1205 &
#1487-#1585 |
Monmouth
County:
Stafford Township (1796-1797) &
Upper Freehold Twp. & Abstracts
Salem County:
Elsinboro Township - Pittsgrove Township
(1774-1784) |
| 17 |
Salem
and Somerset Counties
Books #1586 - #1697
[See Guide] |
Salem
County:
Pittsgrove Township (1785-1809) -
Upper Penns Neck Township & Abstracts
Somerset County:
Bedminster Township - Bridgewater Township
(1779-1789) |
| 18 |
Somerset
County,
Books #1698 - #1791
Bridgewater - Western
[See Guide] |
Bridgewater
Township (1791-1809) -
Western Precinct & Abstracts |
| 19 |
Burlington,
Sussex & Monmouth Counties
Books #1792 - #1820
[See Guide] |
Burlington
County:
Abstracts
Sussex County:
Greenwich Township -Walpack Township & Abstracts
Monmouth County:
Howell Township |
| 20 |
Morris
County,
Books #1206 - #1265
Chatham - Hanover |
Chatham
Township -
Hanover Township (1778-1809) |
| 21 |
Morris
County,
Books #1266 - #1333
Hanover - Mendham
[See Guide] |
Hanover
Township (1810-1822) -
Medham Township & Abstracts |
| 22 |
Morris
County,
Books #1334 - #1397
Morris & Pequannock
[See Guide] |
Morris
Township & Pequannock Township
(1778-1797) |
| 23 |
Morris
County,
Books #1398 - #1444
Pequannock - Roxbury
[See Guide] |
Pequannock
Township (1802-1822) -
Roxbury Township (1779-1795) |
| 24 |
Morris
County,
Books #1445 - #1476
Roxbury & Washington
[See Guide] |
Roxbury
Township (1796-1822) &
Washington Township |
| 25 |
Retakes
and Missed Items
Bergen - Gloucester
[See Guide] |
Bergen:
Book #108
Cumberland: Book #460
Essex: Books #502, #607, #609 & #634
Gloucester: Books 639, #640, #648 & #649 |
| 26 |
Retakes
and Missed Items
Cape May - Sussex [See Guide] |
Cape
May: Book #327A;
Cumberland: Books #422A, #429A & #467A;
Gloucester: Book 851A;
Middlesex: Book 1031B;
Morris: Book 1429A;
Salem: Books 1604A & 1621A;
Sussex: Book 1799A |
| 27 |
Salem
County Historical Society
Pittsgrove & Salem Town Tax Ratables |
Pittsgrove
Township, 1798-1810
Salem Town, 1788 & 1849
Records of Elmer G. Van Name |