njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Defense
Subgroup: New Jersey National Guard
Series: Registers of Officers and Enlisted Men, 1776-1960
Accession #: 1969.006 prob.
Series #:  SDENG022
Guide Date:  4/1999 (CSM)
Volume: 9 c.f. [19 volumes]


Contents

Content Note

This series contains nineteen bound volumes recording the names and dates of service of men in the New Jersey National Guard. Although the National Guard was not formed until 1869, the registers also include senior officers in the New Jersey Militia back to 1776. Enlisted men and most officers are included through 1917; certain senior officers and staff are recorded up to 1947; and officers eligible for retirement under 1909 legislation are included up to 1960.

After the first three volumes, which cover senior officers and staff, the registers are organized by battalion or regiment. Non-infantry and/or smaller units (including the cavalry, artillery, naval reserve, etc.) are included in the last few volumes. A brief history of the unit is included at the beginning of each section. The soldiers are then listed by the first letter of the surname.

NOTE: There is no comprehensive name index to the registers.



Contents
Vol. Contents
1 Senior Officers and Staff, 1776-1892:
  Commanders-in-Chief and Staff, 1776-1890
  Brevet Officers, 1858-1892
  Division Staff, 1869-1892
  Generals and Staff, 1st and 2nd Brigades, 1869-1892
2 Senior Officers and Staff, 1858-1960 [book begun 1892]:
  Commanders-in-Chief and Staff, 1890-1947
  Brevet Officers, 1858-1937
  Retired Officers, 1869-1949
  Division Generals and Staff, 1885-1913
  1st Brigade Generals and Staff, 1883-1907
  2nd Brigade Generals and Staff, 1871-1913
  Officers Subject to Retirement (#1-#1013), 1909-1960
3 Departmental Staff, 1907-1921:
  History of Departments
  Adjutant General's Department
  Inspector General's Department
  Judge Advocate General's Department
  Quartermaster's Department
  Subsistence Department
  Medical Department
  Hospital Corps, Medical Department
  Pay Department
  Corps of Engineers
  Ordnance Department
  Signal Corps
  Small-Arms Practice
  Quartermaster Corps
4 1st - 6th Battalions, 1869-1892
5 1st and 2nd Regiments, 1869-1892
6 1st Regiment, 1892-1919
7 2nd Regiment, 1892-1899
8 2nd Regiment, 1899-1919
9 3rd and 4th Regiments, 1869-1892
10 3rd Regiment, 1892-1919
11 4th Regiment, 1892-1919
12 5th and 6th Regiments, 1869-1892
13 5th Regiment, 1902-1919
14 6th Regiment, 1892-1899
15 7th Regiment, 1872-1892
8th Regiment, 1872-1877
16 7th Regiment, 1892-1899
17 9th Regiment, 1874-1886
Artillery, 1869-1888
Cavalry, 1873-1877
Gatling Gun Regiment, 1878-1892
18 Cavalry, 1893-1919
Division Headquarters Troop, 1917
Artillery (including Gatling Gun Regiment), 1878-1919
Signal and Telegraph Corps, 1900-1907
Hospital and Ambulance Corps, 1895-1900
19 Naval Reserve, 1895-1919

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations