njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Civil War)
Series: United States Navy - Volunteer/Enlistment Certificates, 1864-1865
Accession #: 1968.002
Series #:  SDEA4014
Guide Date: 7/1992 (JK)
Volume: 0.75 c.f. [2 boxes]; 4 reels [35-mm]


Institutional History | Box List | Name Index | Reel List

Content Note

This series contains Civil War enlistment certificates for New Jersey volunteers in the United States Navy for the years 1864 and 1865. While the certificates are found in various formats, they all record at least the following information: name of sailor, age, height, enlistment date, and municipality/ county/congressional district credited. The most common format also records eye color, hair color, and complexion. Consult the Name Index in addition to the Box List below.



Box List

Box 1 (Atlantic Co. - Monmouth Co.)
1. Hamilton Twp., Atlantic Co. [1 item]
2. Weymouth Twp., Atlantic Co. [1 item]
3. [no locality], Bergen Co. [1 item]
4. Franklin Twp., Bergen Co. [1 item]
5. Lodi Twp., Bergen Co. [2 items]
6. Beverly Twp., Burlington Co. [26 items]
7. Bordentown Twp., Burlington Co. [2 items]
8. Burlington Twp., Burlington Co. [10 items]
9. Chester Twp., Burlington Co. [11 items]
10. Chesterfield Twp., Burlington Co. [13 items]
11. Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. [5 items]
12. Evesham Twp., Burlington Co. [23 items]
13. Lumberton Twp., Burlington Co. [18 items]
14. Mansfield Twp., Burlington Co. [10 items]
15. Medford Twp., Burlington Co. [12 items]
16. New Hanover Twp., Burlington Co. [37 items]
17. Northampton Twp., Burlington Co. [11 items]
18. Pemberton Twp., Burlington Co. [26 items]
19. Springfield Twp., Burlington Co. [2 items]
20. Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. [6 items]
21. Willingborough Twp., Burlington Co. [4 items]
22. Camden City, Camden Co. [15 items]
23. Centre Twp., Camden Co. [4 items]
24. Delaware Twp., Camden Co. [3 items]
25. Gloucester Twp., Camden Co. [4 items]
26. Monroe Twp., Camden Co. [1 item]
27. Newton Twp., Camden Co. [6 items]
28. Stockton Twp., Camden Co. [2 items]
29. Union Twp., Camden Co. [21 items]
30. Washington Twp., Camden Co. [4 items]
31. Dennis Twp., Cape May Co. [3 items]
32. Lower Twp., Cape May Co. [1 item]
33. Middle Twp., Cape May Co. [1 item]
34. Upper Twp., Cape May Co. [2 items]
35. Cohansey Twp., Cumberland Co. [2 items]
36. Deerfield Twp., Cumberland Co. [5 items]
37. Downe Twp., Cumberland Co. [3 items]
38. Fairfield Twp., Cumberland Co. [1 item]
39. Millville Twp., Cumberland Co. [5 items]
40. Stow Creek Twp., Cumberland Co. [2 items]
41. Newark City, Essex Co. [1 item]
42. Orange City, Essex Co. [3 items]
43. Clayton Twp., Gloucester Co. [2 items]
44. Deptford Twp., Gloucester Co. [16 items]
45. Franklin Twp., Gloucester Co. [3 items]
46. Harrison Twp., Gloucester Co. [4 items]
47. Bergen Twp., Hudson Co. [4 items]
48. Jersey City, Hudson Co. [6 items]
49. Hamilton Twp., Mercer Co. [1 item]
50. Trenton City, Mercer Co. [7 items]
51. Manalapan Twp., Monmouth Co. [21 items]
52. Matawan Twp., Monmouth Co. [2 items]
53. Millstone Twp., Monmouth Co. [4 items]
54. Shrewsbury Twp., Monmouth Co. [18 items]
55. Upper Freehold Twp., Monmouth Co. [8 items]
Box 2 (Morris Co. - Warren Co.)
56. Chatham Twp., Morris Co. [4 items]
57. Plumstead Twp., Ocean Co. [6 items]
58. Paterson Twp., Passaic Co. [29 items]
59. Elsinboro Twp., Salem Co. [4 items]
60. Lower Alloways Creek Twp., Salem Co. [5 items]
61. Mannington Twp., Salem Co. [25 items]
62. Pilesgrove Twp., Salem Co. [4 items]
63. Pittsgrove Twp., Salem Co. [23 items]
64. Salem City, Salem Co. [10 items]
65. Upper Alloways Creek Twp., Salem Co. [1 item]
66. Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. [11 items]
67. Upper Pittsgrove Twp., Salem Co. [22 items]
68. Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co. [6 items]
69. Stillwater Twp., Sussex Co. [4 items]
70. Plainfield Twp., Union Co. [8 items]
71. Belvidere Twp., Warren Co. [1 item]
72. Frelinghuysen Twp., Warren Co. [1 item]
73. Greenwich Twp., Warren Co. [11 items]
74. Phillipsburg Bor., Warren Co. [2 items]

Name Index


Reel Listing - CIVIL WAR

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
D4-101

United States Navy-
Volunteer/Enlistment
Certificates: Atlantic -
Burlington

 
D4-102

United States Navy-
Volunteer/Enlistment
Certificates: Camden - Essex

 
D4-103

United States Navy-
Volunteer/Enlistment
Certificates: Gloucester -
Monmouth

 
D4-104

United States Navy-
Volunteer/Enlistment
Certificates: Morris - Warren

 

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations