njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: New Jersey National Guard
Series: Records Relating to Distinguished Service Medal and Medal of Honor Recipients, 1925-1939
Accession #: 1969.006 prob.
Series #:  SDENG015
Guide Date:  3/1999 (CSM)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

This series contains records related to soldiers who received the Distinguished Service Medal and the Medal of Honor.

The Distinguished Service Medal was given under the provisions of Chapter 13, Laws of 1924 to members of the National Guard whose service was deserving of recognition, primarily soldiers who served in World War I. The Medal of Honor was given under the provisions of an Act of the New Jersey Legislature approved May 2, 1906, for 50, 45, 40, 35, 30, 20, 15, or 10 years of service.



Contents
Box 1
  Distinguished Service Medal (1927-1937)
   
1. Albee, Fred H., Dr., 1934
  Andringa, Cornelius, 1935
  Aspden, Donald M., 1931
2. Ballantyne, Lewis B., 1928
  Barber, Charles W.
  Barnard, Samuel G., 1934
  Bart, Frank J., 1932
  Becker, Ernest C., 1927
  Branson, Clarence I., 1933
  Brennan, Matthew, 1930
  Brown, Hobart B., 1927
  Burger, Valentine Joseph, 1927
3. Catlin, William P., 1932
  Cline, Jacob F., 1933 (posthumously)
  Condes, George C., 1933
4. Herr, John K., 1934
  Higgins, William A., 1934
  Hynes, Thomas J., 1928
5. Jones, Charles S., 1932
  Julewicz, Hylory, 1929
6. Kaufman, Benjamin, 1937
  Keltos, George C., 1933
  Kempton, Raymond D., 1931
  Kenngott, Joseph L., 1929
  Koehler, George R., 1934
  Kraft, William E., 1931 (posthumously)
7. Landes, William S., 1929
  Laus, Frank N., 1936
  Lee, John B., 1928
  Lewis, Harold A., 1928
  Loizeaux, Charles E., 1934
8. MacDermut, Charles K., 1927
  Manning, Frederick J., 1935
  Matthews, Irving R., 1930
  McCullough, John H., 1934
  Mead, Douglas O., 1932
  Meyer, Edward L., 1934
  Middleton, Horace, 1936
  Millman, Frank X., 1934 (posthumously)
  Moore, A. Harry, 1935
  Moskowitz, Herman, 1937
  Murray, C. Edward, 1928
9. Nicol, William O., 1928
10. Oelrich, William H., 1927
  Olmsted, Edward, 1927
11. Pascale, Thomas, 1928
  Pearce, Percy R., 1928
  Pierson, William J., 1936
  Powell, Clifford R., 1928
  Powell, George W., 1928
  Powell, John K., 1932
  Price, Winfield S., 1928
12. Rector, Joseph M., 1934
  Redden, William Joseph, 1927
  Reilly, Harold V., 1930
  Rice, Donald B., 1937
  Rickert, Albert A., 1933
  Rogers, John M., 1931
  Rohrbach, Frederick E., 1930
  Rose, Edward C., 1934
13. Schroth, Raymond A., 1927
  Selby, George L., 1927
  Shivers, Charles W., 1934
  Shoemaker, Ralph E., 1933 (posthumously)
  Sholl, Paul E., 1928
  Sieper, Frederick E., 1927
  Spencer, Bird W., 1927
  Stark, Joseph E., 1933
  Staulcup, Russell C., 1936
  Stewart, George W., 1930
  Stone, Edward B., 1929
  Stuart, George, 1928
  Sweeten, Joseph, 1929
14. Tilton, Frank W. S., 1934
  Trundle, George H., 1927
15. Vermeule, Cornelius C., Jr., 1934
16. Walther, William M., 1933
  Ward, Joseph A., 1927
  Welsh, Edward J., 1935
  Wester, Alfred, 1934
  Welling, Henry, 1929
  Whitney, Stanton, 1927
  Wildnauer, Harry M., 1930
  Williams, Richard A., 1937
  Wilson, Gill Robb, 1935
  Winterton, Clyde E., 1927
  Wittnebert, Henry, 1929
  Woodward, Frederick A., 1936
  Wolfer, William J., 1927
  Medals of Honor (1925-1939)
   
17. Antonio, Patsy J. - 10 years, 1938
  Asay, Arthur E. - 20 years, 1938
18. Bianchi, Charles - 10 years, 1939
  Borgers, Louis F. J. - 15 years, 1939
  Bowden, Thomas H. - 15 years, 1939
  Boyer, Townsend H. - 35 years, 1936
  Brookes, John F. - 10 years, 1935
  Brucker, Harold J. - 15 years, 1938
  Burger, Valentine J. - 25 years, 1938
19. Carbin, John P., Jr. - 10 years, 1938
  Cook, Harrison - 10 years, 1933
  Crowe, Samuel W. - 10 years, 1938
  Curren, Henry H. - 10 years, 1939
20. Dalto, Joseph F. - 10 years, 1938
  Dill, Joseph R. - 10 years, 1938
  Dilts, George J. - 10 years, 1938
21. Evans, Roy C. - 10 years, 1938
22. Ferry, John J. - 10 years, 1936
  Firth, Eugene D. - 25 years, 1938
  Flynn, Walter J. - 10 years, 1938
  Forrar, Joseph - 10 years, 1939
  Fox, George A. - 10 years, 1937
23. Gaddis, Theodore B. - 30 years, 1925
  Gbur, Andrew - 15 years, 1938
  Gerome, Leonard - 10 years, 1939
  Gilkyson, Frederick - 40 years, 1930
  Guardiano, Joseph - 10 years, 1938
24. Higgins, William A. - 30 years, 1932
  Hunt, James S. - 10 years, 1933
25. Jones, Oscar W. - 10 years, 1938
  Jury, Michael A. - 10 years, 1938
26. Keil, Charles L. - 10 years, 1938
  Kelly, Peter A. - 20 years, 1938
27. Lee, John F., Jr. - 20 years, 1938
  Leemon, James W. - 10 years, 1938
28. Margerum, Mahlon R. - 35 years, 1934
  Mathews, Frank A., Jr. - 10 years, 1936
  Mathisen, Arthur F. - 25 years, 1938
  Maupai, Ferdinand L. - 25 years, 1936
  McDonald, William L. - 25 years, 1937
  McKinley, William G. - 20 years, 1938
  Namara, Carl T. - 30 years, 1938
  McNeil, Francis X. - 10 years, 1938
  Messenger, Phillip - 10 years, 1938
  Milne, James, Jr. - 30 years, 1938
  Morris, Joseph H. - 10 years, 1937
  Morrow, Harry J. - 10 years, 1938
  Morton, Morris - 10 years, 1938
  Munz, Rudolph P. - 15 years, 1938
  Murphy, Edward - 20 years, 1939
  Murray, C. Edward - 40 years, 1934
29. O'Brien, John J. - 20 years, 1936
  Oles, Edward J. - 10 years, 1938
  Owens, John W. - 15 years, 1938
30. Parker, Edward R. - 10 years, 1938
  Parker, George R. - 15 years, 1939
  Patterson, George M. - 10 years, 1937
  Peifer, Peter G. - 10 years, 1938
  Pollack, Henry T. - 10 years, 1936
  Powell, Clifford R. - 25 years, 1938
  Powell, Clifford R. - 20 years, 1934
  Powell, Harold R. - 20 years, 1938
31. Ramsey, George A. - 10 years, 1936
  Reed, Frank N. - 10 years, 1939
  Ritter, Channing P. - 10 years, 1938
  Roberts, William J. - 10 years, 1938
  Rogers, John M. - 40 years, 1928
  Rogers, John M. - 50 years, 1937
  Rue, Edward P. - 10 years, 1936
32. Sautter, Paul W. - 10 years, 1938
  Savage, Valers G. - 10 years, 1938
  Servis, Edgar L. - 10 years, 1938
  Shearin, Howard S. - 10 years, 1938
  Smith, David P. - 10 years, 1936
  Smith, Edward H. - 10 years, 1938
  South, Samuel L. - 20 years, 1937
  Spivey, Floyd - 10 years, 1936
  Stratton, Charles D. - 10 years, 1938
  Sutton, Edward F. - 15 years, 1938
33. Tecza, John - 10 years, 1938
  Toleno, Joseph J. - 15 years, 1938
  Turner, Howard D. - 10 years, 1937
  Twiss, William B. - 15 years, 1939
34. Valle, Eugene H. - 15 years, 1933
  Van Voorhis, Robert A. - 30 years, 1937
  Verkooy, Anthony M. - 10 years, 1939
  Voelter, Theodore F. - 15 years, 1938
35. Walter, Robert - 10 years, 1938
  Warfield, John F. - 15 years, 1936
  Whitaker, Earl Frank - 10 years, 1938
  Winkel, Robert P. - 10 years, 1936
36. Youker, Joseph S. - 10 years, 1936
  Ziegler, Francis A. - 15 years, 1937

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations