njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Civil War)
Series: Burial and Death Lists, 1861-1879
Accession #: 1968.002
Series #:  SDEA4009
Guide Date: 2/1992 (JK)
Volume: 1.0 c.f [1 box]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

These records were originally in Civil War binders #221-222. The series contains lists of Civil War soldiers from New Jersey buried at various local and national cemeteries. They are organized alphabetically by state, and thereunder by location or name of cemetery. Lists which include burials in more than one state have been filed under the first state (alphabetically), with cross references added in the folder list below for each additional cemetery.

In the following cases, Stryker's Record of Officers and Men... reports different burial locations than those indicated in these records:


Location specified in records Stryker's location
Point Lookout, MD Arlington, VA
Portsmouth Grove, RI Cypress Hill, NY
Belle Isle, VA Richmond, VA  
Meade Station, VA City Point, VA
Petersburg, VA Poplar Grove and Richmond, VA

Several miscellaneous lists round the collection: national cemeteries burial statistics (folder 38); burials at sea (folder 39); death/burial lists for Colored troops (folder 40); deaths of New Jersey soldiers in various prisons (folder 41); and a corrected draft of the burials section of William S. Stryker's Record of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Civil War (folder 42).


Contents

Alabama
1. Cahawba, AL -- see also folder 2
  Jacksonville, FL
  Chicago, IL
  Mount Olivet Cemetery, Frederick City, MD
  Point Lookout, MD
  Old Cemetery, Newbern, NC
  Fort Hamilton, New York Harbor, NY
  York, PA
  Portsmouth Grove, RI
2. Cahawba, AL
  Jacksonville, FL
  Andersonville, GA
  Atlanta, GA
  Savannah, GA
  Meridian, MS
  Salisbury, NC
  Charleston, SC
  Florence, SC
  Belle Isle, VA
  Danville, VA
  Lynchburg, VA
  Petersburg, VA
  Richmond, VA
  At Prison - Unknown
Delaware
3. Brandywine Cemetery, Wilmington, DE
District of Columbia
4. Harmony Burial Ground, Washington, DC
5. Military Asylum Cemetery, Washington, DC
Florida
-- Jacksonville, FL -- see folders 1, 2
Georgia
6. National Cemetery, Andersonville, GA -- see also folder 2
-- Atlanta, GA -- see folder 2
7. National Cemetery, Marietta, GA
-- Savannah, GA -- see folder 2
Illinois
-- Chicago, IL -- see folder 1
Indiana
8. Indianapolis, IN
  National Cemetery, Jefferson, IN
  Madison, IN
  National Cemetery, New Albany, IN
Kentucky
9. National Cemetery, Camp Nelson, KY
  National Cemetery, Cave Hill, KY
  Mill Springs National Cemetery, Logan Cross Roads, KY
Louisiana
10. Monument National Cemetery, Chalmette, LA
  New Orleans, LA
Maryland
11. National Cemetery, Annapolis, MD
  Loudon Park National Cemetery, Baltimore, MD
  Mount Olivet Cem., Frederick City, MD -- see also folder 1
  Point Lookout, MD -- see also folder 1
12. Antietam National Cemetery, Sharpsburg, MD
Mississippi
13. National Cemetery, Corinth, MS
  National Cemetery, Natchez, MS
  Jefferson Barracks, St. Louis, MS
  National Cemetery, Vicksburg, MS
-- Meridian, MS -- see folder 2
New Jersey
14. Various New Jersey and New York cemeteries, including:
  Cypress Hill Cemetery, Long Island, NY
15. Beverly, NJ
  Bridgeton, NJ
16. Fairmount Cemetery, Newark, NJ
17. Salem County, NJ
18. Camp Perrine, Trenton, NJ
  First Baptist Cemetery, Trenton, NJ
  Mercer Cemetery, Trenton, NJ
  Riverview Cemetery, Trenton, NJ
  [Second Presbyterian Cemetery?], Trenton, NJ
  Union Street Methodist Cemetery, Trenton, NJ
New York
-- Various New York cemeteries -- see folder 14
19. Cypress Hill Cemetery, Long Island, NY -- see also folder 14
  Fort Hamilton, New York Harbor, NY -- see also folder 1
North Carolina
20. Greensboro, NC
  Morehead City, NC
  Newbern, NC -- see also folder 1
  Raleigh, NC
  National Cemetery, Salisbury, NC -- see also folder 2
Ohio
21. Spring Grove Cemetery, Cincinnati, OH
Pennsylvania
22. Near Bristol, PA
  Chester, PA
23. National Cemetery, Gettysburg, PA
24. Philadelphia, PA, including:
  Colored troops at Lebanon Cemetery
  Glenwood Cemetery
  Mount Moriah Cemetery
  Odd Fellows Cemetery
  Woodland Cemetery
-- York, PA -- see folder 1
Rhode Island
25. Portsmouth Grove, RI -- see also folder 1
South Carolina
26. National Cemetery, Beaufort, SC
-- Charleston, SC -- see folder 2
-- Florence, SC -- see folder 2
Tennessee
27. National Cemetery, Chattanooga, TN
  Mississippi River National Cemetery, Memphis, TN
  National Cemetery, Nashville, TN
  Shiloh National Cemetery, Pittsburg Landing, TN
  National Cemetery, Stone's River, TN
Virginia
28. National Cemetery, Alexandria, VA
29. National Cemetery, Arlington, VA (including a list of Colored troops)
30. Belle Isle, VA -- see also folders 2, 31
  City Point, VA
  National Cemetery, Cold Harbor, VA
  National Cemetery, Culpepper Court House, VA
31. Danville, VA -- see also folder 2
  Belle Isle, VA
  Petersburg, VA
32. National Cemetery, Fredericksburg, VA
33. National Cemetery, Hampton, VA
34. Lynchburg, VA -- see also folder 2
  Near Meade Station, VA
35. Petersburg, VA -- see also folders 2, 31
36. National Cemetery, Richmond, VA -- see also folder 2
  Winder Building, Richmond, VA
37. National Cemetery, Staunton, VA
  Wilderness and Spottsylvania Battlefield, VA
  National Cemetery, Winchester, VA
Miscellaneous Lists
38.
National Cemeteries burial statistics, and statistics for the Military District of Tennessee [including Georgia, Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, and Indiana cemeteries]
39. Burials at Sea
40. Colored troops -- see also folders 24, 29
41. Deaths in various prisons -- see also folder 2
42.
Draft of burials section from Stryker's Record of Officers and Men..., corrected and revised by Capt. A. F. Rockwell, U.S. Army, Washington, DC, in charge of national cemeteries, 9 July 1879; two letters from Rockwell to Stryker regarding the same, 26 December 1877 and 9 July 1879

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations