njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Education
Subgroup: Business Division
Series: Annual Reports of the County Superintendents of Schools, 1917-1947
Accession #: 1986.045
Series #:  SEDBU001
Guide Date:  9/1993 (EC)
Volume: 27.7 c.f. [616 vols./83 boxes]


Contents

Content Note

This series consists of a near-complete set of the annual reports of New Jersey's county superintendents of schools to the state Commissioner of Education (head of the Department of Public Instruction which, in 1946, became the Department of Education). The standardized report form was required to be submitted by each county during the period 1917 to 1947, though apparently not by statute. Filing ceased with the reorganization of the Department of Education following the 1947 Constitution. Each report covers one academic year from September to June; reports for the years 1918/1919 and 1925/1926 are missing.

Superintendents' annual reports provide detailed financial and statistical information for each county school district, including: revenue raised through taxes, special funds and tuition; expenditures (broken into a variety of categories, such as salaries and capital outlay); personnel information (including the number of teachers and their qualifications, the number of supervisors, principals, etc.); and the number of pupils enrolled (broken down by type of school, grade, age, and sex). The report content generally remains consistent throughout the thirty-year series, although certain sub-categories and details vary from year to year.


Contents

Box Academic Year Counties
1 1917/1918 Atlantic - Hunterdon
2   Mercer - Warren
3 1919/1920 Atlantic - Hunterdon
4   Mercer - Warren
5 1920/1921 Atlantic - Essex
6   Gloucester - Morris
7   Ocean - Warren
8 1921/1922 Atlantic - Cumberland
9   Essex - Monmouth
10   Morris - Warren
11 1922/1923 Atlantic - Cumberland
12   Essex - Monmouth
13   Morris - Warren
14 1923/1924 Atlantic - Cumberland
15   Essex - Monmouth
16   Morris - Warren
17 1924/1925 Atlantic - Cumberland
18   Essex - Monmouth
19   Morris - Warren
20 1926/1927 Atlantic - Cumberland
21   Essex - Monmouth
22   Morris - Warren
23 1927/1928 Atlantic - Cumberland
24   Essex - Monmouth
25   Morris - Warren
26 1928/1929 Atlantic - Cumberland
27   Essex - Monmouth
28   Morris - Warren
29 1929/1930 Atlantic - Cumberland
30   Essex - Monmouth
31   Morris - Warren
32 1930/1931 Atlantic - Cumberland
33   Essex - Monmouth
34   Morris - Warren
35 1931/1932 Atlantic - Cumberland
36   Essex - Monmouth
37   Morris - Warren
38 1932/1933 Atlantic - Cumberland
39   Essex - Monmouth
40   Morris - Warren
41 1933/1934 Atlantic - Cumberland
42   Essex - Monmouth
43   Morris - Warren
44 1934/1935 Atlantic - Cumberland
45   Essex - Monmouth
46   Morris - Warren
47 1935/1936 Atlantic - Cumberland
48   Essex - Monmouth
49   Morris - Warren
50 1936/1937 Atlantic - Cumberland
51   Essex - Monmouth
52   Morris - Warren
53 1937/1938 Atlantic - Cumberland
54   Essex - Monmouth
55   Morris - Warren
56 1938/1939 Atlantic - Cumberland
57   Essex - Monmouth
58   Morris - Warren
59 1939/1940 Atlantic - Cumberland
60   Essex - Monmouth
61   Morris - Warren
62 1940/1941 Atlantic - Cumberland
63   Essex - Monmouth
64   Morris - Warren
65 1941/1942 Atlantic - Cumberland
66   Essex - Monmouth
67   Morris - Warren
68 1942/1943 Atlantic - Cumberland
69   Essex - Monmouth
70   Morris - Warren
71 1943/1944 Atlantic - Cumberland
72   Essex - Monmouth
73   Morris - Warren
74 1944/1945 Atlantic - Cumberland
75   Essex - Monmouth
76   Morris - Warren
77 1945/1946 Atlantic - Camden
78   Cape May - Hunterdon
79   Mercer - Ocean
80   Passaic - Warren
81 1946/1947 Atlantic - Cumberland
82   Essex - Monmouth
83   Morris - Warren


Created September 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations