njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office
Series: Draft Compilations of Military Service Rosters - Colonial Wars through Mexican War,
1668-1848
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  SDEA0016
Guide Date:  4/1999 (CSM)
Volume: 0.75 c.f. [2 boxes]; 3 reels [35-mm]


Contents | Reel List

Content Note

This series contains descriptions, lists and records compiled by the Adjutant General’s Office from a variety of sources, including private manuscripts and federal records. These records appear to have been gathered to aid in the publication of the service records of men from New Jersey. The compiled lists cover service from the Colonial period to the Mexican War. A majority of the lists and records are undated.



Contents

Box 1
  1. Binder with pasted slips of paper with soldiers’ and sailors’ service records, 1798-1848 (in reverse chronological order).
     
Box 2
  1. List of men who served during the Colonial period (1665-1774) with alphabetical index, undated.
  2. Typed list entitled “Military Officers Recorded in the Office of the Secretary of State, Trenton, New Jersey; Colonial Wars, 1668-1774," undated.
  3. List of New Jersey Companies who served in the French and Indian War (1757-1764) mounted on cardboard, undated.
  4. List of men who served in the French and Indian War (1757-1764), undated.
  5. Typed alphabetical list of officers, undated [page numbers listed correspond with page numbers of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Revolutionary War].
  6. Ledger with officers of militia units and references to legislation passed by the New Jersey Assembly during the Revolutionary War, undated.
  7. Typed description of the British retreat through Burlington and Monmouth Counties, 1934.
  8. Typed copy of New Jersey Cavalry in the United States Army in 1794, undated.


Reel Listing

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
1 Lists of Men in Military Service
(1665-1783)
Colonial Military Officers (1668-1774)
List of Revolutionary War Officers
Colonial Period Wars (1665-1774)
French & Indian War (1757-1764)
GSU Reel #573334
2 Abstracts of Men in Military Service
p. 1 - 54 (1780-1848)
GSU Reel #573335
3 Abstracts of Men in Military Service
p. 55 - 92 (1780-1848)
GSU Reel #573336

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations