njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Education
Subgroup: Mercer County Superintendent of Schools
Series: Teacher Certification Card File, 1890s-1970s
Accession #: 1993.047
Series #:  SEDME001
Guide Date:  3/1994 (JK)
Volume: 2.0 c.f. [8 boxes]


Contents

Content Note

This card file indexes Mercer County teacher certifications granted by the State of New Jersey from the 1890s to the 1970s. Also included are a small number of cards (for deceased teachers) which contain information from as late as 1990. Arranged alphabetically by teacher's name, the cards record the following: type of certificate(s) granted, date issued, expiration date, and date recorded. Occasionally, notes on education, resignation, retirement, etc., are also included.

The certificate type is usually shown in an abbreviated form; however, the number and variety of abbreviations is far too great for a comprehensive glossary to be included here. Researchers can consult the series Department of Education/ Rules Concerning Teacher Certification [Handbooks], 1901-1950, for detailed information on the types of certificates issued at any given time. The following are some of the most common abbreviations used:

Abbreviation Meaning Abbreviation Meaning
Bus. Business Nor. Normal [School]
Ed. Education Per./Perm. Permanent
El./Elem. Elementary Pri. Primary
Emer. Emergency Prin. Principal
End. Endorsement Prov. Provisional
Gen. General Sch. School
H. Ec. Home Economics Sec. Secondary
High High School Spec./Sp. Special
Kdg. Kindergarten Sub. Substitute
Lim./L. Limited Sup./Supv. Supervisor
Low. Vit. Lowered Vitality T.C. Teacher’s College
M.T. Manual Training Tem./Temp. Temporary
N.J.S.N. NJ State Normal [School] Voc. Vocational


Contents

Box Names Included
1 Abbott - Carswell
2 Carter - Eyster
3 Faber - Herschberger
4 Hess - Leary
5 Lebbing - Moore
6 Morales - Rickles
7 Riddle - Stawecki
8 Stead - Zweig

Created September 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations