njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Spanish-American War)
Series: Miscellaneous Naval Photographs, 1898
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  SDEA5007
Guide Date:   6/1992 (JK)
Volume:  0.25 c.f. [9 photographs in 1 box]



Contents

No.
Caption
1.
Photo of a charcoal sketch drawn by William H. Pettibone of Haddonfield, NJ, of the U.S.S. Resolute under Morro Castle, Santiago, after the surrender of the city. The photo was furnished by Lieutenant C. S. Braddock, Jr.
2.
Ten officers aboard the U.S.S. Montauk, no date:

Standing [from left to right]:
[?] Johnson, [?] Clements, [Orrie S.] Rosenbaum, [?] Sculley, [Horace] Conine


Seated [from left to right]:
[?] Anderson, [?] Allen, [?] Smith, [?], [?]
3.
Unidentified men aboard the U.S.S. Montauk, no date.
4.
U.S.S. Montauk, no date.
5.
U.S.S. Vixen, no date.
6.
Unidentified ship, no date.
7.
Unidentified sailors, 1898 [possibly crew of the U.S.S. Badger; photograph by Elmer Chickering, Boston].
8.
Unidentified ship, 1898 [possibly the U.S.S. Badger; photograph by Elmer Chickering, Boston].
9.
Seventeen men aboard an unidentified ship, 1898 [probably the U.S.S. Badger; photograph by Elmer Chickering, Boston]:

Sitting from left to right:

1)
  Lieutenant J. Irving
2)
  Lieutenant Gearing
3)
  Captain [S--]
4)
  Lieutenant Burd, Chief Engineer
5)
  Surgeon [Maxwell S.] Simpson
6)
  Lieutenant [Irving G.] Blount

Standing from left to right:

1)
  Ensign Upshur
2)
  Ensign [Charles M.] Vreeland
3)
  Ensign [Harold W.] Anderson, Assistant Engineer
4)
  Ensign [C. F.] Long, Marine Officer
5)
  Ensign [A. Nelson] Kemble
6)
  Ensign [N. P.] O'Rourke
7)
  Lieutenant J. Ritchie, P.A. Engineer
8)
  Lieutenant [B. Franklin] Hart, P.A. Engineer
9)
  Lieutenant [Edward McClure] Peters, Navigator
10)
  Ensign Quilty
11)
  Pay Clerk Criss

Consult the Reference services page and/or the Guide to Reproduction and Research Services, Policies and Fees for information on reproduction of images included in this collection.


Created April 2004


Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations