njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Spanish-American War)
Series: Muster-Out Rolls (New Jersey National Guard) May 1898 - April 1899
Accession #: 1976.011, 1995.064
Series #:  SDEA5002
Guide Date:   3/1995 (EC)
Volume:  3 c.f. [6 boxes and 4 microfilm reels]


Contents | Reel List

Content Note

This series consists of muster-out rolls covering the period May 1898 - April 1899 for the four New Jersey National Guard regiments formed at the outbreak of the Spanish-American War. The rolls are arranged by regiment and thereunder by company. Each regiment begins with the field and staff (including quarter-masters, surgeons, and musicians) listed by rank and then alphabetically. This is followed by the rolls of officers and men for each company within the regiment (also arranged by rank and then alphabetically).

The rolls were made using pre-printed forms which include preparation instructions. They record the following for each man: name; rank; enrollment data (when, where and by whom); enrollment period; muster data (when, where and by whom); pay information (by whom and up to what date); place of residence; place of discharge; days of subsistence and forage; valuation of horses and equipment; money due the United States and/or the soldier for clothing; money due the United States for arms, equipment and quartermaster's stores; and remarks, which could include commission date, leave of absence dates, promotions, disciplinary actions, and cause and date of death.

The form also includes a pay account section (not used consistently by all regiments) which allows for the recording of the following: date of payment; pay per month; amount of pay; cost for clothing, subsistence, forage, traveling, horses, and equipment; amount of pay due; amount of pay stoppages; balance paid; and the signature of the soldier and a witness verifying payment. Each roll ends with the total number of men by rank, signatures of the commanding and mustering officers certifying the roll's accuracy, and a "Record of Events" which includes a chronology of the company's activities.

After the rolls were completed, a copy was retained by the company commander, two copies were sent to the paymaster, one was sent to the Adjutant General of the United States, and another was sent to the Adjutant General of New Jersey. The New Jersey Adjutant General's copies were subsequentlly bound into volumes. Several years prior to receipt of these records by the State Archives, however, they were disbound and microfilmed. For preservation purposes, the loose pages are now stored in folders.

The Adjutant General's Office prepared a card-file index to the muster-out rolls, available in the Archives on microfilm only. This index provides the regiment and page number reference for each soldier. Researchers should note that there may be more than one entry for a soldier if he transferred from one company to another. Once the regiment and page number are known, use the microfilm copy of the muster-out rolls to locate the record.

NOTE: The original muster-out rolls for the first regiment were missing when these records were transferred to the Archives in 1976. The original rolls will be pulled only in cases where the microfilm is illegible.



Contents - Microfilm

Set/Reel Page #s Description
D5-01 -- Card Index
D5-02 1-378 1st Reg.: Field & Staff, Cos. A-M
2nd Reg.: Field & Staff, Cos. A-H
D5-03 264-397
1-389
1-253
2nd Reg.: Cos. I-M
3rd Reg.: Field & Staff, Cos. A-M
4th Reg.: Field & Staff, Cos. A-C
D5-04 253-794 4th Reg.: Cos. C-M


Contents - Original Rolls - Box 1

[NOTE: 1st Reg. rolls are missing]

Page #s Regiment, Company Submitting Officer Date
1-11 2nd Reg., Field & Staff Col. Edwin W. Hine 5/1898-11/1898
12-44 2nd Reg., Co. A Capt. J. Ernest Shaw 5/1898-11/1898
45-75 2nd Reg., Co. B Capt. Edward L. Scanlan 5/1898-11/1898
76-108 2nd Reg., Co. C Capt. James Parker 5/1898-11/1898
109-137 2nd Reg., Co. D Capt. Hamilton M. Ross, Jr. 5/1898-11/1898
138-176 2nd Reg., Co. E Capt. Henry R. Goesser 5/1898-11/1898
177-205 2nd Reg., Co. F Capt. Frank S. DeRounde 5/1898-11/1898

Box 2

Page #s Regiment, Company Submitting Officer Date
206-236 2nd Reg., Co. G Capt. George E. Wells 5/1898-11/1898
237-263 2nd Reg., Co. H Capt. Isacc A. Shoenthal 5/1898-11/1898
264-298 2nd Reg., Co. I Capt. Terence E. Murphy 5/1898-11/1898
299-331 2nd Reg., Co. K Capt. Thomas H. Slack 5/1898-11/1898
332-362 2nd Reg., Co. L Capt. Addison Ely, Sr. 5/1898-11/1898
363-397 2nd Reg., Co. M Capt. Edward L. Petty 5/1898-11/1898

Box 3

Page #s Regiment, Company Submitting Officer Date
1-16 3rd Reg., Field & Staff Col. Benjamin A. Lee 4/1898-2/1899
17-51 3rd Reg., Co. A Capt. Jerome R. Muddell 4/1898-2/1899
52-82 3rd Reg., Co. B Capt. William T. Cobbs 4/1898-2/1899
83-111 3rd Reg., Co. C Capt. Louis J. Park 4/1898-2/1899
112-146 3rd Reg., Co. D Capt. Joseph Kay 4/1898-2/1899
147-174 3rd Reg., Co. E Capt. Timothy F. McCarty 4/1898-2/1899
175-207 3rd Reg., Co. F Capt. Cyruss W. Squier 4/1898-2/1899

Box 4

Page #s Regiment, Company Submitting Officer Date
208-236 3rd Reg., Co. G Capt. Herman O. Bauer 4/1898-2/1899
237-269 3rd Reg., Co. H Capt. John E. Wehrly 4/1898-2/1899
270-294 3rd Reg., Co. I Capt. Peter Vrendenburgh 4/1898-2/1899
295-327 3rd Reg., Co. K Capt. Joseph F. Cline 4/1898-2/1899
328-358 3rd Reg., Co. L Capt. Lorenzo D. Dyer 4/1898-2/1899
359-389 3rd Reg., Co. M Capt. James E. Mather 4/1898-2/1899

Box 5

Page #s Regiment, Company Submitting Officer Date
1-23 4th Reg., Field & Staff Col. Qunicy O. M. Gillmore 7/1898-4/1899
24-100 4th Reg., Co. A Capt. Richard M. Whitehead 7/1898-4/1899
101-167 4th Reg., Co. B Capt. Andrew Derrow 7/1898-4/1899
168-290 4th Reg., Co. C Capt. Charles H. Springsted 7/1898-4/1899
291-331 4th Reg., Co. D Capt. Edward See 7/1899-4/1899
332-386 4th Reg., Co. E Capt. E. Harrison Randolph 7/1898-4/1899
387-422 4th Reg., Co. F Capt. Charles W. Schoonoven 7/1898-4/1899

Box 6

Page #s Regiment, Company Submitting Officer Date
423-483 4th Reg., Co. G Capt. Harry M. Day 7/1898-4/1899
484-550 4th Reg., Co. H Capt. Charles W. Barber 7/1898-4/1899
551-585 4th Reg., Co. I Capt. A. LaRue Christie 7/1898-4/1899
586-652 4th Reg., Co. K Capt. Claude S. Fries 7/1898-4/1899
653-737 4th Reg., Co. L Capt. Clayton J. Bailey 7/1898-4/1899
738-794 4th Reg., Co. M Capt. Alvin H. Graff 7/1898-4/1899

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations