njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Civil War)
Series: Memorials of Officers, ca. 1861-1894
Accession #: 1968.002
Series #:  SDEA4002
Guide Date: 3/1992, rev. 2/1999 (JK)
Volume: 1.25 c.f. [3 boxes]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

These records were compiled by Adjutant General William S. Stryker for the purpose of developing a written memorial for New Jersey's Civil War officers.  The memorials take the form of correspondence from family members and friends, newspaper articles, and obituaries; they provide biographical information (e.g. military service data) for each officer.  Of special note are:  a list of all New Jersey officers killed during the war (folder #2); a compilation of brief biographical sketches of New Jersey officers (folder #3); a history of the First Regiment, New Jersey Cavalry, by M. H. Beaumont (folder #17); a history of the Third Regiment, New Jersey Infantry, by Charles Harker (folder #72); and material on Major General Philip Kearny (folder #89).

NOTE:  The memorials were originally filed in Civil War binders #223-226.  All newspaper articles have been photocopied for preservation; the original clippings are in Box 3.



Contents

Box 1
Composite Lists:
1.
Composite List of Memoirs
2.
New Jersey Officers Who Died During the War
3.
Biographical Sketches
Memorials for Individual Officers:
 4.
ABBOTT, Joseph
5.
ACKERMAN, Joseph
 6.
ACKLEY, William S.
 7.
ACTON, Edward A.
 8.
ALLEN, Joseph Warner
 9.
ANGEL, Ashbel W.
 10.
APPLEGATE, Edwin F.
 11.
ARNETT, Charles W.
 12.
AUSTIN, Alanson
 13.
BALDWIN, Henry Moore
 14.
BALDWIN, Joseph C.
 15.
BARNARD, William C.
 16.
BAYARD, George D.
17.
BEAUMONT, M. H. (history of the First New Jersey Cavalry)
18.
BEEKMAN, Samuel J.
 19.
BERRY, Edward Payson
 20.
BERRY, William C.
 21.
BIRD, Wellington
22.
BLOOMFIELD, Lott
23.
BOGGS, William G.
24.
BOICE, George C.
 25.
BONHAM, Lucius
 26.
BREWSTER, Ephraim
27.
BRILL, Frederick A.
 28.
BROWNSON, Edward P.
29.
BUCK, Samuel S.
30.
BUCKLEY, D. Penrose
 31.
BULLOCK, James Isaac
32.
BURD, S. R.
33.
BURTT, James C.
34.
BUTLER, Frank
35.
BUTLER, W.
36.
CALHOUN, James T.
37.
CALLEN, Henry H.
38.
CARMAN, E. A.
39.
CARRELL, Edward S.
 40.
CLARK, Harry R.
41.
CLARK, Joseph C.
42.
COCHRANE, William H.
43.
CONK, William H.
44.
CONOVER, James W.
45.
COOK, E. Rezeau
46.
CROMWELL, John O.
47.
CROSS, Samuel D.
48.
CURLIS, Richard A.
49.
DAVIS, Thomas H.
50.
DRAKE, J. Madison
51.
DUNCAN, Robert E.
52.
EAYRE, Thomas W.
53.
EGAN, William H.
54.
EKINGS, Thomas K.
55.
EVANS, William J.
56.
FIELD, Charles
57.
FISHER, Otis
58.
FOGG, John M.
59.
FOSTER, Richard
60.
FOWLER, John
61.
FRANCINE, Louis
62.
FREEMAN, Joseph Addison
63.
FRITSCHY, John F.
64.
GALLAGHER, Michael
65.
GAMBLE, John
66.
GELSTON, William
67.
GRAHAM, Archibald
68.
GREEN, Theodore J.
69.
HAINES, Thomas R.
70.
HALSEY, Edmund D.
71.
HAMILTON, Ellis
72.
HARKER, Charles (history of the Third New Jersey Infantry)
73.
HARRIS, Edwin S.
74.
HARRISON, George W.
75.
HARSFALL, Charles K.
Box 2
76.
HART, Israel
77.
HARTMAN, John B.
78.
HATCH, William B.
79.
HATFIELD, Daniel
80.
HATFIELD, David
81.
HEISLER, George
82.
HENRY, Joseph J.
83.
HERBERT, George H.
84.
HUFTY, Charles
85.
HUGHES, James
86.
IRISH, Hugh C.
87.
JANEWAY, Hugh H.
88.
JUSTICE, George C.
89.
KEARNY, Philip
90.
KEARNY, Philip John
91.
KELLY, Edward 
92.
KILPATRICK, Judson
93.
LANGBEIN, Julis
94.
LAWRANCE, Joseph B.
95.
LAYTON, Sidney M.
96.
LINDSLEY, Ira J.
97.
LOGAN, Dorastus B.
98.
LONG, James
99.
MARTIN, Luther
100.
McCHESNEY, Joseph M.
101.
McDONALD, Patrick
102.
MEVES, Charles 
103.
MINDIL, George W. 
104.
MORRISON, Andrew Jackson 
105.
MORRISON, Charles B. 
106.
MOTT, Gershom 
107.
MOUNT, Vincent W. 
108.
MOUNT, Wesley E. 
109.
MULLERY, Michael 
110.
NASON, Joseph W. 
111.
NIPPINS, William 
112.
OHLENSLAGER, Emil 
113.
PARMENTIER, William Jencks 
114.
PLUME, Isaac H. 
115.
POST, Jacob 
116.
POTTER, William E. 
117.
POWELL, Samuel M. 
118.
REILLY, Charles 
119.
REVERE, Joseph W. 
120.
RICH, John 
121.
RIDGEWAY, Joseph Theodore 
122.
ROBESON, Alexander L. 
123.
ROBESON, William P.
124.
RODEN, Hugh P.
125.
ROSSELL, Nathan B.
126.
RUTLER, Francis E.
127.
SANDERS, John
128.
SCOTT, Julian
129.
SEWELL, William J.
130.
SHAW, Charles D.
131.
SLACK, Thomas A.
132.
SLEEPER, Samuel T.
133.
SHIMER, Cornelius C.
134.
SMITH, Myron W.
135.
SPRINGER, John
136.
STEWARD, James
137.
STROND, Simpson R.
138.
STRONG, Theodore
139.
STULTS, Symmes Henry
140.
STURGES, William E.
141.
SWIFT, Joseph
142.
TAYLOR, Archibald S.
143.
TAYLOR, John
144.
THACKARY, Isaac
145.
TORBERT, Alfred T.
146.
TRUEX, William Snyder
147.
TUCKER, Isaac M.
148.
TUITE, John
149.
VAN HOUTEN, Gilliam
150.
VAN RENFFELAER, Cortlandt
151.
WALDRON, Samuel F.
152.
WALKER, Charles T.
153.
WALKER, James
154.
WALKER, William
155.
WALTON, Algerman
156.
WARD, John R.
157.
WHITFIELD, George
158.
WIEBECKE, Charles
159.
WILLIAMS, Daniel
160.
YARD, Benjamin H.
161.
ZABRISKIE, Abraham
Box 3
Original Newspaper Clipings:
a.
A-G
b.
H-Z
c.
History of First New Jersey Cavalry by Beaumont

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations