njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Revolutionary War)
Series: Book of Signatures of Revolutionary War Officers and Officials, ca. 1775-1809
Accession #: 1968.001 or 1968.002
Series #:  SDEA1013
Guide Date:  11/1998 (EC)
Volume: 0.1 [1 booklet & 7 loose signatures]



Content Note

This series consists of a small booklet into which clipped signatures of Revolutionary War military officers and government officials have been pasted. It is not known whether these signatures were originally gathered by a collector, or whether the Adjutant General's staff clipped them from documents in order to have verifiable signatures to compare to other records. Seven loose signatures found in the back of the booklet have been placed in a separate folder.

The signatures are listed below in alphabetical order. Additional identifying information (i.e., rank, title or date) has been noted only if included with the signature. Also, in a number of instances the full first names were determined using other military records. In such cases, the first names are shown in brackets.

ACCESS NOTE: Access to this series will be permitted only for the purpose of comparing signatures, and with close supervision by Archives staff.


Name Page # Notes
Anderson, John 1 2 signatures
Ballard, Jeremiah 1  
Barton, William 1 2 signatures
Beatty, [G.?] 1  
Beavers, Joseph 2 2 signatures
Blanch, Thomas 2  
Bloomfield, Jarvis 2  
Bloomfield, Moses 2 2 signatures
Borden, Joseph 2 2 signatures
Bott, William loose  
Bray, John 3  
Breese, Samuel 3 3 signatures
Brooks, [Almarin] 4 Ensign
Burnet, William 4  
Campbell, John 4  
Chambers, Alexander 4  
Coddington, David 4  
Colfax, William 4 2 signatures
Conway, John 5  
Cook, John 31 Captain
Cooper, Jacob 5 Captain
Covenhoven, John 5 2 signatures
Cox, Richard 5  
Craig, John 5 Captain, State Troops
Crane, Jacob 5 Major
Curtis, Marmaduke 6  
Darby, Ephraim 6  
Davenport, [Franklin] 6 2 signatures
Dayton, Elias 6  
Dayton, Jonathan 6  
Deare, Jonathan 7 late Lt. Col., 1st Battalion, Middlesex Militia  
Demarest, David 7  
Denise, Denise 7  
Dey, Richard 7  
Dey, Theunis 7  
Dick, Samuel 7-8 President
Doughty, John 8  
Douglass, Alexander 8  
Drake, Jacob 8  
Dunham, Azariah 8-9 Superintendent of Purchasing; 3 signatures
Edgar, Clarkson 9-10 2 signatures
Edgar, David 9  
Ellis, Jo. 10  
Elmer, Ebenezer 10 2 signatures
Elmer, Moses G. 10 2 signatures
Elmer, Timothy 11  
Ewing, Maskell 11  
Fenimore, Thomas 11  
Forman, David 11 2 signatures
Forman, Samuel 11 2 signatures
Freeman, Matthew 12 Captain
Furman, [Moore] 12  
Godwin, A. 1  
Goetschius, Joh. Mauritius 12  
Gordon, Peter 12  
Haight, Joseph 12 Colonel
Halsted, Matthais 12-13 2 signatures; second dated 9 October 1794
Haring, Abraham 15  
Haring, John David 13  
Hathaway, Benoni loose  
Hayes, Samuel 13  
Heard, John 13  
Helms, [William] 13 Captain, 2nd Regiment
Hendrickson, Daniel 14  
Hoagland, Okey 14  
Holme, Benjamin 14  
Holme, John 14 & loose 2 signatures
Holmes, Asher 14 & loose Colonel, 1st Regiment; 2 signatures
Hoops, Robert 15  
Hope, Adam 15 Captain
Hunt, [Abraham] 15  
Hunt, Stephen 15  
Huyler, John 15  
Johnes, Timothy 16  
Johnson, Uzal 16  
Jones, Timothy 16  
Kaighn, Samuel 16 late cont. [possibly continental]
Kelsey, Enos 16 2 signatures; first dated 18 November 1776
Kollock, Shepard 17  
Lane, Aaron 17  
Lawrence, Elisha 17 2 signatures
Lindsly, Eleazer 17 2 signatures
Livingston, William, Jr. 18  
Lloyd, Bateman 18  
Lowrey, Thomas 18 3 signatures
Lowrey, [William] 19  
Martin, Ephraim 19  
Meeker, Samuel 19  
Meeker, Uzal 19 Captain
Mehelm, John 19 & loose 3 signatures
Morris, Jonathan Ford 19-20 2 signatures
Muirheid, John 20  
Neilson, John 20 & 31 2 signatures
Ogden, Aaron 20  
Ogden, [Matthias] loose late Colonel, 1st Regiment
Outwater, John 20  
Parrot, William 20  
Peck, John 21 2 signatures
Phillips, Joseph 21 2 signatures
Potter, David 21 Judge; 2 signatures
Read, Charles 22  
Reading, Samuel 22 2 signatures
Reed, Bowes 22  
Rhea, [Jonathan] 22 Trenton, 14 Nov. 1809
Rosco, Willaim 23  
Schenck, [Peter] 26  
Scott, Moses 23  
Seely, Silvanus 23  
Sheppard, Samuel 23 Lieutenant
Shute, Samuel Moore 23 2 signatures
Shute, William 24 2 signatures
Smith, Issac 24  
Smock, Barns 24 2 signatures
Smock, Barnes J. 24  
Smock, John 25 2 signatures
Speer, John, Jr. 25  
Stevens, John 25  
Stevens, John, Jr. 25
Stilwill, Richard 26 Captain
Stockton, Thomas 25  
Stryker, Dominicus 25  
Stryker, James 26  
Stryker, John 26 2 signatures
Symmes, John Cleves 26  
Tallman, Peter 27 3 signatures
Taylor, George 27  
Taylor, John 27  
[Ten Eeck?], Jacob 28  
Thomas, Edward 28 2 signatures
Thomson, Mark 28 2 signatures
Van Cleve, Benjamin 29 2 signatures
Vandike, Joseph 29 Captain
Van Vorst, Cornelius 29  
Voorheis, Roeloff 26  
Vroom, Peter D. 29 & loose 3 signatures
Wade, Nehemiah 29-30 3 signatures, 1 differing significantly from other two
Walton, Elisha 30 Captain; 2 signatures, differing significantly
White, Anthony Walton 30  
Wilkinson, John 30 Captain
Williamson, Matthias 30  

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations