njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Civil War)
Series: Discharges of Non-New Jersey Soldiers, ca. 1861-1894
Accession #: 1968.002
Series #:  SDEA4008
Guide Date: 1/1992 (JK)
Volume: 0.5 c.f [1 box]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

This series consists of:  1) a small number of discharge certificates and related papers; and 2) file markers used by the Adjutant General's Office when forwarding discharge papers of non-New Jersey troops to their respective states' adjutant generals, and related correspondence.  The discharge certificates (folders 1-6) are organized by the branch of service; the file markers (folders 7-20) are organized alphabetically by state, and thereunder by surname.  These records were originally in Civil War binders #217-218.



Contents

Discharges Papers

1.
  Cavalry
  a. HAZLETON, Robert
  b. PENDERGRAST, John
2.
  Infantry
  a. COCKEFAIR, Joseph B.
  b. ROCK, Peter
  c. TREAYNER, John
3.
  Signal Corps
  BLOODGOOD, John J.
4.
  63rd Pensylvania Infantry
  COLLIER, Anthony and HEISLEY, Abraham
5.
  2nd District of Columbia Infantry
  a. COOK, Henry
  b. KANE, Philip
  c. KEARNEY, Augustus M.
  d. RYERSON, John T.
6.
  Veteran Reserve Corps
  a. EMMONS, William M.
  b. SEAGRIS, Jacob
  c. WAIN, John W.
  d. WEBB, William

File Markers (labeled "Discharge and Sundry Papers")

7.
  Arkansas
    BLOCK, Lewis
8.
  Connecticut
  FUCHS, Henry
  KIMMONS, John
  MALLOY, Bernard
  MURPHY, Patrick
  ROGERS, George D.
  STALEE, William H.
  STAPLES, Augustus
9.
  Delaware
  FINLEY, John
  MEYER, John
  WOODS, Peter
10.
  District of Columbia
  COOK, Alfred B.
  TAYLOR, Nicholas B.
  VREELAND, Clarence
11.
  Illinois
  DENMAN, Theodore F.
  HAIGHT, John H.
  SCOTT, William
12.
  Indiana
  CALLAHAN, John
13.   Iowa
  MARTIN, John W.
14.
  Massachusetts
  BALDWIN, William
  COOPER, James H.
  HOBBS, Augustus R.
  McCRACKEN, James T.
  MORDO, John A.
  SHATTUCK, Francis
  SULLIVAN, Eugene
15.
  Missouri
  POTTS, Edward
  New York
  AHERN, Willam
  ANDERSON, Peter F.
  AMBROSE, Joseph
  ANNABLE, Thomas
  BAKER, Charles
  BAYLEY, William L.
  BELL, Charles
  BENNETT, Charles J.
  BENZ, John
  BIVINS, Martin
  BOESCH, Edward (no marker; see correspondence at beginning of folder)
  BOLLES, John
  BOLTZ, Zacharias
  BRADLEY, Augustus
  BRADY, James J.
  BRAY, Stephen
  BRETON, John
  BRILL, John N.
  BROWN, Francis
  BROWN, William H.
  BUNCE, Harvey
  BURLEW, George P.
  CASEY, Joseph
  CANTON, Thomas
  COOK, Erasmus
  CHARLES, Arthur
  CLEVELAND, William
  CORELL, Daniel
  CORKEY, Newton
  CREECH, John
  CROWLEY, John
  CULLEN, Joseph
  CUNNINGHAM, Barney
  DeCOUDRES, Louis
  DENNING, Charles G.
  DENNISSON, John
  DEVLIN, Aloycious
  DILLON, James
  DILTS, Zephaniah C.
  DODGE, Lewis T.
  DOLAN, John
  DOLAN, Thomas
  DONNELLY, Peter
  DOUGHERTY, Francis
  DOUGHERTY, George
  DOUGHERTY, Michael
  DOWLING, John
  DOYLE, John
  DRESSEL, Leonhardt
  FARRINGTON, Patrick
  FELT, John J.
  FIELD, Thomas
  FINLEY, Dennis
  FINNERTY, Patrick
  FOELKE, August
  FOLEY, John
  FOSTER, John E.
  GARRABRANT, Aaron M.
  GEDDES, John
  GERDING, Frederic F.
  GLOVER, Charles E.M.
  GIFFORD, Samuel E.
  GIFFORD, William
  GOETZ, Wenzel
  GRASSMANN, William
  GREELY, James
  HAMILTON, James (no marker: see correspondence at beginning of folder 16a)
  HAYES, George
  HEDDENBERG, Elihu P.
  HENRY, John
  HOLFORD, Joseph
  HOLST, Henry
  HOUSE, Jacob
  JEFFRAY, William
  JOHNSON, William
  KEENAN, Peter
  KENNEDY, Patrick
  KENNEY, Patrick
  KESSLER, John
  KIESELE, Jacob
  KING, Nathaniel
 

KIRCHER, Edward

  KLAEN, Karl
  KOELSCH, William
  KRAUSS, John
  LAGER, Augustus
  LAW, William
  LIEBE, Hugo
  LOSEY, Edward A.
  LUTZ, Julius
  LYNCH, Joseph
  MATHEWS, Joseph
  MAYERS, Henry
  McCANN, Patrick
  McDONALD, Thomas
  McKERWIN, Peter
  McLEOD, Donald
  McMANN, Hugh
  MEEKER, Cornelius S.
  MENTZ, Charles
  MILLER, Jacob
  MILLER, William
  MOAKLER, Edward S.
  MOONEY, Thomas
  MORAN, Michael
  MULLEN, John
 

MUNSLOW, Isaac

  MURRAY, Francis
  MURRAY, Patrick
  MURTHA, John
  MUSTER, Benedict
  NAGLES, John
  NORTON, James
  NUNGESSER, Theodore J.
  O'BRIEN, Richard
  O'BRIEN, William
  O'FARRELL, Patrick
  OWENS, Peter
  PEARSALL, Alanson
  PERPENTO, Edward
  PERRY, John H.
  PFISTER, Jacob
  PHELAN, William J.
  QUINN, Joseph
  RANKIN, Edward
  RANKIN, James
  REGAN, Jeremiah
  REGNER, Lewis
  RICHFORD, John
  RIESSNER, Christoph
  RUBBERT, Francis F.
  RUXTON, Henry
  SATTLER, Alexander
  SCHMIDT, Frederick
  SCHNEBELY, Henry
  SCHULER, Lorenz
  SHUMWAY, John
  SCOFIELD, Frederick T.
  SIEGER, Mathias
  SHERIDAN, John
  STEIMBEUNER, George
  STEWART, William
  STRYKER, Stephen W. (widow Annie E. STRYKER)
  TAYLOR, Andrew E.
  TELLER, Lawrence
  TURNER, Daniel
  VAN BUREN, Henry M.
  VANDENBURGH, Smith E.
  VARLEY, Robert
  VREELAND, John
  WANKMULLER, Joseph
  WILKINS, Thomas
  WILSON, Joseph
  WILSON, Thomas
  WISE, John
  WRIGHT, James
  YOUNG, John
17.
  Ohio
  ALGER, Sylvester J.
  HESS, Philip
  HOLLEY, Edward
18.
  Pennsylvania
  BECK, Jacob
  COOK, Charles B.
  FAGAN, Peter
  GILLESPIE, Samuel S.
  HATTERSLEY, Joseph
  HERMAN, George
 

JOHNSON, Richard

  KAPPES, Andrew
  MEYER, Charles
  MURRAY, James A.
  SIAS, Horace
 

SNOWDEN, James

  WHITE, James
19.
  Rhode Island
  LAWRENCE, Orin S.
20.
  Wisconsin
  McDERMOTT, Daniel

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations