njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office
Series: Commission and Appointment Certificates, 1745-1901
Accession #: 1995.017, 1995.061 and unknown
Series #:  SDEA0002
Guide Date: 3/1995 (JK)
Volume: 0.11 c.f. [11 items]


Contents

Content Note

This series consists of original military commission and appointment certificates dating from the colonial period to the present century. They were issued by the following: Gov. Lewis Morris, the Provincial Congress (Hendrick Fisher and Samuel Tucker, Presidents), state governors, and the Adjutant General's Office.



Contents

1. Henry Cock, Ensign of company for the middle part of Bethlehem, Col. Joseph Stout's Regiment, Hunterdon County Foot Militia, Kingsberry, 18 March 1745.
2. Edward Hunt, Captain of company for the westerly part of Lebanon, Col. Joseph Stout's Regiment, Hunterdon County Foot Militia, Kingsberry, 18 March 1745.
3. Petitions to the Provincial Congress requesting military commissions for Benjamin Brearly of Maidenhead, William Chambers of Hunterdon County, and George Cottnam of Trenton, [no place], ca. 1775-1776 [3 items; Accession #1982.16/1989.36].
4. William Gamble, Captain of a company, First (Col. Joseph Borden's) Regiment, Burlington County Foot Militia, [no place], 30 August 1775.
5. Ruben Sayre, Captain of a company in Elsinborough, Eastern (Col. John Holmes') Battalion, Salem County Foot Militia, [no place], 14 May 1776.
6. Abner Rieves, Ensign of the Eighth Company, Western (Col. John Munson's) Regiment, Morris County Militia, Morristown, 30 July 1777 [Accession #1995.061].
7. Benjamin Laing Jr., Captain of the Eighth Company, Col. Moses Jaques' Regiment, Essex County Militia, Morristown, 10 April 1780.
8. John Munn, Captain of the Third Company, Col. Philip Van Cortlandt's Regiment, Essex County Militia, [no place], ca. 1781-1790.
9. Thomas Kelly, Major of the First Battalion, Fourth Regiment, Salem County Militia, Trenton, 26 November 1794 [2243 AM].
10. Joseph D. Price, Colonel of the Fourth Regiment, Essex County Militia, Trenton, 26 February 1830.
11. John J. Behan, Corporal of Company E, 2nd Regiment, 2nd Brigade, New Jersey National Guard, effective 30 April 1901, Trenton, NJ, 6 May 1901 [Accession #1995.017].

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations