njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Revolutionary War)
Series: Records of Commissioners of Forfeited Estates, 1777-1795
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  SDEA1006
Guide Date:  Pre-1989 (DJ)
Volume: 3 c.f. [6 boxes]


Content Note | Box List | Contents

Institutional History

During the revolutionary war, the New Jersey state government passed a series of laws for confiscating the property of loyalists, in an attempt to quell their subversive activities and raise funds for financing the war effort.

Loyalism was first declared a crime by "An Act to punish Traitors and disaffected Persons," passed in October 1776, which stated that any resident of New Jersey who obeyed the King of Great Britain was guilty of high treason. The state then tried to woo loyalists into supporting the rebel government, by the "Act of Free and General Pardon" of June 1777. This act offered pardons for loyalist offenders and the restoration of their rights in return for an oath of allegiance. Though many took the oath, a large number of loyalists refused and their threat to the state's security persisted.

Finally, the state began to confiscate loyalists' estates, seeking to drive those who remained into exile, and to prevent those who had already left from ever returning. In August 1777 an act was passed for leasing loyalists' real estate and forfeiting their personal property. Finally, in December of the same year, the legislature authorized the complete confiscation of all loyalist property.

The forfeited estates laws affected anyone who had aided the enemy between April 1775 and October 1776 and still had not taken an oath of allegiance to the state. The offenders were declared guilty of high treason and their property was confiscated. Each county had three commissioners of forfeited estates appointed by the state. The commissioners gathered evidence against accused persons and presented it before a jury of twenty-four freeholders. If twelve or more jurors agreed, a verdict or inquisition would be drawn up for confiscating the accused's property. Inquisitions could be appealed by the accused or their representatives to the county court of common pleas, upon posting £1,000 bond. In practice, few trials were held because most of the accused and their associates had long since fled to New York City.

The sale of confiscated property raised £1,350,000 for the state. Seventy percent of the money came from East Jersey, where loyalist and patriot feuds were rampant. Middlesex County collected over £450,000, the largest amount for any county. The amounts were inflated, however, by severe currency depreciation. For this same reason, the sale of forfeited estates was suspended temporarily in June 1781. Sales were reinstated in December 1783 and continued intermittently for several more years.

Most of the documents here appear to have been collected by William S. Stryker, New Jersey's Adjutant General in the late-nineteenth century. However, no mention of them is made in the Adjutant General's published annual reports. The Essex County inquisitions were originally collected and inventoried separately by the State Archives' predecessor agency, the Bureau of Archives and History, under the series name, "Essex County Inquisitions of Loyalists."


Content Note

The documents in this collection are arranged by county and are divided into five sub-series: 1] expenses of commissioners in confiscating estates, 2] lists of certificates used in purchasing forfeited estates, 3] debts due to and from forfeited estates, 4] summary accounts and miscellaneous, and 5] inquisitions by county juries. The first category included any expenses in the actual confiscation procedure, such as surveying property and advertising sales. The second consists of lists of all certificates [or notes] used by purchasers in buying forfeited land. Certificates were used due to the absence of a stable currency. They had originally been issued by the state in payment for its many expenses, such as militia pay and officials' fees; once issued, they continued to circulate as promissory notes. Purchasers of forfeited estates would gather certificates by trading for them and then use them to buy the property. Thus, much of the debt that the state had incurred during the war was directly retired through the sale of the loyalists' property.

The greatest number of documents are in the third subseries: debts due to and from forfeited estates. These records were collected as part of the commissioners activities in settling the accounts of the loyalists' estates. Debts due from forfeited estates were assumed by the state after the property was confiscated. The fourth subseries, summary accounts and miscellaneous, contains lists of purchasers of forfeited estates and other summary information. The subseries also includes a variety of other documents ranging from correspondence and account books of agents to inquisition documents. Finally, the fifth series, which exists for Essex County only, consists of the inquisitions by which loyalists were convicted. [Inquisitions for other counties can be found in the Bureau of Archives and History Manuscript Collection.]

A card-file name index is available for the Essex County files.

The folders are labeled by county name, series number and item number. For example, Bergen 4.2 is the second item within the fourth series [Summary Accounts and Miscellaneous] for Bergen County.

Finally, five files at the beginning of the collection consist of statewide documents: mostly summaries compiled by the treasurer's office.



Box List
Box 1
Statewide records; Bergen, Burlington, Cape May and Cumberland Counties
Box 2
Essex County, files 2.1 - 5.50
Box 3
Essex County, files 5.51 - 5.120; Gloucester and Hunterdon Counties; Middlesex County, files 1.1 - 3.19
Box 4
Middlesex County, files 3.20 - 4.8
Box 5
Monmouth County
Box 6
Morris, Salem, Somerset and Sussex Counties


Contents
Statewide Files
1. Receipts for interest paid on debts due forfeited estates, June 1, 1792
2. Receipts for interest paid on debts due forfeited estates, Nov. 1, 1794
3. Receipts for interest and principal paid on debts due forfeited estates, Nov. 1, 1795
4. General account of funds received from forfeited estates, n.d.
5. Bill concerning payment of claims against forfeited estates, n.d.
Bergen County
Section 1: Expenses of commissioners in confiscating estates:
Commissioner Expense Date
1.1. James Board and Hendrik Cuyper summoning jurors 9/1778-10/1781
1.2. James Board and Hendrik Cuyper summoning jurors 4-7/1779
1.3. James Board trial of John Mead 1780-1790
1.4. Hendrik Cuyper summoning jurors 3/1781
1.5. Cornelius Haring advertising estate 1784
1.6. Cornelius Haring surveying estate 2/1784
1.7. Cornelius Haring surveying estate 6/1784
Section 2: Lists of certificates used in purchasing forfeited estates:
Estate of Purchased by Date
2.1. William Bayard & Michael Moore Peter Bogerte & Thos. Blanch 3/1784
2.2. William Bayard Cornelius Haring 3/1784
2.3. several several 3-6/1784
2.4. Robert Drummond Capt. Peter Wood 6/1784
2.5. William Bayard John Stevens 3/1784
2.6. John Ekkerson John Huyler 3/1784
2.7. Lawrence Van Horn Wierte & John Banta 3/1784
2.8. John Robertson & John Tise Jacobus Leroe & John Neafie 6/1784
2.9. Cornelius Dykman John Neafie 6/1784
2.10. William Bayard John Stevens 3/1784
2.11. Albert Zabriskie & Ed Simmon John Zabriskie & Yellis Mead 3/1784
2.12. several several 6/1784
2.13. several several 3-11/1784
2.14. several several 3-6/1784
2.15. David Peck Peter Wilson 6/1784
2.16. several several 3/1784
2.17. William Bayard Hurramanis Van Huyfen 3/1784
2.18. John Ryerson Ben Shotwell 11/1786
2.19. William Bayard & John Richards several 11/1786
2.20. John Myer Jacob Hollet & Nehemiah Wade 11/1786
2.21. Thomas Duncan William Bell 11/1786
2.22. several Nehemiah Wade 1788?
2.23. unknown Henry L. Dalum 3/1784
Section 3: Debts due to and from forfeited estates:
Estate of No. of items
3.1. John Persall & Abraham Persall 3
3.2. John Ryerson & Jacob Van Winkle 1
3.3. William Bayard 5
3.4. Robert Drummond 11
3.5. John Duryea 4
3.6. Cornelius Dyckman 12
3.7. John King 2
3.8. Rev. Garret Lydecker 2
3.9. David Peck 20
3.10. John Robinson 5
3.11. Samuel Rotan 1
3.12. John Ryerson 1
3.13. Samuel Ryerson 1
3.14. John Spear 2
3.15. Johannis [John] Van Blarcum 2
3.16. James Van Beuren 6
3.17. Cornelius Van Horne 3
3.18. John Zabriskie 6
Section 4: Summary accounts and miscellaneous:
4.1. Sales of personal estates and cash received, 1782 [3 items]
4.2. Lists of purchasers of forfeited estates, 1785, 1788 [2 items]
4.3. List of debts against forfeited estates assumed by the State, 1784
Burlington County
Section 1: Expenses of commissioners in confiscating estates: 
Commissioner Expense Date
1.1. Thomas Fenimore sale of barracks 3/1789
1.2. Thomas Fenimore receipt from state treasury 5/1792
Section 2: Lists of certificates used in purchasing forfeited estates: 
Estate of Purchased by Date
2.1. William Franklin Israel Shrive 11/1785
2.1. William Skuls Jacob Phillips 11/1785
2.1. William Skuls William Hutchin 11/1785
Section 3: Debts due to and from forfeited estates:
Estate of No. of items
3.1. John Carty 2
Section 4: Summary accounts and miscellaneous:
4.1. List of forfeited estates rented, 1782-1784
Cape May County
Section 2: Lists of certificates used in purchasing forfeited estates: 
Estate of Purchased by Date
2.1. John Hatten John Holmes 5/1784
Section 3: Debts due to and from forfeited estates: 
Estate of No. of items
3.1. John Hatten 2
Cumberland County  
Section 1: Expenses of commissioners in confiscating estates: 
Commissioner Expense Date
1.1. Enos Seeley crying a vendue 7/1778
1.2. David Seely advertising estate 3/1779
1.3. William Kelsey executions against estates 4/1779
1.4. William Kelsey advertising estate 10/1779
1.5. Enos Seeley wages & advertising estate 4/1779
Section 3: Debts due to and from forfeited estates:
Estate of No. of items
3.1. Daniel Brown & Richard Cayford 1
3.2. Richard Cayford & Jacob Hall 2
3.3. Richard Cayford & Daniel Stretch 1
3.4. Daniel Bowen 11
3.5. Richard Cayford 13
3.6. Jacob Hall 1
3.7. Daniel Jenkins 1
3.8. Peter Johnson 1
3.9. Daniel Stretch 10
Section 4: Summary accounts and miscellaneous: 
4.1. List of expenses of commissioners, 1778-1780
Essex County  
Section 2: Lists of certificates used in purchasing forfeited estates: 
Estate of Purchased by Date
2.1. unknown William Pennington 9/1784
2.2. Hugh Wallace Abraham Ogden 12/1786
2.3. several several 1784-1789
2.4. Thomas White & John Stiles Jr. Sam. Smith & Nathan. Norris n.d.
Section 3: Debts due to and from forfeited estates: 
Estate of No. of items
3.1. several 1
3.2. several 1
3.3. Francis, Thomas & David Ogden 1
3.4. Josiah Banks 2
3.5. Ichabod Barnet 1
3.6. Rev. Issac Browne 1
3.7. Peter Browne 2
3.8. Robert Drummond 2
3.9. Peter Dubois 2
3.10. Edward Dungan 4
3.11. Stephen Farrand 1
3.12. Garrabrant Garrabrants 1
3.13. James Gray 3
3.14. Lewis Greenfield 1
3.15. Garret Jacobus 1
3.16. James Jauncey 2
3.17. Griffon Jenkins 2
3.18. Cavalier Jouet 7
3.19. Issac Kingsland 1
3.20. Thomas Longworth 2
3.21. Joseph Marsh 1
3.22. George Marshall 1
3.23. Richard Miller 2
3.24. David Ogden 14
3.25. Isaac Ogden 5
3.26. David Oliver 3
3.27. Johnathan Oliver 1
3.28. Aaron Pierson 1
3.29. Broughton Reynolds 2
3.30. Nathaniel Richards 6
3.31. John Robinson 2
3.32. Jonathan Sayre 1
3.33. John Stites 5
3.34. William Styles 1
3.35. Francis Thomas 2
3.36. John Tucker 1
3.37. Ebenezer Ward 1
3.38. Uzal Ward 3
3.39. Thomas White 4
Section 4: Summary accounts and miscellaneous: 
4.1. Sales of personal property, 1777-1779 [3 items]
4.2. Inquisition documents, 1778-1781 [4 items]
4.3. Lists of forfeited estates, n.d. [2 items]
4.4. Account of commissioners with the state, 1777-1782
4.5. Order for certificates to be delivered, 1786
4.6. Lists of purchasers of forfeited estates, 1785, 1787 [2 items]
4.7. List of value of forfeited estates, 1784-1785
4.8. List of debts against several forfeited estates, 1784
Section 5:  Inquisitions of Loyalists  
Loyalist Date
5.1. Inquisition of John Acley 19 March 1779
5.2. Vincent Pearse Ashfield 2 April 1779
5.3. Thomas Aston 24 August 1778
5.4. Luther Baldwin 2 April 1779
5.5. Ichabod B. Barnet 29 June 1778
5.6. Josiah Banks 11 June 1778
5.7. Francis Batey 24 August 1778
5.8. Benjamin Booth 9 June 1778
5.9. Cornelius Brooks 24 August 1778
5.10. William Brooks 24 August 1778
5.11. Phillip Brosher 19 August 1780
5.12. Jacob Brower 11 June 1778
5.13. The Rev. Isaac Brown 11 June 1778
5.14. Dr. Peter Browne 11 June 1778
5.15. William Brownjohn, Jr. 8 February 1779
5.16. Thomas Bruen 8 June 1778
5.17. Thomas Burrows 30 June 1778
5.18. Duncan Campbell 8 February 1779
5.19. Thomas B. Chandler 19 March 1779
5.20. Peter Clopper 11 June 1778
5.21. David Cole 19 August 1780
5.22. James Colvin 24 August 1778
5.23. John Crane 8 February 1779
5.24. Oliver Delancey 19 March 1779
5.25. Jane Drummond 1 September 1779
5.26. Robert Drummond 9 June 1778
5.27. Peter DuBois 18 November 1778
5.28. Stephen Farrand 9 June 1778
5.29. John Folker 30 June 1778
5.30. James Frazee 29 June 1778
5.31. James Frazee, Jr. 18 March 1779
5.32. Joseph French 8 February 1779
5.33. Garrabrant Garrabrett 11 June 1778
5.34. Nicholas Garrabrant 24 August 1778
5.35. Hugh Gain 18 November 1778
5.36. Thomas Galbrath 12 June 1778
5.37. Robert Gault 19 March 1779
5.38. James Gray November 1778
5.39. Lewis Greenfield 9 June 1778
5.40. Joseph Hallet 11 June 1778
5.41. Samuel Harrison 24 August 1778
5.42. Abel Hetfield 29 June 1778
5.43. Cornelius Hetfield, Jr. 19 March 1779
5.44. James Hetfield 29 June 1778
5.45. James Hetfield, Jr. 19 August 1780
5.46. Job Hetfield 29 June 1778
5.47. Smith Hetfield 22 June 1778
5.48 Nicaolaus Hoffman 27 November 1778
5.49. Sheffield Howard 2 April 1779
5.50. Samuel Hudinot 27 November 1778
5.51. Garret Jacobus 24 August 1778
5.52. James Jauncey 8 February 1779
5.53. Griffin Jenkins 8 June 1778
5.54. Cavilier Jewit 22 June 1778  
5.55. Dr. Uzal Johnson 27 November 1778  
5.56. John Tabor Kemp 8 February 1779  
5.57. Isaac Kingsland 24 August 1778  
5.58. Joseph Kingsland 9 June 1778  
5.59. John Lee, Jr. 18 March 1779 
5.60. Edward Leight 1 September 1779 
5.61. Isaac Longworth 8 June 1778 
5.62. Isaac Longworth, Jr. 9 June 1778 
5.63. Thomas Longworth 8 June 1778 
5.64. William Luck  22 June 1778  
5.65. Joseph Marsh 19 March 1779 
5.66. George Marshall 18 March 1779  
5.67. William Maxwell 11 June 1778 
5.68. Richard Miller 29 June 1778  
5.69. Isaac Mills   18 March 1779 
5.70. Daniel Moore 29 June 1778 
5.71. James Moore 29 June 1778  
5.72. John Morse 29 June 1778 
5.73. Peter Nowrison 11 June 1778  
5.74. John Nutman 22 July 1780  
5.75. David Ogden 8 June 1778 
5.76. David Ogden, Jr. 8 June 1778 
5.77. Isaac Ogden 9 June 1778 
5.78. Isaac Ogden, Thomas Philips and
   James Blundle
8 February 1779  
5.79. Nicholas Ogden 9 June 1778 
5.80. David Oliver 30 June 1778 
5.81. Ichabod Oliver 18 March 1779  
5.82. Jonathan Oliver 30 June 1778 
5.83. Samuel Oliver 29 June 1778  
5.84. Aaron Pierson 18 November 1778 
5.85. Benjamin Pierson 11 June 1778 
5.86. Daniel Pierson 2 April 1779
5.87. Broughton Reynolds 29 June 1778 
5.88. Nathaniel Richards 8 June 1778 
5.89. Jonathan Sayre 9 June 1778 
5.90. Caleb Sayres 11 June 1778 
5.91. Derick Schuyler 12 June 1778 
5.92. Miles Sherbrook 2 April 1779  
5.93. Stephen Skinner 8 June 1778 
5.94. John Sloan 19 March 1779 
5.95. Samuel Smith 29 June 1778 
5.96. Henry Stager 24 August 1778 
5.97. Isaac Stanbury 30 June 1778 
5.98.