njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Civil War)
Series: United States Navy - Marine Corps Service Records, ca. 1861-1865
Accession #: 1968.002
Series #:  SDEA4013
Guide Date: 10/1991 (JK)
Volume: 1.5 c.f. [3 boxes]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

This series consists of enlistment papers and correspondence arranged alphabetically by soldier's name. Each file contains at least one of the following types of documents:

 
Marine Corps Recruiting Service reports, recording: date of enlistment; recruit's name; eye and hair color; complexion; height; and the state, county, township, and congressional district credited. [NOTE: Many of these are signed by the recruit on the reverse.]
 
Marine Rendezvous certificates, recording: recruit's full name, date of enlistment, and congressional district and county credited.
  Correspondence (re: pension claims, meritorious service, etc.).
 
Size Rolls [very rare], recording: soldier's name; rank; birthplace; enlistment date, place, and term; age; height; eye and hair color; complexion; occupation; and remarks.

The list of service files was compared to the Navy and Marine Enlistment Lists series in this subgroup for variant name spellings; radical variations have been noted below. Researchers are advised to check the enlistment lists in addition to this series, because both include soldiers for whom no enlistment papers have been found.



Contents

Box 1 | Box 2 | Box 3


Box 1
ADAMS, Francis
ADAMS, James B.
ADAMS, John
ALBERT, Henry
ALLEN, Thomas B.
AMERY -- see EMERY
ANDERSON, Charles H.
ANDERSON, Robert
ARLSON, George W.
ASHWORTH, Edward
BADENT, John
BANNING, Charles
BARBER, Edward
BARBER, Joseph
BARCH, Oscar
BARKER, John
BARRETT, Edward Y.
BARRY, Rodger
BARTON, Clarence M.
BATT, Samuel
BAXTER, Richard J. or S. -- see Navy Enlistment List, p. 7
BEATON, James
BEAUMONT, Oliver
BELL, James D.
BERGER, George
BLACK, Hugh
BLAKE, Christopher (Pennsylvania)
BLANCH, Samuel
BOATE, George
BOREN, Charles L.
BOSORTH, David
BOWES, Denis S.
BOYLE, David
BRAMBLE, Hugh
BRANWOOD, Richard
BREEDLOVE, John W.
BRENEN/BRENNEN, John (Cumberland Co.)
BRENNAN, Edward
BRENNAN, John (Union Co.)
BROOKS, Richard
BROWN, Daniel (Atlantic Co.)
BROWN, Daniel (Morris Co.)
BROWN, George W.
BROWN, Moses
BROWN, Thomas (Hudson Co.)
BROWN, Thomas S. (Camden Co.)
BUCKLEY, William
BULLER, Lieutenant W.
BURGDORF, Henry
BURK, Thomas (Salem Co.)
BURKE, Thomas (Cape May Co.)
BURLAND, Edward
BURNS, James
BURNS, John
BURTON, Adolphus
CAMP, William
CAMPBELL, Peter
CAMPBELL, William
CAREY, Timothy
CANNON, James
CARBERRY, Charles
CARR, John
CAUSLAND/COUSLAND, James
CHAMBERLAIN, John
CLARK, Andrew J.
CLARK, Joseph H.
CLARK, Samuel
CLAY, William M.
CLAYTON, James
COLL, Daniel
COLLINS, Handy
CONNELLY, Joseph B.
CONNOLLY, Edward
CONNORS, Daniel
COSGROVE, Edward
COSNER, Horatio M.
COUSLAND -- see CAUSLAND
CRANDELL, Marcus H.
CRAWFORD, Thomas
CROFT, William
CROWELL, Henry
CROWLEY, James
DAILY, William
DALY, Francis
DANIELS, Edward
DAVIS, John
DAVIS, Joseph
DAVIS, Robert S.
DAY, George
DAY, James A.
DEACON, William
DE CARR, Edmund
DELLGARD, Jefferson L. B.
DEVON, James
DEVON, John R. (Hudson Co.)
DIVIN, John (Warren Co.)
DOAN, Michael
DONNELLEY, Patrick J.
DONNELLY, Arthur
DONNELLY, James J.
DONOVAN, John
DORAN, Michael
DORAN, Thomas
DOUGHERTY, Daniel
DOWNES, Joseph B.
DOYLE, James
DRESSER, Warwick C.
DUNN, Samuel
DUSSELL, John
DWYER, Michael
DYER, Aloysius
EARLEY, Samuel
EMERY, Leonard
EVANS, Harrison
EWING, James
FANNING, Patrick
FARMER, Charles H.
FARRELL, Michael
FAULKNER, William G./J. -- see Navy Enlistment List, p. 70
FELIX, Joseph
FERGUSON, Charles O.
FERRIS, Daniel A.
FINKEL, John
FITZ, John
FITZPATRICK, John
FORD, Patrick
FOUNTAIN, William S.
FOUST, Robert M.
FOX, William
FRANCIS, John
FRANSIS, James
FRAZER, John S.
FREE, John
FREED, Daniel H.
FRESH, Julius H.
FROST, Walter J.
 
Box 2
GALBRAITH, William
GARDINER, Charles E.
GARDINER, Peter
GIBBONS, John
GILBERT, John
GILES, Henry
GILMORE, James A.
GIVAN, William
GORDON, Harry
GORMAN, Patrick
GORRALL, William
GOULDEN, Joseph A.
GRATTIN, William
GRAY, Robert C.
GREEN, John
GROVES, John
GURLEY, James
HAMILTON, Joseph
HANCOCK, John
HANSEN, Mathias
HARDTMAN, William
HARRIS, George W.
HARRIS, John W.
HART, Thomas
HARVEY, Thomas
HASTINGS, William H.
HAVELAND, John
HAYES, Dennis
HAYES, James
HEAGAN, Arthur
HEEGLER, Godfrey
HICKEY, Michael
HOFFMAN, Peter
HOLDER, Theodore
HOPPER, Bernard W.
HOPPY, Lewis/Louis
HOUSTON, William
HUDSON, Francis
HULLINGS, John
HULLINGS, William
HUNT, Robert
HURLEY, John
HUTCHINSON, William
ISHAM, Thomas B. -- see Navy Enlistment List, p. 80 (as GHAM) and p. 100
JACKSON, James
JAISER, Charles
JENKINS, James
JOHNSON, Charles O.
JOHNSON, Dennis
JOHNSTON, Benjamin -- listed as JOHNSON on Navy Enlistment List, p. 101
JONES, Jesse
JONES, Patrick
JOSHLIN, William H.
KEATING, Richard
KELLER, Adolphus
KELLEY, Thomas
KELLY, John
KELLY, William
KENNEDY, John
KENNEDY, Moses
KENNEDY, William
KENNEY, John -- listed as KINNY on Navy Enlistment List, p. 110
KENNY, Kearn
KILPATRICK, Alexander
KING, William
KINNY -- see KENNEY
KLINEHANSE, George H. (Washington, DC)
LANTARD, Paul
LAWLESS, Richard
LEE, Charles D.
LINDSEY, John
LITTLE, James
LUSKEY, John R. -- listed as SUSKEY on Navy Enlistment List, p. 191
LYNCH, Simon
MAHONEY, John C.
MAISTON, Thomas
MALADY, Richard
MALLON, Thomas -- listed as MALDOW on Navy Enlistment List, p. 129
MALONE, James
MARGERUM, Charles D.
MARTIN, Augustus
MARTIN, Francis
MARTIN, Joseph
MAST, Ellis
MASTERS, John
McALEER, John
McANESPIC, Arthur
McCARTY, Michael
McCARTY, Thomas
McCLOY, John
McCLOY, William
McCLOSKEY, John
McCLOUD, Thomas
McCONNELL, Thomas (Burlington Co.)
McCONNELL, Thomas (Passaic Co.)
McCULLIN, David
McCULLOCH/McCULLOUGH, John
McDERMOTT, James
McDONALD, Charles
McDONALD, James
McGANN, Joseph
McGILL, William
McLAUGHLIN, Hugh
McLAUGHLIN, James
McILVAIN, John
McKENNA, James
McKERNAN, James C.
McMAETRIE -- see McMURTRIE
McMAHON, Jeremiah
McMAINES, Christopher
McMURTRIE, Rudolph -- listed as McMAETRIE on Navy Enlistment List, p. 125
McNAMARA, Peter
MEIER, Henry
MEYER, Theodore
MIER, Leopold
MITCHELL, Robert
MOISTON -- see MAISTON
MOLLOY, Dennis
[MONTAITH/MOWTAITH?], Robert
MORGAN, James
MORGAN, Thomas E.
MORRISY, John
MOWTAITH -- see MONTAITH
MULCHEY, Morris
MULLEN, Patrick
MULLIGAN, John
MURPHY, Patrick
MURRAY, Charles
MURRAY, Cornelius
MURRAY, Henry
MURRAY, Patrick
NANDAIN, Henry C.
NELSON, John P.
NEVILLE, John
NICKLAS, Richard
NORTON, Frank
O'DELL, Willis A.
O'DONNELL, Mathew
O'DONNELL, Thomas
O'DRISCOLL, Patrick
OLIVER, Thomas
 
Box 3
PAGE, William
PALMER, Joseph
PERKINS, Winfield S.
PETERSON, Hiram
PICARD, Edward
PIERCE, John
POOL, Robert
POWERS, Samuel M.
PRICE, George G.
PROBST, Charles
QUIGLEY, Thomas H.
QUINDLAN, James
QUINLAN, Maurice
RANDALL, William
RARY, Frank
REARDEN, Cornelius
REIFF, Jacob L.
RESS, Bernard
REES, Thomas
RICHARD, Charles
RILEY, James
ROBINSON, George T.
RODGERS, John
ROOP, Samuel H.
RULON, James S.
RUSLER, David W.
RUSSELL, John H.
RYAN, Joseph
RYAN, Patrick
SCHMIDT, Henry
SCOTT, Jonathan J.
SEED, John
SHAW, James
SHAWCROSS, Bradford
SHEEAHAN, John
SHELLY, John
SHINN, Joseph W.
SIMPSON, John
SISTER, Joseph
SMALL, John
SMITH, Charles (Hudson Co.)
SMITH, Charles H. (Union Co.)
SMITH, Frederick L.
SMITH, Henry
SMITH, Hugh (Burlington Co.)
SMITH, Hugh (Salem Co.)
SMITH, John
SMITH, Madison L.
SMITH, Peter
SMITH, Theodore W.
SMITH, William (Burlington Co.)
SMITH, William (Warren Co.)
SOMMERS, Henry
SPRECHER, Lewis
SPROESSER, Reinhold
STAFFORD, James Bayard
STAIB, Charles
STAUFFER, Mathias
STEELE, Moses
STEIN, Charles
STEVENSON, Avander -- listed as Alexander on Navy Enlistment List, p. 181
STILL, George W.
STINES, Thomas
STONE, Aaron
STRATTON, Franklin
STRATTON, Michael
STRING, William C.
STÜBER, William H.
SULLIVAN, James
SULLIVAN, Patrick H.
SUMMERS, Joseph
SUSKEY -- see LUSKEY
SYKES, Thomas
SYTES, Thomas
TAYLOR, Charles
TAYLOR, Lewis
TAYLOR, Robert
THOMPSON, George
THOMPSON, James (Union Twp., Camden Co.)
THOMPSON, James (Monroe Twp., Camden Co.)
THUDIUM, John
TOUHSAENT, John
TURNER, William John
VERREY, Charles
VICKERY, John
VOELKER, George
WALDSCHMITT, Philip
WALLACE, Robert
WALTER, Samuel
WALTON, Francis H.
WARD, George
WARD, James
WARD, John
WARNER, Maurice D.
WEDER, August
WENTZ, George P.
WHELAN, William H.
WHITE, Clayton P.
WHYTE, James
WILCOX, James
WILKINS, Joshua B.
WILKINS, Richard
WILLIAMS, Charles H.
WILLIAMS, Henry H.
WILLIAMS, John
WILLIAMS, William J.
WILSON, Edward
WILSON, George W.
WILSON, Henry
WILSON, James (Hudson Co.)
WILSON, James (Monmouth Co.)
WILSON, John
WILSON, William H.
WOODLAND, William
WRIGHT, Richard W.
ZOLLER, Michael

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations