njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: New Jersey Militia
Series: Records Relating to the Amboy Riots, 1863-1864
Accession #: 1976.011
Series #:  SDEML005
Guide Date:  4/1999 (CSM)
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

This series contains records related to the calling out of the New Jersey Militia by Governor Parker on December 1, 1863 in response to a riot caused by striking workers of the Camden and Amboy Railroad in South Amboy. The companies were mustered out of service from late December 1863 to early January 1864.

Companies were called out from all parts of the state, specifically: Chapin’s Battery; Company A, National Guard of Trenton; Companies A and E, 1st Regiment, New Jersey Militia (Newark Brigade); Company F, 1st Division, New Jersey Rifle Corps (Burlington Brigade); Company C, 3rd Division, New Jersey Rifle Corps (Elizabeth); and Freehold Infantry, 3rd Regiment, (Monmouth and Ocean Brigade).

The series contains correspondence related to the calling up of the Militia and subsequent pay for service, telegrams, orders, morning reports of the Militia, and muster rolls.

NOTE: Copies of muster rolls for the militia companies are in Box 15 of Department of Defense, Adjutant General’s Office (Civil War), Copy Books [Muster and Bounty Rolls], 1861-1865.



Contents

Box 1
1.
Copies of newspaper accounts
2.
Correspondence, December 1863
3.
Correspondence, January 1864
4.
Correspondence, February 1864
5.
Orders, December 1863 - January 1864
6.
Telegrams, December 1863 - January 1864
7.
Morning Reports, December 1863 - January 1864
8.
Proofs of Service, January 1864
9.
Fragments of muster rolls
10.
Company Roll - Company E, 1st Regiment, Militia, Newark Brigade
11.
Muster Roll - Company A, National Guard of Trenton
12.
Muster Roll - Company C, 3rd Division, New Jersey Rifle Corps
13.
Muster In Roll - Company F, 1st Division, New Jersey Rifle Corps, Burlington Brigade
14.
Muster In Roll - Freehold Infantry, 3rd Regiment, Monmouth and Ocean Brigade
15.
Muster Out Roll - Chapin's Battery
16.
Muster Out Roll - Company A, 1st Regiment, New Jersey Militia, Newark Brigade
17.
Muster Out Roll - Company E, 1st Regiment, New Jersey Militia, Newark Brigade
18.
Muster Out Roll - Company F, 1st Division, New Jersey Rifle Corps
19.
Muster Out Roll - Company C, 3rd Division, New Jersey Rifle Corps
20.
Muster Out Roll - Freehold Infantry, 3rd Regiment, Monmouth and Ocean Brigade
21.
Payroll - Chapin's Battery

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations