njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Civil War)
Series: United States Navy-Service/Recruit Files, ca. 1861-1866
Accession #: 1968.002
Series #:  SDEA4011
Guide Date: 1/1994 (JK)
Volume: 4.5 c.f. [9 boxes]


Institutional History | Box List

Content Note

Described below are some of the document types found in this series. Researchers should note that the vast majority of service/recruit files contain only one or two items. These records were originally filed in Civil War binders #229-245.

 
Certificates of Recruiting Officer. These record: the sailor's name, rank, and term of service; the municipality or congressional district credited; the date and place of rendezvous; and the name of the mustering officer.
 
Statements of Naval Recruits [muster certificates]. These record: the sailor's name, date of recruitment, city of residence, age, occupation, birthplace, and signature or mark; and the names of the examining surgeon and mustering officer.
 
Receiving Ship Recruit Receipts. These record: the ship name and receipt date; the sailor's name and enlistment date; and the commanding officer's name.
 
U.S. Naval Rendezvous Certificates. These record: the place and date of rendezvous; the sailor's name, rank, and term of service; the date shipped [certain versions only]; the municipality credited; and the signature of the commanding or recruiting officer. [NOTE: May also include notations containing spouse or discharge information].
 
Naval Rendezvous Records. These record: the rendezvous date; the sailor's name, term of service, rank, residence, birthplace, age, and occupation; the municipality or congressional district credited; and the names of the examining surgeon and mustering officer.
 
Sailor Depositions [Brooklyn]. These record: the sailor's age and signature or mark (he attests that he is sober and not bound in service to anyone).
 
Descriptive Lists [rare]. These record: the date; the sailor's name, enlistment/shipping date and place, term of service, rank, birthplace, age, occupation, eye color, hair color, complexion, height, scars/marks, years in service [certain versions only], and pay rate when last discharged [certain versions only]; the municipality/congressional district credited; the name of the current ship and the ship from which the sailor was transferred [certain versions only]; and the name of the reporting officer.
 
U.S. Receiving Ship Agent Pay Receipts [at time of enlistment]. These record: the name of the vessel; the date; the name of the pay agent; the amount of pay; and the signatures of the sailor and a witness.
 
Ship Attachment/Service Certificates. These record: the sailor's name; the ship name; the date; and the name of the commander or reporting officer.
 
Service- or pension-related correspondence, affidavits, notes (usually post-war). These are often letters from family members seeking proof of naval service, or notes made by the Adjutant General's Office.


Box List

click on the box number or contents to view the list of soldiers

Box Contents
1 Ackley - Cassidy
2 Chandler - Dyre
3 Ebecke - Hansen
4 Hardie - Knight
5 Lacey - McQuaid
6 Mead - Owens
7 Page - Scott
8 Seary - Voorhees
9 Wade - Zeiss

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations