njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: New Jersey National Guard
Series: Regimental Records, 1862-1936
Accession #: 1969.006 prob.
Series #:  SDENG009
Guide Date:  3/1999 (CSM)
Volume: 39.5 c.f. [79 boxes]



Content Note

This series contains records related to the regiments, brigades, battalions and cavalries that made up the New Jersey National Guard. These records reflect the constant re-organization of the National Guard.

The records preserved in this series were sent by the companies to the Adjutant General in Trenton. The records include: Quarterly Returns which list the changes in the companies, such as new enlistments and soldiers mustered out, and the regiment as a whole over a three month span; Muster Rolls and Return of Annual Muster and Inspection which annually lists the members of the reporting Company and includes name, rank, age and enrollment dates; Inspection Reports which detail the annual inspection of the company; Oaths of Enlistment and Allegiance which give the soldier's name, place of birth, age, physical description and occupation; and Reports of election of officers and correspondence.

NOTE: These records have not been processed.



Contents

  Boxes 1-13
  Boxes 14-23
  Boxes 24-35
  Boxes 36-46
  Boxes 47-56
  Boxes 57-62
  Boxes 63-69
  Boxes 70-76
  Boxes 77-79

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations