njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Civil War)
Series: Operations Reports and battle Accounts, 1862-1894
Accession #: 1968.002
Series #:  SDEA4003
Guide Date: 1/1992 (JK)
Volume: 0.25 c.f [1 box]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

This series contains both official reports of operations, as well as unofficial accounts of battles, including the following:

1) 
A list of battles of New Jersey regiments (folder 1).
2) 
Contemporary copies of reports from field officers describing movements, dispositions, and engagements of New Jersey troops.  Most of the reports are from brigade and regiment commanders, and are directed to the assistant adjutant generals of the U.S. Army.
3) 
Typescript copies of reports from the Battle of Gettysburg (folder 11) for regiments from various states.
4) 

Accounts of battles and army life published in the New Jersey Gazette, Camden, NJ, 1894.

The records are arranged chronologically by date of conflict or activity, with the exception of the New Jersey Gazette articles, which are filed at the end of the series as folders 24a-e.

NOTE:  These records were originally in Civil War binder #214.



Contents

1.
  List of battles of New Jersey regiments
1862
2.
  Williamsburg, VA, 5 May 1862:
  a. Gen. Joseph Hooker, commanding division, 3rd Army Corps, Williamsburg, VA, 10 May 1862
  b. Gen. F. E. Patterson, 3rd Brigade, 2nd Division, 3rd Army Corps, Camp before Williamsburg, VA, 7 & 14 May 1863 [2 items]
3.
  Fair Oaks, VA, 31 May - 1 June 1862:
  a. Gen. Joseph Hooker, commanding division, Camp near Fair Oaks, VA, 8 June 1862
  b. Col. S. H. Starr, 3rd Brigade, Hooker's Division, Camp near Seven Pines, 6 miles from Richmond, VA, 4 June 1862
4.
  Harsimus Landing, VA, 4 July 1862:
  -- Col. G. Mott, 6th Regiment, movements on the peninsula, 28 June - 3 July 1862
5.
  Manasses, VA, 27 August 1862:
  -- Col. H. W. Brown, 1st Brigade, Camp Seminary, VA, 5 September 1862 [2 copies]
6.
  Crampton's Pass, MD, 14 September 1862:
  a. Col. H. W. Brown, 3rd Regiment, Camp in Crampton's Pass, MD, 15 September 1862 [2 copies]
  b. Col. Alfred T. A. Torbert, 1st Brigade, Camp in Crampton's Pass near Berkheadsville, 16 September & 26 November 1862 [2 items]
7.
  Fredericksburg, VA, 13-15 December 1862 -- see also folder 24b:
  -- Col. Alfred T. A. Torbert, 1st Brigade, 1st Division, 16 December 1862
1863
8.
  Chancellorville, VA, 3 May 1863 -- see also folder 24a:
  a. Capt. J. S. Poland and Gen. Joseph B. Carr, 2nd Division, 3rd Army Corps, 13 May 1863
  b. Col. H. W. Brown, 1st Brigade, no date
  c. Col. N. J. Sewell, 3rd Brigade, 2nd Division, 3rd Army Corps, Camp near Falmouth, VA, 8 May 1863 [3 items]
9.
  Suffolk, VA, 3 May 1863:
  -- Col. Andrew Derron, 25th Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, Suffolk, VA, 4 May 1863
10.
  Fredericksburg and Salem Heights, VA, 3-4 May 1863:
  a. Gen. W. T. H. Brooks, 1st Division, 6th Army Corps, Near White Oak Church, VA, May 1863 [2 copies]
  b. Col. William H. Penrose, 1st Brigade, 1st Division, 6th Army Corps, 12 May 1863;
Lt.-Col. William Henry Jr., 1st Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, 12 May 1863;
Lt.-Col. Charles Wiebecke, 2nd Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, Camp near White Oak Church, VA, 10 May 1863;
Major James H. Stickney, 3rd Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, 9 May 1863;
Col. William H. Penrose, 1st Brigade, Camp near White Oak Church, VA, 11 May 1863;
Col. E. Burd Grubb, 23rd Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, 10 May 1863
  c. Col. H. W. Brown, 1st Brigade, Philadelphia, PA, May 1863
11.
  Gettysburg, PA, 2-3 July 1863 [all typescript copies, 12 May 1886] -- see also folder 24d:
  a. Lt.-Col. James M. Bull, 3rd Brigade, 3rd Division, 2nd Army Corps, Camp near Frederick, MD, 8 July 1863, and Camp near Sandy Hook, MD, 17 July 1863;
Col. C. D. McDougall, 111th Regiment, New York Volunteers, Camp near Elk Run, VA, 26 August 1863;
Capt. A. P. Seeley, 111th Regiment, New York Volunteers, 1863;
Lt. Harry L. Haskell, 125th Regiment, New York Volunteers, 1863
  b. Major Theo. G. Ellis, 14th Regiment, Connecticut Volunteers, Camp near Gettysburg, PA, 6 July 1863 [typescript copy]
  c. Lt.-Col. Franklin Sawyer, commanding brigade, 8th Regiment, Ohio Volunteers, On the Field near Gettysburg, PA, 5 July 1863 [typescript copy]
  d. Major George F. Hopper, commanding battalion, 10th Regiment, New York Volunteers, Near Sandy Hook, MD, 16 July 1863 [typescript copy]
  e. Col. Thomas A. Smyth, 2nd Brigade, 3rd Division, 2nd Army Corps, 17 July 1863 [typescript copy]
  f. Major John T. Dent, 1st Regiment, Delaware Volunteers, 1863 [typescript copy]
12.
  McLean's Ford, VA, 15 October 1863:
  -- Brig. Gen. G. Mott, 3rd Brigade, 2nd Division, 3rd Army Corps, 4 November 1863
13.
  Mine Run, VA, 29 November - 1 December 1863:
  -- Brig. Gen. G. Mott, 3rd Brigade, 2nd Division, 3rd Army Corps, 4 December 1863
1864
14.
  Wilderness, VA, 4-7 May 1864:
  a. Gen. G. Mott, 3rd Division, 2nd Army Corps, Record of Events During the Months of May and June 1864, no date
  b. Col. Robert McAllister, 3rd Brigade, 3rd Division, 2nd Army Corps, 11 August 1864
15.
  Deep Bottom, VA, 28 July 1864:
  a. Brevet Major Gen. G. Mott, 3rd Division, 2nd Army Corps, 8 October 1864
16.
  Spottsylvania Court House, VA, 10-13 May 1864:
  -- Col. Robert McAllister, 3rd Brigade, 3rd Division, 2nd Army Corps, 27 August 1864
17.
  North bank of the James River, VA, 12-19 August 1864:
  -- Brig. Gen. G. Mott, 3rd Division, 2nd Division, 2rd Army Corps, 1 September 1864
18.
  Fort Sedgwick, VA, 10 September 1864:
  -- Brig. Gen. G. Mott, 3rd Division, 2nd Army Corps, 12 Septmeber 1864
19.
  Poplar Springs Church, VA, 2 October 1864:
  -- Brevet Major Gen. G. Mott, 3rd Division, 2nd Army Corps, 8 October 1864
20.
  Boydton Plank Road, VA, 27 October 1864:
  -- Brevet Major Gen. G. Mott, 3rd Division, 2nd Army Corps, 3 November 1864
--
Hatcher's Run, VA, 27 October 1864 -- see folder 24c
21.
  Weldon Rail Road, VA, 6-12 December 1864:
  -- Brevet Major Gen. G. Mott, 3rd Division, 2nd Army Corps, 1864
1865
22.
  Hatcher's Run, VA, 5-8 February 1865:
  -- Brevet Major Gen. G. Mott, 3rd Division, 2nd Army Corps, 13 February 1865
23.
  Capture of Petersburg, VA, 2 April 1865:
  -- 1st Lt. James H. Demarest, 8th Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, Bordentown, NJ, 16 April 1865
24.
  New Jersey Gazette series, Camden, NJ, 1894:
  a. [No. 1?], "At Chancellorsville:  An Unsatisfactory Battle, in Which 17,000 Were Lost -- Where Gen. Sewell Won Distinction," by Gen. James F. Rusling, Trenton, NJ, 2 March 1894
  b. No. 3, "Fredericksburg to Libby Prison:  Life in a Southern Army Prison -- Burnt Rye Coffee, Black Beans and Corn Bread Rations -- The Exchange," by Rev. George B. Wright, published 16 June 1894
  c. No. 4, "A Sketch of Union Army Life:  Execution of the First Confederate Spy -- Captured by an Unarmed Man -- A Short-Winded Prisoner," by J. W. Morris, 1st Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, published 23 June 1894
  d. No. 6, "Incidents of Gory Gettysburg:  Charge on the Bliss Barn and Capture of Ninety Sharpshooters -- A Terrific Artillery Duel," by George R. Danenhower
  e. No. 12, "On Skirmish Duty at Hatcher's Run:  Cut Off From the Main Army Our Boys are Gathered in and Headed for Richmond and Libby," by Samuel E. Farrington, Company E, 12th Regment, New Jersey Volunteers

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations