njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Civil War)
Series: Records of Separation of Service, 1861-1866
Accession #: 1968.002
Series #:  SDEA4007
Guide Date: 5/1992 (JK)
Volume: 0.3 c.f. [1 box]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

This series contains records of separation of service of Civil War soldiers from New Jersey regiments by discharge, resignation, desertion, death, or dismissal. The documents are organized into three groups: special orders, reports of resignations and discharges of officers, and miscellaneous items. Most of the lists provide the soldier's name, unit, rank, and date of separation from service; desertion lists usually also indicate the place of desertion. The reports of officers' discharges/resignations are mostly in the form of pre-printed War Department notices to the governor of New Jersey.

NOTE: These records were originally in Civil War binder #213.



Contents

Special orders
1.
 
Dismissals and discharges of officers from the United States service by E. D. Townsend, Assistant Adjutant General, War Department, Washington, DC, October-November 1862 [4 items].
2.
 
Dismissals and discharges/resignations of officers from the United States service by L. Thomas, Adjutant General, and E. D. Townsend, Assistant Adjutant General, War Department, Washington, DC, January-September 1863 [11 items].
3.
 
Discharges of officers from the United States service, March-November 1864 [6 items].
4.
 
Special Order No. 50 discharging Capt. John Edelstein, Company A, 40th Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, Headquarters, 6th Corps, 28 February 1865.
5.
 
Leaves of absence for paroled New Jersey prisoners of war, March-April 1865 [5 items].
 
Reports of resignations and discharges of officers, New Jersey Volunteers, Adjutant General's Office, Washington, DC:
6.
 
September-December 1861 [6 items].
7.
 
January-March 1862 [6 items].
8.
 
May-July 1862 [6 items].
9.
 
August 1862 [7 items].

10.

 
September 1862 [5 items].
11.
 
October 1862 [7 items].
12.
 
November 1862 [4 items].
13.
 
December 1862 [5 items].
14.
 
January 1863 [4 items].
15.
 
February 1863 [4 items].
16.
 
March 1863 [4 items].
17.
 
April-May 1863 [6 items].
18.
 
June 1863 [6 items].
19.
 
July-August 1863 [5 items].
20.
 
September-November 1863 [5 items].
21.
 
December 1863 [5 items].
22.
 
January-February 1864 [5 items].
23.
 
March-April 1864 [6 items].
24.
 
May-June 1864 [5 items].
25.
 
July-August 1864 [6 items].
26.
 
September-November 1864 [6 items].
27.
 
January-February 1865 [5 items].
28.
 
March 1865 [4 items].
29.
 
May 1865 [4 items].
30.
 
June 1865 [4 items].
31.
 
July 1865 [3 items].
32.
 
3 January 1866.
 
Miscellaneous items:
33.
 
List of discharges, desertions, and deaths at: Portsmouth Grove, RI; Soldiers' Home, NY; Fort Schuyler, NY; Bedloes Island [Fort Wood], NY; Davids Island, NY; and Newark, NJ, 1862-1863 [2 items].
34.
 
List of men who died or were discharged at Newport News, VA, and Mill Creek, VA, Hospitals, May-October 1862.
35.
 
List of men discharged by Major L. Jones, U.S.A., at Trenton, NJ, from various regiments of New Jersey Volunteers, July-December 1862.
36.
 
Memorandum, George W. Taylor to Brig. Gen., 1st Brigade, New Jersey Volunteers, Camp near Harrison's Landing, 29 July 1862.
37.
 
List of deserters returned to regiments, August-October 1862.
38.
 
Report of discharges from Newark Hospital, 20 November 1862.
39.
 
Record of dismissals of officers, 1863-1865.
40.
 
List of discharges from Philadelphia, PA, hospitals on certificate of disability from 1 December 1862 to 1 January 1863, 14 January 1863.
41.
 
List of New Jersey Volunteers discharged from the United States service by order of Brig. Gen. Montgomery, commanding in Philadelphia, during January 1863, 23 February 1863.
42.
 
List of deserters to regiments since 24 November 1862 [covers October 1862 to March 1863], 14 March 1863.
43.
 
Letter, Stacy A. Paxton to E. J. Anderson re: list of deaths and discharges from the Medical Director's office, and Louis Piesno of Company B, 14th Regiment, Washington, DC, 26 March 1863.
44.
 
List of discharged men obtained from the office of the Military Governor, Frederick, MD, 27 March 1863.
45.
 
Dicharges from Newark Hospital, April-July 1863.
46.
 
List of New Jersey Volunteers discharged from United States service in Philadelphia, PA, on certificate of disability for the months of June and July 1863, 5 August 1863; and cover letter for similar report, mentioning death of Peter Garrigan [Stryker gives his name as Garridan], 28 April 1863 [2 items].
47.
 
Letter, Thomas M. Vincent, Assistant Adjutant General, to the Governor of New Jersey re: application for dismissal of Capt. Joseph W. Johnston, late of the 31st Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, War Department, Washington, DC, 13 August 1863.
48.
 
List of recruits discharged from draft rendezvous for disability from disease, before enlisting and from [non-age], December 1863 - March 1864.
49.
 
List of recruits who deserted en-route to regiments from 1 December 1863 to 3 April 1864, 18 April 1864.
50.
 
List of deserters from the recruits, drafted men, and substitutes stationed at Camp Perrine, and en-route to the army, for the month of June 1864; list of deserters, December 1864 - January 1865 [2 items].
51.
 
List of deserters from recruits, drafted men, and substitutes stationed at Camp Perrine, Trenton, NJ, and en-route to the army, during the month of July 1864; deserters during March-April 1865 [2 items].
52.
 
List of deserters and drafted men from Camp Perrine, and en-route to the army, during the month of October 1864.

53.

 
List of deserters, October-November 1864.
54.
 
List of deserters, December 1864.
55.
 
Lists of deserters, January-February 1865 [3 items].
56.
 
Correspondence, R. F. Stockton, Adjutant General of New Jersey, and Thomas M. Vincent, Assistant Adjutant General, U.S.A., re: reports of separation of service, February-March 1865 [2 items].
57.
 
List of deserters during the month of March 1865; list of deserters at draft rendezvous, and en-route to the army, during November 1864 [2 items].
58.
 
Muster-out roll of deserters surrended under President's Proclamation, 3 May 1865.
59.
 
List of discharges at Camp Parole, MD, from June 1864 to May 1865, 16 May 1865.
60.
 
Discharge certificate of Michael Murphy, Musician, Company B, First Battalion, New Jersey Volunteers, Halls Hill, VA, 22 June 1865.
61.
 
Discharge certificate of Frederick Klinker, Private, Company E, 4th Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, Halls Hill, VA, 9 July 1865.

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations