njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: New Jersey National Guard
Series: Rifle Practice and Competition Records, 1878-1915
Accession #: 1969.006 prob.
Series #:  SDENG018
Guide Date:  3/1999 (CSM)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

This series contains records related to the organization of rifle practice locations, the results of competitions and annual reports of the Militia’s performance of drills, target practice and field instruction.

NOTE: These records have not been processed.


Contents
Box 1
  Rifle Practice and Competitions - Various records (1878-1915)
    1. Contract between the State of New Jersey, signed by Gov. George B. McClellan, and Columbia Rifle Association, 1878
    2. Report on Rifle Practice by Col. William H. Sterling, 1878
    3. Contracts between the State of New Jersey, signed by Gov. George B. McClellan, and the New
Jersey State Rifle Association, 1878
    4. Contract between the State of New Jersey, signed by Gov. George B. McClellan, and the Stockton
Rifle Range Association of Camden, 1879
    5. Agreement between the State of New Jersey, signed by Gov. George B. McClellan, and the
New Jersey Rifle Association, Nov. 16, 1880
    6. Statement of expenditures for Rifle Practice Range and Armory, 1880
    7. General Spencer's report to Governor Ludlow regarding Stockton Rifle Range, May 19, 1882
Reply of Stockton Rifle Range to Gov. George C. Ludlow, 1883
    8. Report of P. Bonnett on Military Team Match, 1883 and requests for the State Prize, 1883
    9. General B. W. Spencer's Report as General Inspector of Rifle Practice on charges against
the 9th Regiment in the match for the State Prize, 1883
    10. Acceptance of Proposition of Brinton Range, May 25, 1883
    11. Map of Rifle Range, Sea Girt, 1902
    12. Communications from Team Captains of the National Match, shot at Sea Girt, 1905
    13. Return of National Shoot, Camp Perry, Ohio, August 1907
    14. Bulletin of National Team Match, Camp Perry, Ohio, August 1908
    15. Agreement, U. S. Marines and State of New Jersey to rifle practice at Sea Girt, 1909
    16. The individual records of Long Distance Experts, Experts, Sharpshooters, and Marksmen
(New Jersey Militiamen), 1915
  Organized Militia - Annual Report of Drills, Target Practice and Return of Field Inspection (1905-1909)
    17. Report of Drills, Target Practice & Return of Field Instruction, 1905-1907
    18. Report of Drills, Target Practice & Return of Field Instruction, 1908-1909

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations