njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Spanish-American War)
Series: Compiled Regimental Rosters, New Jersey National Guard, ca. 1898-1899
Accession #: 1968.002
Series #:  SDEA5003
Guide Date:   3/1995 (JK)
Volume:  6 volumes [3.0 c.f.]


Contents

Content Note

This series consist of the compiled service rosters for the four New Jersey National Guard regiments formed at the outbreak of the Spanish-American War. The volumes are arranged by regiment and thereunder by company. Each regiment begins with the field and staff (including quartermasters, surgeons, and musicians) listed by rank and then alphabetically. This is followed by the rolls of officers and men for each company within the regiment (also arranged by rank and then alphabetically).

The rosters record the following data for the field, staff, and officers: name; rank; age; date of commission; date mustered-in; period of enlistment; residence; marital status; former service in National Guard; and remarks, which could include dates of discharge, resignation, or transfer. Data recorded for enlisted men includes: name; rank; age; enlistment date and period; marital status; former service with National Guard; residence; dates of transfer, death, desertion, or discharge; date of promotion to corporal, sergeant, or first sergeant; and remarks (usually regiment and company transferred to).

There is no index to the regimental rosters; however, by searching the Spanish-American War muster-out rolls, researchers can identify a soldier's regiment and company (see the guide to Archives' series Department of Defense/ Spanish-American War/ Muster-Out Rolls for instructions on using these records). Then locate the company roster in the appropriate volume below.



Contents
Box Description
1 1st and 2nd Regiments
2 3rd and 4th Regiments
3 Draft Compilation:
1st and 2nd Regiments
4 Draft Compilation:
3rd and 4th Regiments

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations