njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Civil War)
Series: United States Colored Troops - Volunteer Certificates, 1864
Accession #: 1968.002
Series #:  SDEA4016
Guide Date: 1/1997 (JK)
Volume: 0.1 c.f [55 items]; 1 reel [35-mm]


Institutional History | Name Index | Reel List

Content Note

This series consists of fifty-one volunteer certificates recording the recruitment of New Jersey men into the United States Colored Troops during the months of May, June and July 1864. With a few exceptions, these soldiers were assigned to the 43rd and 45th Regiments. The certificates include the following information for each soldier: name, age, height, date, and congressional district/municipality credited. The reverse of each certificate includes the signatures of the volunteers, certifying that they received their bounty pay from the municipality credited. A number of certificates include names which were crossed out at the time of writing. With one exception (noted in the list below), these deleted names are not found in other records of service in the United States Colored Troops and it is assumed that the men were never actually enlisted.

NOTE: These records were originally numbered as pages 136-190 in the former Civil War binder No. 254.



Name Index

 A  |  B  |  C  |  D  |  E  |  F  |  G  |  H  |  I  |  J  |  K  |  L  |  M  |  N  |  O  |  P  | Q |  R  |  S  |  T  | U |  V  |  W  | X |  Y  | Z 

Name No. Residence Date
Addison, Mark 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Anderson, George 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Barnes, Jacob 140 Chatham Twp., Morris Co. 5/26/1864
Bell, Joseph 148 Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. 6/14/1864
Bensen, George H. 156 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/21/1864
Benson, Josiah 143 Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. 6/10/1864
Berks, Charles 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Berks, George W. 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Berks, James 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Berks, Tyler 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Billops, Hiram 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Black, James 153 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/21/1864
Blad, Presby 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Blane Charles E. 171 Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. 7/5/1864
Boggles, Isaac 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Bones, Robert 137 Springfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/7/1864
Boon, Squire 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Brown, Harris 150 Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. 6/28/1864
Brown, Isaac 157 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/22/1864
Brown, Jesse 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Brown, Rufus 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Brown, William 165 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/27/1864
Buck, John 190 Springfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/6/1864
Butler, James 164 Mannington Twp., Salem Co. 7/11/1864
Butler, Julius 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Butler, Thomas 163 Evesham Twp., Burlington Co. 6/15/1864
Caldwell, Washington 176 Jersey City, Hudson Co. 5/20/1864
Callender, George W. 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Cammomile, William H. 144 Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. 6/11/1864
Carter, Henry 181 Chatham Twp., Morris Co. 5/30/1864
Chaney, Morris N. 175 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 6/2/1864
Clark, James 158 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 5/24/1864
Clark, Mitchell 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Claytin, John M. 162 [entry crossed out] 6/23/1864
Clayton, James 139 Chesterfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/20/1864
Congo, Lacey 138 Chesterfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/21/1864
Conrod, Richard 174 Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. 6/29/1864
Cook, John 167 Evesham Twp., Burlington Co. 6/16/1864
Cook, Johnathan 183 Chesterfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/17/1864
Cooper, George 183 Chesterfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/17/1864
Cory, Phillip D. 136 Greenwich Twp., Warren Co. 5/6/1864
Davis, Charles 165 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/27/1864
Davis, Harris 166 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/25/1864
Davis, William 157 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/22/1864
Demott-see Dunott
Duff, Isaac 162 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/23/1864
Duncan, Alexander 141 Chatham Twp., Morris Co. 5/27/1864
Dunott/Demott, George 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Emory, James 142 Chatham Twp., Morris Co. 5/28/1864
Farmer, Augustus 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Francis, Thomas 182 Jersey City, Hudson Co. 5/19/1864
Freeman, Arthur 137 Springfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/7/1864
Galbrith, George 187 Westhampton Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Gibson, Thomas 147 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 6/3/1864
Gilbert, Pleasant 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Gould, Samuel 151 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 6/4/1864
Gray, Francis 147 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 6/3/1864
Grobes, Jonathan H. 178 Mannington Twp., Salem Co. 7/12/1864
Gustus, William 151 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 6/4/1864
Hall, George 171 Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. 7/5/1864
Harris, Henry P. 170 Elsinboro Twp., Salem Co. 7/7/1864
Harrison, Levi 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Harrison, William 183 Chesterfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/17/1864
Hern/Hurn, Robert 171 Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. 7/5/1864
Hersey, Franklin 147 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 6/3/1864
Hickman, Floyd 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Hickman, George W. 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Hickman, Louis 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Higgaman, Aaron 148 Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. 6/14/1864
Holliday, William 155 Jersey City, Hudson Co. 5/21/1864
Hopkins, Campbell 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Hornett, Martin 140 Chatham Twp., Morris Co. 5/26/1864
Hunt, Joshua 169 Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. 7/2/1864
Hurn-see Hern
Ingrahm, George 189 Jersey City, Hudson Co. 6/30/1864
Jackson, Alexander 162 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/23/1864
Jackson, Andrew 154 Jersey City, Hudson Co. 6/30/1864
Jackson, Henry 148 Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. 6/14/1864
Jackson, Samuel 185 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/24/1864
Jackson, William T. 146 Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. 6/9/1864
James, John 159 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 5/23/1864
Jefferson, John T. 141 Chatham Twp., Morris Co. 5/27/1864
Johnson, John W. 164 Mannington Twp., Salem Co. 7/11/1864
Johnson, Samuel 186 Elsinboro Twp., Salem Co. 7/6/1864
Johnson, William 142 Chatham Twp., Morris Co. 5/28/1864
Johnson, William 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Jones, Daniel 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Jones, David 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Jones, James 149 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 6/3/1864
Kearney, John 164 Mannington Twp., Salem Co. 7/11/1864
Kenner, William 160 Chesterfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/18/1864
King, Franklin 137 Springfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/7/1864
Laws, Alexander 167 Evesham Twp., Burlington Co. 6/16/1864
Leigh, Lundell 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Leigh, Wheatin 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Mackey, John 152 Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Mahone, Jno. H. 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Maltsen, Amos 177 Chatham Twp., Morris Co. 5/31/1864
Martin, Gabriel 160 Chesterfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/18/1864
Mitchell, Louis 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Muncy, Joseph 144 Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. 6/11/1864
Murray, John H. 180 Mannington Twp., Salem Co. 7/9/1864
Neal, William 137 Springfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/7/1864
Page, Stephen 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Pearson, Henry 146 Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. 6/9/1864
Poke, Henry 156 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/21/1864
Pritchet, Warner 182 Jersey City, Hudson Co. 5/19/1864
Randolph, John 138 Chesterfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/21/1864
Ransell/Rausell, Mortin 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Rice, William S. J. 137 Springfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/7/1864
Ricketts, Luke H. 185 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/24/1864
Ringgold, David 157 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/22/1864
Ringgold, John 173 Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. 7/5/1864
Robinson, Thornton 145 Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. 6/11/1864
Sebastipool, Lemon 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Schenck-see Skeank
Shannen/Shanum, Edward 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Skeank, Horace 168 Elsinboro Twp., Salem Co. 7/6/1864
Smith, Henry 184 Cinnaminson Twp., Burlington Co. 6/14/1864
Smith, Henry D. 173 Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. 7/5/1864
Smith, William 158 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 5/24/1864
Sordan, Benjamin R. 178 Mannington Twp., Salem Co. 7/12/1864
Sordan, Jesse 178 Mannington Twp., Salem Co. 7/12/1864
Sordan, John 178 Mannington Twp., Salem Co. 7/12/1864
Stewart, Jackson 164 Mannington Twp., Salem Co. 7/11/1864
Taylor, Timothy 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Thomas, Charles 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Thomas, Samuel 161 Jersey City, Hudson Co. 7/2/1864
Thompson, Dallis 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Thompson George 139 Chesterfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/20/1864
Turner, Amos 173 Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. 7/5/1864
Turner, James 155 Jersey City, Hudson Co. 5/21/1864
Turner, John 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Van Dyke, Thomas 151 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 6/4/1864
Washington, George 166 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/25/1864
Watson, James T. 139 Chesterfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/20/1864
Weeks, Nathaniel 159 Paterson City, Passaic Co. 5/23/1864
Wesley, James H. 156 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/21/1864
Whigglesworth, Henry 137 Springfield Twp., Burlington Co. 6/7/1864
White, Priestly 172 Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. 6/29/1864
Wilbank, James 172 Upper Penns Neck Twp., Salem Co. 6/29/1864
Wiley, George 179 Mannington Twp., Salem Co. 7/11/1864
Wilkins, William H. 176 Jersey City, Hudson Co. 5/20/1864
Williams, Abram 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Williams, Henry 185 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/24/1864
Williams, Isaac 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864
Williams, John 182 Jersey City, Hudson Co. 5/19/1864
Williams, Joseph 162 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/23/1864
Williams, Samuel 162 Salem City, Salem Co. 6/23/1864
Young, Jno. H. 188 Egg Harbor Twp., Burlington Co. 6/13/1864


Reel Listing - CIVIL WAR

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
D4-100

United States Colored Troops -
Volunteer Certificates, 1864

 

Created September 2003
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations