njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Department of Education
Subgroup: Manual Training and Industrial School for Colored Youth at Bordentown, NJ
Series: Unprocessed Records, 1890s-1950s
Accession #: 1981.021, 1983.021, 1983.030
Series #:  SEDMA001
Guide Date:  8/1992 (JK)
Volume: 16.25 c.f. [23 boxes]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

Boxes 1-5 have been arranged roughly into subject files. Boxes 6-17 are completely unorganized. ACCESS NOTE: Student records are restricted from use for research by the public, with the exception of requests from former Bordentown students for their own individual student records.


Contents

Box 1
Board of Education regulations and legislative history of school
Board of Education correspondence
Curriculum -- beauty culture class register 1954-55 (wire-bound book)
Enrollment and graduate statistics
Financial:
  Auditor's report October 1, 1949-December 31, 1951
  Auditor's report January 1, 1952-June 30, 1954
  Fiscal reports and correspondence
Miscellaneous
  16 mm film and video tape
  Printer's plates of school buildings
  Printer's plate of school song "Old Mother Ironsides"

Box 2
Publications:
  Catalogs and information bulletins, 1900-1954
  Commencement programs, 1945-1955
  The Ironsides Echo (yearbook), 1953-1955
  The Ironsides Echo (newspaper), 1898-1953
  The Ironsides Echo - historical edition, 1955
  Miscellaneous publications, 1920-1952
  Newsclippings about the school
Physical plant:
  School grounds improvements, 1927-1953
  Vehicle accident reports, 1950-1954
Students:
  Beauty Culture course gradbook, 1954-1955
  Correspondence re: student transcripts and accounts, 1952-1955
  Student aid and work scholarships, 1952
  Student records, 1943-1955

Box 3
Address books (2)
Alphabetical card file of teachers' addresses
Correspondence re: personnel, 1940s
Employee accident reports, 1950-55 (2 files)
Miscellaneous personnel data, 1920s
Pension and Annuity Fund records, 1935-56 (2 files)
Personnel policies and regulations
Personnel records, 1940s (2 files)
Personnel payroll, 1949-55
Teacher attendance records, 1950-51

Box 4
Personnel files (A-Z, 100 files)
Special CS 21 forms: hiring temporary employees, changing maintenance rates,
         overtime compensation, changing pay rates
Blank personnel data forms

Box 5
School Closure:
  Legislation and commission reports on school closure
  Closure appropriations
  Closure
  Employees retained, June - August 1955
  Letters releasing teachers upon school closure, June 1955
Post-Closure:
  Correspondence regarding beauty culture curriculum, 1955
  Post-closure correspondence, 1955
  Post-closure correspondence, 1956-59
  Records dispensation
  Segear correspondence
  Correspondence re: transcripts, 1970s

Box 6
-physical plant, farm, financial and personnel files, 1950s
-vacation and sick-pay logs, 1952 [bound volumes]
-student special mail and delivery logs, 1950-55
-sick and vacation leave cards

Box 7
-requisitions and purchase orders, FY 1953

Box 8
-dairy herd books, 1950s
-school equipment correspondence and records, 1930s
-physical plant files, 1920s

Box 9
-ledger sheets recording student grades, 1940-1946 [bound volumes]
-farm, teacher and sundries records

Box 10
-student ledger sheets, 1950-1955 [loose]
-accordion files of temporary receipts from 1953-54
-accordion files of commencement and term ending information, 1950s

Box 11
-reports of daily deliveries of food to school, 1934-38 [bundled]

Box 12
-student registration cards, 1953-54
-records of the student bank, 1954-55
-student miscellaneous fees, 3x5 cards, 1954-55
-contracts for construction and physical repairs, 1952-54 [loose]

Box 13
-deposit and payment ledgers of student clubs, 1950
-inventories of supplies and equipment, 1946-1950
-purchase orders, FY 1950

Box 14
-student ledger sheets, 1951-53 [bundled]
-packaged payroll sheets, 1947-1951 [bundled]

Box 15
-requisitions and purchase orders, FY 1952

Box 16
-miscellaneous materials

Box 17
-absence/tardiness slips

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations