njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: New Jersey National Guard
Series: Regimental Records, 1862-1936
Accession #: 1969.006 prob.
Series #:  SDENG009
Guide Date:  3/1999 (CSM)
Volume: 39.5 c.f. [79 boxes]


Content Note | Troop List

Contents

Box 24 
  3rd Regiment - Quarterly Returns (1878-1884) 
   
1. Companies A - D and F - G, 1878
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - D and F - G, 1879
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - D and F - G (2 2nd quarter reports for Company B), 1880
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A & C - G (4th quarter first report for Company E), 1881
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A & C - G, 1882
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A & C - G (3rd and 4th quarter reports for Company F missing), 1883
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Companies A, C - E & G (1st and 2nd quarter reports) and Companies A - E & G (3rd and 4th quarters), 1884
Box 25  
  3rd Regiment - Quarterly Returns (1885-1891) 
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - G, 1885
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - G, 1886
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - G, 1887
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H (3rd and 4th quarters reports for Company H), 1888
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H, 1889
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H, 1890
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H, 1891
Box 26
  3rd Regiment - Quarterly Returns (1892-1899) 
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H, 1892
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H, 1893
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H, 1894
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H, 1895
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H, 1896
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H, 1897
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H, 1898
8. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - H, 1899 (1st quarter reports)
Box 27
  3rd Regiment - Quarterly Returns (1899-1903)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - M, 1899 (2nd, 3rd and 4th quarter reports)
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers (2nd, 3rd and 4th quarter reports includes Band), Companies A - M, Band and Drum, Fife, and Bugle Corp Roster; correspondence, 1900
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Band and Companies A - M, 1901
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Band and Companies A - M, 1902
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Band and Companies A - M, 1903
Box 28
  3rd Regiment - Quarterly Returns (1904-1908)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Band and Companies A - M, 1904
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Band and Companies A - M, 1905
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Band and Companies A - M, 1906
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Band and Companies A - M, 1907
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers, Band (1st quarter report missing) and Companies A - M (2 1st quarter reports for Company F), 1908
Box 29
  3rd Regiment - Quarterly Returns (1909-1912)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers, Band and Companies A - M, 1909
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers, Band and Companies A - M, 1910
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers, Band (Band and Return of Field and Staff combined in 2nd quarter) and Companies A - M, 1911
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff, Band & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - M, 1912
  3rd Regiment - Returns (1917)
   
5. Casual Reserve Detachment August 4, 1917; Initial Return 3rd Regiment July 25 - 31, 1917; Return 3rd Regiment September, 1917
Box 30
  3rd Regiment - Muster Rolls (1868-1878)
   
1. Companies A - C, 1868
Companies A - G (Company D missing), 1869
Field & Staff and Companies A - G (2 copies of Company A), 1870
2. Field & Staff and Companies A - E & G, 1871
3. Field & Staff and Companies A - F & H (2 copies of Companies F & H), 1872
4. Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1873
5. Field & Staff and Companies A - H (2 copies of Company H), 1874
6. Companies A - H (2 copies of Companies A, D & F), 1875
7. Field & Staff (2 copies) and Companies A - H (2 copies of Company C); correspondence with
Company C, 1876
8. Companies A - D, F & G, 1877
9. Consolidated Inspection Roll of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - D, F & G, 1878
  3rd Regiment - Return of Annual Muster and Inspection (1879-1883)
   
10. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field and Staff and Companies A - G; Muster In Roll of an unnamed company to be attached to the Regiment, 1879
11. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - D, F & G, 1880
12. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - D, F & G, 1881
13. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - G (and a company to be attached), 1882
14. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A & C - G, 1883
Box 31
  3rd Regiment - Return of Annual Muster and Inspection (1884-1893)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - E & G, 1884
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - G (Company F designated from unassigned company), 1885
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - G, 1886
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - G, 1887
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1888
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1889
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1890
8. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1891
9. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1892
10. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1893
Box 32
  3rd Regiment - Return of Annual Muster and Inspection (1894-1903)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1894
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1895
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1896
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1897
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - H, 1898
6. Companies A - M, 1899
7. Return of Field & Staff, Band and Companies A - M, 1900
8. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band and Companies A - M, 1901
9. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M, 1902
10. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M, 1903
Box 33
  3rd Regiment - Return of Annual Muster and Inspection (1904-1910)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M; petition and correspondence for a new Company; Muster In Roll Company K, 1904
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M, 1905
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M, 1906
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M, 1907
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band and Companies A - M; correspondence relating to disbanding of Company A and mustering in a new Company A, 1908
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band and Companies A - M, 1909
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band and Companies B - M (return for Company A is a Muster - In roll), 1910
Box 34
  3rd Regiment - Return of Annual Muster and Inspection (1911)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff, and Departmental Staff, Non-Commissioned Staff and Band and Companies A - M, 1911
  3rd Regiment - Muster Rolls (1912 & 1913)
   
2. Return of Field, Staff, Non-Commissioned Staff & Band and Companies A - M, 1912
3. Return of Field, Staff, and Band and Companies A - M; correspondence; new Company G, 1913
Box 35
  3rd Regiment - Muster Rolls (1914-1916)
   
1. Return of Field, Staff, and Band, Companies A - M (2 reports for Company G) and Muster-Out roll for Company G, 1914
2. Return of Regimental Field Officers & Chaplain, Headquarters Company, Detachment and Companies
A - M, 1915
3. Return of Field Officers, Chaplain, A.I.S.A.P. & Band, Headquarters Company, Supply Company and Companies A - M (report for Company H missing), 1916
  3rd Regiment - Inspection Reports (1910-1916)
   
4. Reports on Field Inspection and Field Inspection Reports, 1910-1914
5. Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers & Band and Companies A - M, 1912
Field, Staff, Non-Commissioned Officers & Band and Companies A - M (2 copies), 1913
6. Regimental & Battalion Field Officers, Chaplain & A.I.S.A.P.(Assistant Inspector of Small Arms Practice), Headquarters Company and Companies A - M, 1914
Headquarters Company (2 copies), Field Officers, Supply Company (2 copies) and Companies
A - M, 1915
7. Regimental & Battalion Field Officers, Chaplain, & AISAP (2 copies), Headquarters Company (2 copies), Supply Company (2 copies) and Companies A - M (2 copies), 1916

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations