njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Revolutionary War)
Series: Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims, 1810s-1840s
Accession #: 1968.001 prob.
Series #: 

SDEA1003

Guide Date:  9/1998 (JK)
Volume: 15.5 c.f. [31 boxes]; 12 reels [35-mm]


Content Note | Contents | Reel List

Institutional History

During the Revolutionary War, the Continental Congress established basic guidelines for granting service pensions, but left their actual administration to the states. On August 26, 1776, in its first general act regarding pensions, congress resolved to provide half pay for servicemen (including those on naval vessels) who, as a result of disabilities incurred while in the service of the United States, were not capable of earning a living. The payment would continue for the duration of the disability. Subsequent legislation changed the rules for claiming a pension many times over. In most cases changes were beneficial to those who had served, resulting in greater eligibility for claimees. (See Appendix A for list of major pension legislation.) Ultimately, the government established three basic types of pensions:

1)
  disability or invalid pensions - given to those servicemen suffering from disabilities gained
in the line of duty
2)
  service pensions - given to those serving a specific amount of time
3)
  widows' pensions - given to the wives of servicemen killed in the war or who served for a specific
amount of time

The actual administration of pensions was transferred from the states to the federal government in 1789, soon after of the ratification of the U.S. Constitution.

Specific application procedures varied according to the act under which benefits were sought. Generally speaking, the applicant had to appear before a court of record in his state of residency and describe the service for which he was claiming a pension. To claim a widow's pension, information concerning her marriage to the veteran must be provided. In either case, the application and any supporting papers, certified by the court, were then sent to the official responsible for administrating the act under which the claim was made, usually the secretary of war or commissioner of pensions. The applicant was then notified of his status - rejected, approved, or pending eligibility (further proof had to be supplied). If approved, he was placed on the roll and paid semi-annually through federal pension agents.


Bibliography

National Genealogical Society. Index of Revolutionary War Pension Applications in the
              National Archives, Bicentennial Edition. Arlington, Virginia: National Genealogical Society, 1976.



Content Note

These abstracts are condensed versions of original federal claims located in the National Archives, Washington, D.C. Arranged alphabetically, they give the applicant’s claim number, rank, state, and general service record. Widows’ claims are also included in these abstracts.



Contents

Box 1
Abbott - Ayres
Box 2
Bacon - Bennett
Box 3
Bereman - Boyle
Box 4
Bradford - Butterfoss
Box 5
Cahill - Christie
Box 6
Clair - Cook
Box 7
Coolbaugh - Cuyzer
Box 8
Dailey - Disbrow
Box 9
Dodd - Ewing
Box 10
Fagan - Furman
Box 11
Gage - Gwinnup
Box 12
Haas - Heath
Box 13
Hedden - Housler
Box 14
Howard - Jobs
Box 15
Johnson - Kittle
Box 16
Kline - Lisk
Box 17
Little - Martin, Gershom
Box 18
Martin, James - Mesler
Box 19
Mickle - Nephew
Box 20
Nesbet - Paynton
Box 21
Peachy - Powles
Box 22
Prall - Rittenhouse
Box 23
Roark - Schaffer
Box 24
Schamp - Simpson
Box 25
Sims - Starke
Box 26
Stateser - Swick
Box 27
Tallman - Turner
Box 28
Tuttle - Van Wagner
Box 29
Van Wickle - Wardell
Box 30
Ware - Williamson
Box 31
Willis - Zeluff


Reel Listing - REVOLUTIONARY WAR

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
188 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
Abbott, John - Barton, Cornelius
GSU Reel #573321
189 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
Bastedo, William - Campbell, William
GSU Reel #573322
190 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
Campbell, Jabez - Conover, John M.
GSU Reel #573323
191 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
Conover, John M. - Doughty, Skillman
GSU Reel #573324
192 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
Douglass, Alexander - Grove, John
GSU Reel #573325
193 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
Grove, Samuel - Hutching, William
GSU Reel #573326
194 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
Huyler, John - Lizier, Peter
GSU Reel #573327
195 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
Lizier, Peter - O'Niel, John
GSU Reel #573328
196 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
O'Niel, John - Rush, Jacob
GSU Reel #573329
197 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
Rush, John - Stricker, Dennis
GSU Reel #573330
198 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
Strickland, Joseph - Vreeland, John
GSU Reel #573331
199 Abstracts of Federal Pension Claims
Vreeland, Peter - Zeluff, Daniel
GSU Reel #573332

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations