njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Spanish-American War)
Series: Muster-In Rolls (New Jersey National Guard), May - July 1898
Accession #: 1976.011
Series #:  SDEA5001
Guide Date:   3/1995 (JK)
Volume:  2 c.f. [4 boxes and 1 microfilm reel]


Contents | Reel List

Content Note

This series consists of muster-in rolls for the four New Jersey National Guard regiments formed between May and July of 1898 at the outbreak of the Spanish-American War. The rolls are arranged by regiment and thereunder by company. Each regiment begins with the field and staff (including quarter-masters, surgeons, and musician) listed by rank and then alphabetically. This is followed by the rolls of officers and men for each company within the regiment (also arranged by rank and then alphabetically).

The rolls were made using pre-printed forms which include preparation instructions. They record the following for each man: name, rank, age, physical description, place of birth, occupation, enrollment information (when, where, and by whom), period of enlistment, residence, miles traveled to rendezvous with regiment, signature (swearing to an oath of allegiance), marital status, name and address of parent or guardian (if soldier is single), and medical remarks by the examining surgeon. There is also a section on the form to list the value of horses and equipment issued to each man, but this column was used to note the muster-in date in the field and staff rolls and not at all in the company rolls. Finally, the end of each company's record includes the total number of men by rank, signatures of the commanding and mustering officers certifying the roll's accuracy, and the signature of the examining surgeon certifying the fitness of all who mustered-in.

After the rolls were completed, a copy was retained by the company, one was sent to the Adjutant General of the United States, and another sent to the Adjutant General of New Jersey. At some point, the New Jersey Adjutant General's copies were bound into a single volume. Prior to receipt of these records by the State Archives, however, they were disbound and microfilmed. For better protection, the loose pages have since been placed in folders.

There is no index to the muster-in rolls; however, by searching the Spanish-American War muster-out rolls, researchers can identify a soldier's regiment and company (see the guide to Archives' series Department of Defense/ Spanish-American War/ Muster-Out Rolls for instructions on using these records). Once the regiment and company is known, researchers can then use the microfilm copy of the muster-in rolls to search for the soldier in question. The original rolls will be pulled only in cases where the microfilm is illegible.



Contents - Microfilm

Set/Reel Page #s Description
66/213 1-363 1st Reg. - 4th Reg.

Original Rolls - Box 1

Page #s Regiment, Company Submitting Officer Date
1-7 1st Reg., Field & Staff Col. Edward A. Campbell 14 May 1898
8-14 1st Reg., Co. A Capt. Joseph H. McMahon 10 May 1898
15-21 1st Reg., Co. B Capt. George Handley 5 May 1898
22-28 1st Reg., Co. C Capt. Harry T. Spain 7 May 1898
29-35 1st Reg., Co. D Capt. Orrin C. Runyon 7 May 1898
36-42 1st Reg., Co. E Capt. James K. Walsh 11 May 1898
43-49 1st Reg., Co. F Capt. James D. Fraser 6 May 1898
50-56 1st Reg., Co. G Capt. George M. Buttle 10 May 1898
57-63 1st Reg., Co. H Capt. Frank E. Boyd 10 May 1898
64-70 1st Reg., Co. I Capt. Arthur Rowland 10 May 1898
71-77 1st Reg., Co. K Capt. Cornelius A. Reilly 10 May 1898
78-84 1st Reg., Co. L Capt. Theodore C. Reiser 11 May 1898
85-91 1st Reg., Co. M Capt. Edwin R. Westervelt 10 May 1898

Box 2

Page #s Regiment, Company Submitting Officer Date
92-98 2nd Reg., Field & Staff Col. Edwin W. Hine 18 May 1898
99-105 2nd Reg., Co. A Capt. J. Ernest Shaw 13 May 1898
106-112 2nd Reg., Co. B Capt. Edward A. Scanlan 13 May 1898
113-119 2nd Reg., Co. C Capt. James Parker 13 May 1898
120-126 2nd Reg., Co. D Capt. Hamilton M. Ross, Jr. 13 May 1898
127-133 2nd Reg., Co. E Capt. Henry R. Goesser 13 May 1898
134-140 2nd Reg., Co. F Capt. Frank DeRonde 13 May 1898
141-147 2nd Reg., Co. G Capt. George E. Wells 14 May 1898
148-154 2nd Reg., Co. H Capt. Isaac Shoenthal 14 May 1898
155-161 2nd Reg., Co. I Capt. Terence E. Murphy 14 May 1898
162-168 2nd Reg., Co. K Capt. Thomas H. Slack 14 May 1898
169-175 2nd Reg., Co. L Capt. Addison Ely, Sr. 14 May 1898
176-182 2nd Reg., Co. M Capt. Edward L. Petty 14 May 1898

Box 3

Page #s Regiment, Company Submitting Officer Date
183-189 3rd Reg., Field & Staff Col. Benjamin A. Lee 13 May 1898
190-196 3rd Reg., Co. A Capt. Jerome R. Muddell 11 May 1898
197-203 3rd Reg., Co. B Capt. Charles Morris 12 May 1898
204-210 3rd Reg., Co. C Capt. Frederick A. Bickel 11 May 1898
211-216 3rd Reg., Co. D Capt. Joseph Kay 12 May 1898
217-223 3rd Reg., Co. E Capt. Dennis H. Collins 12 May 1898
224-230 3rd Reg., Co. F Capt. Cyruss W. Squier 12 May 1898
231-237 3rd Reg., Co. G Capt. Herman O. Bauer 13 May 1898
238-244 3rd Reg., Co. H Capt. John E. Wehrly 12 May 1898
245-251 3rd Reg., Co. I Capt. Peter Vredenburgh 12 May 1898
252-258 3rd Reg., Co. K Capt. Joseph F. Cline 12 May 1898
259-265 3rd Reg., Co. L Capt. Lorenzo D. Dyer 12 May 1898
266-272 3rd Reg., Co. M Capt. John A. Mather, Jr. 11 May 1898

Box 4

Page #s Regiment, Company Submitting Officer Date
273-279 4th Reg., Field & Staff Col. Robert G. Smith 25 May 1898
280-286 4th Reg., Co. A Capt. Richard R. Whitehead 16 July 1898
287-293 4th Reg., Co. B Capt. Andrew Derron 14 July 1898
294-300 4th Reg., Co. C Capt. Charles H. Springfield 18 July 1898
301-307 4th Reg., Co. D Capt. Edward See 14 July 1898
308-314 4th Reg., Co. E Capt. Waldo E. Gibbs 13 July 1898
315-321 4th Reg., Co. F Capt. Lewis T. Bryant 14 July 1898
322-328 4th Reg., Co. G Capt. Bernard Rogers 17 July 1898
329-335 4th Reg., Co. H Capt. Edmund DuBois 16 July 1898
336-342 4th Reg., Co. I Capt. A. LaRue Christie 14 July 1898
343-349 4th Reg., Co. K Capt. Claude S. Fries 16 July 1898
350-356 4th Reg., Co. L Capt. Clayton J. Bailey 14 July 1898
357-363 4th Reg., Co. M Capt. George F. Seymour 15 July 1898


Reel Listing - SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
5 Muster-In Rolls, 1898
1st - 4th Regiments
New Jersey National Guard

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations