njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: New Jersey National Guard
Series: Pension Records, 1882-1897
Accession #: 1969.006 prob.
Series #:  SDENG016
Guide Date:  3/1999 (CSM)
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

This series contains records related to soldiers' pensions from the National Guard. “An Act to Further Amend an Act...” passed June 6, 1894 allowed for an injured soldier or his immediate family to collect from the state “the like reward that persons under similar circumstances receive from the United States.”

The records are organized by Pension claimant.


Contents
Box 1
1. Disbrow, Randolph F., Company B, 7th Regiment (loss of both hands at Yorktown, Virginia, 1881), allowed
February 17, 1882
2. Faller, Louisa R., stepmother of Herman Faller, Company F, 3rd Regiment (died on account of wounds received
on Brigade Drill, 1888), allowed by law 1892
3. Flinn, Bridget, mother of Joseph Frederick Flinn, Company H, 7th Regiment (died of Typhoid fever contracted at Encampment, 1890)
4. Hartley, Mary E., widow of John E. Hartley, Major and Judge Advocate on the Staff of 1st Brigade (was thrown
from his horse at Sea Girt Encampment 1887 and died of injury 1889), approved September 30, 1889
5. Johnson, William E., Jr., 1st Lieutenant commanding Gun Detachment, 5th Regiment (incapacitated by spinal meningitis contracted at Camp Abbott in 1885)
6. Manning, James C., Lieut. Colonel, 7th Regiment (incapacitated by sunstroke followed by paralysis in 1877), rejected December 30, 1897
7. Mellor, Louisa, widow of William A. Mellor, Company B, 1st Regiment (died of wounds received at Santiago Park
in 1882)
8. Mendel, Margaret, widow of Augustus Mendel, First Sergeant, Company B, 6th Regiment (died after being
overcome by heat in 1887), disallowed May 25, 1897
9. Van Buren, Catherine, widow of Henry M. Van Buren, Captain, Company C, 5th Regiment (died of Pulmonary Phthisis contracted at Encampment in 1887)
10. Young, Benjamin F. - An Act for the relief of the heirs of Benjamin F. Young, deceased, 2nd Lieut., Company C,
6th Regiment, approved March 31, 1882
11. Various papers relating to NJ National Guard Pensions
12. Various papers relating to artificial limbs

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations