njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: New Jersey National Guard
Series: Regimental Records, 1862-1936
Accession #: 1969.006 prob.
Series #:  SDENG009
Guide Date:  3/1999 (CSM)
Volume: 39.5 c.f. [79 boxes]


Content Note | Troop List

Contents

Box 36
  4th Regiment - Quarterly Returns (1878-1889)
   
1. Companies A - F (2 1st quarter returns for Company C), 1878
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - F (4th quarter report for Company B missing), 1879
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - F, 1880
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - F, 1881
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - F, 1882
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - F, 1883
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - F (2 2nd quarter reports for Company B), 1884
8. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - F, 1885
9. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - F, 1886
10. Consolidated Return of the Regiment and Companies A - F, 1887
11. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff and Companies
A - F, 1888
12. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff and Companies
A - F, 1889
Box 37
  4th Regiment - Quarterly Returns (1890-1898)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff and Companies A - F, 1890
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff and Companies A - F, 1891
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff, Companies
A - F (1st quarter) and Companies A & C - L (2nd - 4th quarters), 1892
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff, Companies
A & C - L (1st quarter) and Companies A - H (2nd - 4th quarters), 1893
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff, Companies
A - H (1st - 3rd quarters) and Companies A - K (4th quarter report of Company I missing), 1894
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff, Companies
A - K (1st quarter report of Company I missing), Companies A - L (2nd and 3rd quarters) and Companies A - M (4th quarter), 1895
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - M, 1896
8. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - M, 1897
9. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - M, 1898
Box 38
  4th Regiment - Quarterly Returns (1899-1905)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff and Companies A - M (2 2nd quarter reports for Companies L & M), 1899
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff (includes Band 3rd & 4th quarters), Band (2nd quarter only) and Companies A - M, 1900
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - M, 1901
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - M (2nd & 4th quarters reports for Company L missing), 1902
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - M, 1903
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - M, 1904
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Officers and Companies A - M, 1905
Box 39
  4th Regiment - Quarterly Returns (1906-1909)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff and Companies
A - M, 1906
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff and Companies
A - M; letter regarding Company I, 1907
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff, Band and Companies A - M, 1908 (1st and 2nd quarters only)
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff, Band and Companies A - M, 1908 (3rd and 4th quarters only)
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff, Band and Companies A - M, 1909
Box 40
  4th Regiment - Quarterly Returns (1910-1913)
   
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff, Band and Companies A - M, 1910
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff, Band (Band merged with Field & Staff from 2nd quarter on) and Companies A - M, 1911
8. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff and Band, Headquarters Detachment (3rd & 4th quarters) and Companies A - M, 1912
9. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff and Band, Headquarters Detachment and Companies A - M, 1913
  4th Regiment - Muster Rolls (1867 & 1873-1876)
   
10. Companies B - G, 1867
11. Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1873
12. Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1874
13. Field & Staff, Companies A - F and Inspection Return, 1875
14. Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1876
Box 41
  4th Regiment - Muster Rolls (1877 & 1878)
   
1. Field & Staff and Companies A - F (2 reports for Company A), 1877
2. Field & Staff, Companies A - F (2 reports for each company except Company B), Consolidated Inspection Return, 1878
  4th Regiment - Return of Annual Muster and Inspection (1879-1891)
   
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Companies A - F (2 reports for Company B) and Muster In Company B, 1879
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1880
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1881
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1882
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1883
8. Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1884
9. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1885
10. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1886
11. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1887
12. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1888
13. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - F, 1889
14. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - M, 1890
15. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - M, 1891
Box 42
  4th Regiment - Return of Annual Muster and Inspection (1892-1899)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - M, 1892
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - F and Muster
In - Companies B, G, & H (2 reports for Company B), 1893
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Companies A - H and Muster-In for Company K, 1894
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Companies A - K and Muster- In Rolls
for Companies I, L, & M, 1895
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - M
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - M, 1897
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - M, 1898
8. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - M, 1899
Box 43
  4th Regiment - Return of Annual Muster and Inspection (1900-1906)
   
1. Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - M, 1900
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff and Companies A - M (2 reports for Company B), 1901
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies A - M (report for Company L missing); letters & petitions of new recruits to form new Company L or M, 1902
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music, Companies A - M and Muster In for Company L; correspondence, 1903
5. Militia Maneuvers at Manassas, Virginia, September 1904 Muster Rolls for Band and Companies A - M
6. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band and Companies A - M (report for Company B missing), 1904
7. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M, 1905
8. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M, 1906
Box 44
  4th Regiment - Return of Annual Muster and Inspection (1907-1911)
   
1. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M, 1907
2. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M, 1908
3. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M, 1909
4. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field & Staff, Band & Field Music and Companies
A - M, 1910
5. Consolidated Return of the Regiment, Return of Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff, Band and Companies A - D, 1911
Box 45
  4th Regiment - Return of Annual Muster and Inspection (1911)
   
1. Companies E - M, 1911
  4th Regiment - Muster Rolls (1912 & 1913)
   
2. Return of Band and Field, Staff & Non-Commissioned Staff, 1912
3. Companies A - C, 1912
4. Companies D - F, 1912
5. Companies F - I, 1912
6. Companies K - M, 1912
7. Return of Field, Staff, & Band, Headquarters Detachment and Companies A - C, 1913
8. Companies D - H, 1913
Box 46
  4th Regiment - Muster Rolls (1913-1916) 
   
1. Companies I - M, 1913
2. Return of Field, Staff, Non-Commissioned Officers, & Headquarters Detachment, Band and Companies
A - M, 1914
3. Return of Headquarters Company, Supply Company, Field Officers & Chaplain and Companies A - M (report for Company C missing), 1915
4. Return of Headquarters Company, Field Officers, Chaplain, etc., Band and Supply Company, 1916
  4th Regiment - Inspection Reports (1910-1916)  
   
5. Report on Field Inspection, 1910
6. Field Inspection Report, 1911
7. Return of Headquarters & Band and Companies A - M; Field Inspection Report, 1912
8. Field Inspection Report, 1913
9. Return of Headquarters & Band and Companies A - M; corresp. and poor drills, 1913
10. Return of Field, Staff, Non-Commissioned Officers, & Headquarters Detachment, Band and Companies
A - M; Inspection Report, 1914
11. Return of Regimental Field Officers, Chaplain, AISAP (2 reports), Headquarters Co. (2 reports), Supply Company (2 reports) and Companies A - M (2 reports each of all but Company C); Doctor's note, 1915
12. Return of Headquarters Company, Regimental & Battalion Field Officers, Chaplain, etc., Supply Company and Companies A - M, 1916
  4th Regiment - Miscellaneous  
   
13. Listings of men who served in the Spanish American War from the 4th Regiment, 1899

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations