| Record
Group: |
Department
of Defense |
| Subgroup: |
Adjutant
General's Office (Revolutionary War) |
| Series: |
Quartermaster
and Commissary Generals' Records, United States Continental Army,
1776-1789 |
| Accession
#: |
Unknown |
| Series
#: |
SDEA1014 |
| Guide
Date: |
Pre-1989; rev. 9/2004 (LB) |
| Volume: |
1
c.f. [2 boxes]; 1 reel [35-mm] |
Content
Note | Contents | Reel
List
| Institutional
History
During
the revolutionary war, the system for provisioning the Continental
army was almost continually reorganized, as Congress sought to ameliorate
chronic shortages through administrative rearrangements. The following
account briefly summarizes the history of the army's procurement
system, concentrating on those periods for which the archives' holdings
are most complete. For more information, consult the attached bibliography
and the archives' research file pertaining to this collection.
As a first step in organizing a supply apparatus, the Continental
Congress created the offices of the Quartermaster General and Commissary
General on June 16, 1775. The Quartermaster General was responsible
for transporting and delivering supplies, establishing the order
of battle, regulating the marches and arranging camps. The Commissary
General, on the other hand, was responsible for procuring food.
Because of their dependency on one another, however, they often
overlapped in performing their duties.
In August 1777, following a period in which the army suffered severe
shortages, Congress expanded the Commissary General's department
to include two new positions: a Commissary of Purchase and a Commissary
of Issues. When the army moved from Brandywine to Germantown in
September 1777, the Commissary of Issues established temporary magazines
along the route, giving orders for the Quartermasters to issue several
days provisions to the men. Also in 1778, in an attempt to save
money, Congress acted to eliminate the use of regular soldiers as
wagoners in the Quartermaster's department. Instead, the Quartermaster
General enlisted a special corps of wagoners as he needed them.
When shortages in army provisions continued to prevail, Congress
appointed a supervisory board to oversee the two departments in
November 1778. A resulting reorganization, finally adopted in November
1779, required the Commissary General to estimate how many provisions
the army would need for the following year. He then divided the
estimated amount between the states and each state was required
to furnish their quota of the needed provisions. The issuing section
of the department was completely eliminated, leaving the Commissary
General with one assistant at the department's headquarters and
one assistant to deal with the states who refused to furnish their
quotas.
The reorganization of the Quartermaster General's department occurred
somewhat later, in January 1780. Congress appointed one assistant
for the Quartermaster General, and the Quartermaster General appointed
one deputy for the main army, one deputy for each separate army
and one deputy for each state (if necessary).
The new system, however, proved no more efficient than the previous
ones. On February 20, 1781, Congress, in the process of its own
reorganization, appointed Robert Morris as the executive head of
the Treasury Department. In an effort to consolidate responsibility
and improve the government's financial condition, Morris was also
appointed to oversee the supply of provisions to the army. By the
end of 1781, Morris had instituted a system using contractors to
procure supplies. Under this arrangement, individuals signed agreements
in which they promised to purchase and deliver provisions to specific
places for the following year. The existing Commissaries and Quartermasters
retained their official titles, but in actuality, they simply served
as some of Morris's many private contractors. The consolidation
which Morris provided solved the problems of inefficient bureaucracy
in the two departments. For the remainder of the war, the army's
provisions were more satisfactory.
Table of Quartermaster and Commissary Generals
Quartermaster
Generals
| Thomas
Mifflin |
September
1775 - June 1776 |
| Stephen
Moylan |
June
1776 - October 1776 |
| Thomas
Mifflin |
October
1776 - October 1777 |
| [vacancy] |
October
1777 - March 1778 |
| Nathaniel
Greene |
March
1778 - August 1780 |
| Timothy
Pickering |
August
1780 - 1785 |
Commissary Generals
| Joseph
Trumbull |
July
1775 - August 1777 |
| William
Buchanan |
August
1777 - March 1778 |
| Jeremiah
Wadsworth |
April
1778 - December 1779 |
| Ephraim
Blaine |
December
1779 - 1783 |
Bibliography
A
Sketch of the Organization of the Quartermasters' Department from
1774 to 1876.
Washington: Government Printing
Office, 1876.
Hatch,
Louis, C. The Administration of the American Revolutionary Army,
New York:
Longmans, Green, and Company,
1904.
Johnson,
Victor L. The Administration of the American Commissariat During
the Revolutionary War.
Philadelphia, 1941.
Moore
Furman papers. (Deputy Quartermaster General, 1778-1780). New Jersey
State Archives.
Svejda, George J. Quartering, Disciplining, and Supplying the
Army at Morristown, 1779-1780.
Washington, DC: National Park
Service, 1970. |
| Content
Note
The
records that follow, which span the period from 1776 to 1789, were
assembled from various sources by the late nineteenth century Adjutant
General William S. Stryker. The collection includes account books
from the Quartermasters, Commissaries and other smaller departments,
as well as contractor's records. The account books assume a variety
of forms, reflecting different stages in the evolution of the Continental
Army's organization. The first set of account books consists of
commissaries' lists of stores and provisions received, issued and
on hand at Pottsgrove, Middletown and Newtown, Pennsylvania. These
accounts span the period from September 1777, when Washington's
army moved to Valley Forge, to July 1778. It was a period of transition
in the Commissary's department and chaos in the Quartermaster's
department. Pottsgrove, Middletown, and Newtown were magazines where
the provisions such as beef, pork, flour and salt were collected,
stored and issued.
The second set of accounts, dating from 1780, lists the stores delivered
to the various regiments of the Jersey Brigade. During this period,
the new system of state quotas had just been instituted. Consequently,
New Jersey supplied its own regiments and submitted the accounts
to the Commissary General's Department as a part of fulfilling the
state quota.
The next set consists of contractor's records for the years 1780
to 1782. All of the contractors included worked in the state of
New Jersey. Their records contain certificates issued for forage
and provisions, expense accounts and receipts. By 1781, Morris had
instituted the system of contractors for supplying the army. Most
of these records, however, are of contractors who worked for the
state of New Jersey when the state quota system remained intact.
The collection further contains records of the Wagonmaster General,
who worked under the Quartermaster General's department. The records
date from 1778-1780, a period when wagoners no longer served as
members of the regular army but instead were hired or impressed
as their services were needed.
The final major account book lists clothing purchased by the State
of New Jersey in the winter of 1776 and 1777. The purchase of clothing
was arranged independent of both the Commissary and Quartermaster
General departments.
More on the miscellaneous side, the collection includes various
certificates, receipts, and accounts, most of which relate to the
Quartermaster General's activities, dating from July 1778 to December
1781.
Finally, the collection holds a number of registers of certificates
from the commissary, quartermaster, hospital, marine and clothing
departments. These registers were compiled after the war, in 1786-87,
as both state and federal governments sought to consolidate wartime
debts. They list the number, amount and date of each certificate
issued, as well as the names of the issuer and receiver. Although
they technically belong with Treasury Department records, they have
been included here because they list expenditures that were solely
military in nature. All names appearing on Commissary and Quartermaster
department registers have been indexed in the Archives' Revolutionary
War card file.
|
| |
|
| Box
1 |
|
| Commissary
Account Books of Provisions and Stores Issued and Received |
|
| 1. |
Issues
book of Newtown magazine, September-December, 1777. |
| 2. |
Issues
book of Pottsgrove and Middletown [Pennsylvania] magazines, January-July,
1778. |
| 3. |
Issues
book of Jacob Anderson, Pottsgrove and Middletown magazines, 1778
(duplicate of information in above account book with additional monthly
summaries). |
| 4. |
Account
book of provisions and stores received, Pottsgrove and Middletown
magazines, February-July, 1778. |
| 5. |
Account
book of provisions received and issued for the Northern Department
[upstate New York], Continental Army, April 1780. |
|
| Account
Books of the Jersey Brigade |
|
| 6. |
Account
book of state stores delivered to the 1st-4th Regiments, [January-July?]
1780. |
| 7. |
Account
book of state stores delivered to the 1st-4th Regiments, August-December
2, 1780. |
| 8. |
Return
of commissary supplies [on hand?] in the 1st and 2nd Regiments [N.D.]. |
|
| Wagonmaster
General Accounts |
|
| 9. |
Enlistment
of Daniel Bartholomew as a wagoner for three months, Continental army,
July 13, 1778. |
| 10. |
Account
book, March-July 1780. |
|
| Account
Book of Clothing Purchased |
|
| 11. |
Account
book of clothing purchased, November 1776-December, 1777. |
|
| Contractors'
Records |
|
| Peter
Dumont, contractor for Somerset County: |
|
| 12. |
Account
of cash paid by Peter Dumont. |
|
| Cornelius
Ludlow, contractor for Morris County: |
|
| 13. |
Certificates
for forage and provisions sold January 20-June 30, 1780, [nos. 1-10]. |
| 14. |
Certificates
for forage and provisions sold January 20-June 30, 1780, [nos. 11-20]. |
| 15. |
Certificates
for forage and provisions sold January 20-June 30, 1780, [nos. 21-30]. |
| 16. |
Certificates
for forage and provisions sold January 20-June 30, 1780, [nos. 31-40]. |
| 17. |
Certificates
for forage and provisions sold January 20-June 30, 1780, [nos. 41-50]. |
| 18. |
Certificates
for forage and provisions sold January 20-June 30, 1780, [nos. 51-60]. |
| 19. |
Certificates
for forage and provisions sold January 20-June 30, 1780, [nos. 61-72]. |
| 20. |
Receipts
from Cornelius Ludlow for provisions delivered for the Army, February-May,
1780, [4 items]. |
| 21. |
Account
of expenses for carting by Cornelius Ludlow, with receipts 3-17, February
20-May 29, 1780. |
| 22. |
Account
of cash disbursed by Cornelius Ludlow, March 28-June [?] 1780, [page
3 only]; with receipts 1-4, 6-16,
[16 items]. |
| 23. |
Accounts
of Cornelius Ludlow with the State of New Jersey, June, 1780. |
| 24. |
Remarks
on Cornelius Ludlow's accounts, 1780. |
| 25. |
Account
of Cornelius Ludlow for expenses; certificates 3-5, [1781]. |
|
| Joseph
Inslee, contractor for Hunterdon County: |
|
| 26. |
Account
book of cash received and paid by Joseph Inslee, 1780-1782. |
|
| Theophilus
Elmer, contractor for Cumberland County: |
|
| 27. |
Certificates
and receipts issued by Theophilus Elmer, 1780-1781. |
| 28. |
Expense
account and receipts of Theophilus Elmer for driving cattle from Cumberland
County to Trenton, 1781,
[11 items]. |
| 29. |
Expense
account of Theophilus Elmer with the State of New Jersey, for driving
cattle from Cumberland County to Trenton, November 6-14, 1781; receipts,
[12 items]. |
|
| Miscellaneous
Receipts and Certificates |
|
| 30. |
Account
of Lewis Pintard with Luke Quick, [1778]. |
| 31. |
Receipt
of William Hight to David Olden, of payment for carting wood, September
8, 1779. |
| 32. |
Forage
Certificates, 1779-1780, [4 items]. |
| 33. |
Account
of grain delivered and ground at Daniel Carmichael's Mill, January
9, 1780. |
| 34. |
Receipt
of Thomas Yard to Moore Fruman, June 3, 1780. |
| 35. |
Certificate
for carting, Garret Schanck, Jr., September 23, 1780. |
| 36. |
Stubs
#387 and #388 from certificates issued by Daniel Marsh [Quartermaster
at Rahway], October 2, 1780. |
| 37. |
Receipts
for forage, 1781. |
| 38. |
Contractor's
receipt issued by Abraham Sayre, receiver, October 29, 1781. |
| 39. |
Receipt
of the State of New Jersey to David Brant for hay delivered to state
troops at Rahway, December 17, 1781. |
|
|
| Box
2 |
|
| Registers
of Certificates Received Into the Treasury |
|
| Commissary
General Department certificates: |
|
| 40. |
Account
book of certificates in the Purchasing Commissary General's Department
received into the New Jersey State Treasury, July 19, 1787. |
| 41. |
Account
book of certificates in the Purchasing Commissary General's Department
received into the New Jersey State Treasury, August 7, 1787. |
|
| Quartermaster
General Department certificates: |
|
| 42. |
Account
book 'A'. |
| 43. |
Account
book '1', vouchers #1-1277. |
| 44. |
Account
book '2', vouchers # 1278-4080. |
| 45. |
Duplicate
of account book '2', vouchers #3334-3990. |
|
| Certificates
issued by Benjamin Walker, Commissioner for Marine, Clothing and Hospital
Departments: |
|
| 46. |
Register
of certificates issued by Benjamin Walker, Commissioner for the Marine
Department, September 13, 1786 - September 24, 1788, nos. 247-928,
119-126; Return of certificates issued by Benjamin Walker, Commissioner
for clothing department, May 24, 1786 - December 31, 1787, nos. 1-105. |
| 47. |
Register
of certificates issued by Benjamin Walker, Commissioner of Hospital
Department, October 16, 1786 - June 13, 1787, nos. 100-166. |
|
| Miscellaneous
Documents |
|
| 48. |
Appraisal
of gun lost by Noah Chamberlin, May 30, 1776. |
| 49. |
Appraisal
of a gun, bayonet, lost by Jesse Titus in service on Long Island,
May 30, 1776. |
| 50. |
Returns of
Col. McDougal's Regiment, July 10, 1776. |
| 51. |
Parole
of honor of Michael Kearney, July 13, 1776. |
| 52. |
Eyewitness
account of a naval battle on Delaware River and the capture of Philadelphia,
1776-1778, [orig. & copy]. |
| 53. |
List
of officers of 4th Battalion of Jersey arranged in companies, February
19, 1777. |
| 54. |
William
M. Olin to Edward C. Stokes transferring to the Adjutant General four
original muster rolls of John Mott's company, Third Regiment, New
Jersey Continental Line, December 21, 1907; William M. Olin to R.
Heber Brintnall, December 21, 1907, [2 items]. |
| 55. |
Muster
roll of Captain John Mott's company, Third Regiment, New Jersey Continental
Line, June 5, 1777 [2 copies]. |
| 56. |
Muster
roll of Captain John Mott's company, Third Regiment, New Jersey Continental
Line, September 1-November 1, 1777. |
| 57. |
Muster
roll of Captain John Mott's company, Third Regiment, New Jersey Continental
Line, October 31-December 1, 1777. |
| 58. |
Muster
roll of Captain John Mott's company, Third Regiment, New Jersey Continental
Line, November 31, 1777-January 1, 1778. |
| 59. |
Account
of charges for House Room & Stable Room for Col. Baylor's Regiment
of Light Dragoons... [1778],
(2 copies). |
| 60. |
Order
for the return of officers to the 12th Pennsylvania Regiment, January
6, 1778, [draft of an advertisement]. |
| 61. |
Pay
scale for officers of militia after June 2, 1778. |
| 62. |
British
order to ships supplying American prisoners of war, June 19, 1778. |
| 63. |
Appraisal
of a gun lost by Joseph Cadanes Hogeland when he was taken prisoner
"at the Liberty Pole" on September 23, 1778. |
| 64. |
List
of houses in Elizabethtown fit for quarters, October 20, 1778. |
| 65. |
Parole
of honor of James Duncan, November 4, 1778. |
| 66. |
Pay
[scale] of the officers, non-commissioned officers and soldiers of
the Continental Army, [ca. 1779]. |
| 67. |
Pass
issued by Henry Broderick, Aide de Camp, allowing the bearer to proceed
to New York, April 20, 1779. |
| 68. |
Extract
of a letter from John Fitch dated July 21, 1779 concerning the situation
of the army at and near West Point. |
| 69. |
Sundry
Vessels Sailing, November 1779, captured or lost at sea. |
| 70. |
"A
classed return of Capt. James Green Company," Monmouth County
[1780]. |
| 71. |
Appraisal
of a gun lost by Richard Jones near Bordentown, sworn February 29,
1780. |
| 72. |
State
of the land forces of the State of New Jersey, [1780-1782]. |
| 73. |
[Henry
Clinton?] to the [New] Jersey Brigade, January, 1781 [copy?]. |
| 74. |
Purchasing
Commissary General's department, book 'B', [cover only, N.D.]. |
| 75. |
Mileage
rate schedule, [N.D.]. |
| 76. |
Receipt
of prisoners, Jacob Hampton and Joseph Oliver, Jr., at Morristown,
March 20, 1781. |
| 77. |
Statement
of Joseph Brearly, certifying that Caleb Stout, serving in the Second
Regiment, New Jersey Continental Line, did not receive any pay since
May 7, 1776 when he was taken prisoner, May 25, 1781. |
| 78. |
Payroll
of the Canadian Old Regiment in the service of the United States...
[1782]. |
| 79. |
List
of questions concerning American troop positions and strengths, [N.D.]. |
| 80. |
Order
of March from Camp at Valley Forge to Newburg on the North River opposite
Fish Kiln, [N.D.]. |
| 81. |
Plan
for cantoning the troops for the winter, [N.D.]. |
| 82. |
Return
of Captain [?] Coles Company and Captain [?] Brooks Company [Sussex
County ?, N.D.]. |
| 83. |
Return
of detachment detailed from the New Jersey militia, [N.D.]. |
| 84. |
Return
of the Second Regiment [N.D.] [copy] |
| 85. |
A
subsistence roll in full of the men that were enlisted by Daniel Coe
and had no opportunity to serve, [N.D.]. |
| 86. |
Pay
scale for militiamen and officers, [N.D.]. |
| 87. |
Miscellaneous
military records, [2 items]. |
| 88. |
Extract
of a letter from Ebenezer Hazard to President of Congress, June 19,
1779. |
Reel
Listing - REVOLUTIONARY WAR |
| Reel |
Contents |
Explanatory
Notes |
| 1-0236 |
Records
of the Adjutant General's Office and State Treasurer's Office |
Adjutant
General: Loyalist
Manuscripts, 1776-1783;
Quartermaster & Commissary
General's Account Books;
Treasurer: Register of State Pension
Payments, 1837-1870 |
|