njhome my new jersey people business government departments



Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Spanish-American War)
Series: Photographs of Officers of the New Jersey Volunteer Infantry, 1898-1904
Accession #: 1985.004
Series #:  SDEA5005
Guide Date:   5/1992 (JK)
Volume:  0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

These portrait photographs were collected in 1904 by Adjutant General Breintnall as part of a special project in honor of those who had served as officers during the War with Spain. The photographs are arranged in alphabetical order; most are labeled on the reverse. The date of receipt by the Adjutant General's Office has been noted below in brackets for photographs which were date-stamped on the reverse.


Contents
(click on image below for enlarged view)


No.
Caption
Image
1.
ADAMS, Major Charles F., Surgeon, Second Regiment, 1898 [photograph received 7 September 1904].
 
2.
ALLENS, Major Henry, Surgeon, First Regiment [photograph received 27 September 1904].
3.
BELL, First Lieutenant Edward, Second Regiment [photograph received 9 August 1904].
4.
BREINTNALL, Lt.-Colonel R. Heber, First Regiment, served 27 April 1898 until discharged on 4 November 1898.
5.
BRYANT, Major Lewis T., Fourth Regiment, Captain of Company F, 30 June 1898; made Major on 6 March 1899; discharged on 6 April 1899.
6.
CHAMBERS, Lt.-Colonel Thomas S., Major of the Fourth Regiment, 30 June 1898; made Lt.-Colonel on 4 March 1899; discharged 6 April 1899 [photograph received 9 August 1904].
7.
CHAMPLIN, Major Charles B., First Regiment [2 photographs].
 
8.
CHURCH, Captain George W., Quartermaster, First Regiment [photograph received 26 August 1904].


9.
CURRIE, Lt.-Colonel Daniel A., Second Regiment, 4 July 1898 [photograph received 16 August 1904].
10.
DeHART, Major William H., Third Regiment.
11.
DONNELLY, Richard A., Quartermaster General of New Jersey.
12.
DuBOIS, Major Edmund, Captain of Company H, Fourth Regiment, 1898; made Major on 28 February 1899.
13.
ENGEL, Major John, Second Regiment [photograph received 9 August 1904].
14.
FULD, Major Edwin, Surgeon, Fourth Regiment, 1898 [photograph received 9 August 1904].
15.
GILKYSON, First Lieutenant Frederick, Battalion Adjutant, Fourth Regiment, 30 June 1898; discharged on 6 April 1899 [photograph taken 2 March 1896].
16.
GLAZEBROOK, Chaplain Otis A., Third Regiment; resigned 8 December 1898 [photograph received 27 September 1904].
17.
GRAFF, Captain Alvin H., Adjutant, First Regiment [photograph taken December 1903; received 15 August 1904].
18.
HARE, Captain J. Madison, Chaplain, First Regiment [2 photographs: one received 18 December 1904; second labeled on the reverse: "Taken Day Gov. Voorhees Nominated"].
 
19.
HAYES, Major Frank, First Regiment, 27 April 1898.

 

20.
HILTON, Captain John T., Adjutant, Second Regiment [half-tone photograph, taken August 1898; accompanied by a letter to Adjutant General Breintnall dated 15 August 1904].
21.
HINE, Colonel Edwin W., Second Regiment [3 photographs]
 
22.
HOLMES, Lt.-Colonel Benjamin P., Third Regiment, 1898 [also, a letter from Holmes to Adjutant General Breintnall concerning a different photograph, received 9 August 1904].
23.
HOPPER, First Lieutenant John H., Quartermaster, Second Regiment [2 photographs: one received 20 August 1904; second received 27 August 1904].
 
24.
JACKSON, Major Francis, Second Regiment [photograph received 7 September 1904].
25.
JONES, Chaplain Charles H., Second Regiment, 6 June 1898 [photograph received 28 November 1904].
26.
LANDON, Major Thomas D., Third Regiment, May 1898 [photograph received 9 August 1904].
27.
LOHMANN, Lt.-Colonel Henry, Jr., Major of the Fourth Regiment, 30 June 1898; made Lt.-Colonel on 4 November 1898; resigned 25 February 1899 [photograph taken in 1900, received 19 August 1904; accompanied by a letter to Adjutant General Breintnall dated 18 August 1904].
28.
McDOWELL, Captain Joseph W., Chaplain, Fourth Regiment, 17 July 1898.
29.
SHAILER, Major Julius C., Third Regiment, 25 September 1898 [photograph received 15 December 1904].
30.
SLACK, Major Clarence M., Surgeon, Third Regiment, May 1898 [photograph received 12 August 1904].
31.
VALENTINE, First Lieutenant Harry C., Quartermaster, Fourth Regiment, 1898 [photograph received 12 August 1904].
32.
VAN GIESON, Major Augustus, Second Regiment [3 photographs; one a half-tone].
 
33.
WALLACE, Lt.-Colonel Allan B., Major of the Fourth Regiment, 30 January 1898; made Lt.-Colonel on 27 February 1899; resigned 3 March 1899 [photograph taken April 1899; received 27 August 1904].


Consult the Reference services page and/or the Guide to Reproduction and Research Services, Policies and Fees for information on reproduction of images included in this collection.


Created September 2003


Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations