njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: Adjutant General's Office (Punitive Expedition into Mexico)
Series: Miscellaneous Records [Unprocessed Binders], c. 1916-c. 1917
Accession #: 1969.006 prob.
Series #:  SDEA6003
Guide Date:  4/1999 (CSM)
Volume: 5.25 c.f. [40 binders]


Contents

Content Note

This series contains records related to the National Guard’s service on the Mexican border from June to November 1916.

NOTE: These records have not been processed. Many binders have records which relate to earlier or later time periods, such as the National Guard pre-1915 records and World War I. Additionally, binders in other series, such as pre-1915 National Guard and World War I, contain records related to the Mexican Border service.

This series is a combination of earlier series, specifically:

Binder 161 in Box 1 was formerly part of Department of Defense, National Guard, Miscellaneous Correspondence - Post Civil War, 1860s-1920;

Binders 6-165 in Boxes 1-8 were formerly part of Department of Defense, National Guard, Miscellaneous Records, 1909-1925.



Contents
Box 1
 
Book 161 - Certificates of Disability for Discharge, Companies A, C-I, K & M, Hospital Company,
     Supply Company, Headquarters Company, Band and Headquarters Detachments, 4th Regiment,
     1916-1917
Book 6 - 1st Infantry, Adjutant General correspondence, 1916-1917
Book 8 - 1st Infantry, correspondence (1-299), 1916
Box 2
 
Book 9 - 1st Infantry, correspondence (300-644), 1916
Book 10 - 1st Infantry, correspondence (700-899), 1916
Book 11 - 1st Infantry, correspondence (900-1064), 1916
Box 3
 
Book 30 - 1st Infantry, orders, special orders, memorandums, and bulletins, 1916
Book 30A - 1st Infantry, special orders, general orders and memorandums, 1916
Book 56 - 4th Infantry, Company K, monthly returns, gained to command, enlisted record, promotions
     statements, 1916
Book 57 - 4th Infantry Headquarters, telegrams, 1916
Book 58 - 4th Infantry Headquarters, letters from Adjutant General (1916), list of men transferred
     from reserve to all companies (1917) and summary court cases (1916)
Box 4
 
Book 59 - 4th Infantry Headquarters, sick report, quarterly returns, morning report, war diary (1916),
     attendance drills, strength of brigade, property records, bulletins, A. V. D. Moore correspondence,
     general court martial orders, memorandums, special orders, and general orders, 1916
Book 66 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, correspondence (4200-4299), 1916
Book 67 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, correspondence (4300-4399), 1916
Box 5
 
Book 68 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, correspondence (4400-4403), 1916
Book 69 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, correspondence (4404-4499), 1916
Book 70 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, correspondence (4500-4599), 1916
Book 71 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, correspondence (4600-4699), 1916
Box 6
 
Book 72 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, correspondence (4700-4799), 1916
Book 73 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, correspondence (4800-4899), 1916-1917
Book 81 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, 1st Brigade, correspondence, July 1916-March 1917
Book 85 - 5th Infantry, Company L, instructions, guard report, attendance record,
     quarterly Returns (1914-1917), field returns, monthly report, memorandum, receipts,
     ration returns (1916), and clothing requisitions
Box 7
 
Book 86 - 5th Infantry, Company L, morning reports (1913-1917), muster rolls (1916), payroll,
     memo. receipts, transfer of military stores, target practice
Book 93 - 5th Infantry, Company L, correspondence, 1916
Book 103 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, special orders, 1916-1917
Book 104 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, general orders (1913-1916), company orders (F to M)
     and war diary (1916)
Book 105 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, general orders and circulars (January 1915-December 1916),
      general orders, bulletins and circulars (August-October 1916)
Box 8
 
Book 107 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, general and special orders, 1915-1916
Book 108 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, general orders, circulars, and bulletins, 1917
Book 110 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, 1st Brigade, documents (1-200), 1916
Book 111 - 5th Infantry Headquarters, 1st Brigade, documents (201-269), August 1916-May 1917
Box 9
 
Book 112 - 5th Infantry, Headquarters, sick reports (1917), declarations of recruits, and record of
     attendance (1915-1916)
Book 115 - 5th Infantry, Company K, attendance record (1915-1916), vocational roster, roll
     book, muster ration returns, allotment, descriptive book, quartermaster receipts, transfers, requisitions,
     court martials, clothing list, squad rosters (Company B), and return of equipment (Company I)
Book 122 - 1st Artillery, Battery A, enlistments (1913-1916), muster roll (1916), duty rosters (1916),
     morning reports, and sick reports
Book 123 - 1st New Jersey Artillery, Battery A, payroll, field returns, drill attendance, and monthly
     purchase voucher, 1916
Box 10
 
Book 140A - 1st Cavalry 1st Squadron, telegrams, certificates of disability and discharge,
     correspondence, company orders, circulars, bulletins, memorandums, and general and
     special orders, 1916
Book 162 - 1st Cavalry, Troop D (Watchung Troop Association), statements, canceled checks
     and check books, and receipted bills, 1915-1917
Book 163 - 1st Cavalry, Troop D, transfer of military stores, returns, declaration of troops, signal
     corps stores, ordinance stores, quartermaster stores, muster in rolls, civilian payrolls for target range,
     quarterly returns, and public vouchers, 1914-1916
Book 164 - 1st Cavalry, Troop D, duty roster, survey report, inspection report and inventory,
     summary court records, morning report, property accounts, supply contracts, memorandums,
     receipts, and field returns, 1914-1917
Box 11
 
Book 165 - 1st Cavalry, Troop D, oath of enlistments, return pf public property, enlistment
     papers, return of equipment, and Watchung Troop Association Record Book, 1916

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations