njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Education
Subgroup: Mercer County Superintendent of Schools
Series: School District Reports on Schoolhouses, Evening Schools, Lectures, Libraries, etc., 1910-1911
Accession #: 1993.047
Series #:  SEDME003
Guide Date:  6/1993 (JK)
Volume: 0.1 c.f. [26 reports]


Contents

Content Note

This series consists of various school district reports submitted to Mercer County Superintendent of Schools Joseph M. Arnold during the period 1910-1911. Represented are all Mercer County districts outside the jurisdiction of the Trenton Superintendent of Schools. While the reports were apparently planned as an annual filing required from each district, they were completed or have survived only for the fiscal years 1909-1910 and 1910-1911.

Most numerous among the reports--and present for all nine districts--are those entitled "Report on School Houses." These record the following information for each district school building: school name and number, value of property, lot dimensions, construction material, date erected, number of stories, whether an assembly room was included, whether fire escapes were present, how heated and ventilated, type of toilets, whether owned or rented, number of classrooms, and number of pupil's desks.

Next are the reports of "Evening Schools, Lectures and Library and Apparatus" (present for five of the nine districts). These record data on district evening schools and lectures offered (e.g. number, attendance, expenses involved), and on expenditures for library acquisitions, equipment, "educational works of art," etc.

Finally, included for the Ewing Township District only are several additional financial reports for the fiscal year 1910-1911.


Contents

1. East Windsor Township [5 items]:
     
  a. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 1910, 28 September 1910.
  b. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 1911, 19 July 1911.
  c. Letter of Walter C. Black, District Clerk, re: filing report on school houses, no date.
  d. Report on evening schools, lectures, library and apparatus for the year ending 30 June 1910, 26 July 1910.
  e. Letter of Walter C. Black, District Clerk, to J. M. Arnold re: teacher quotas and accounts, Hightstown, 26 July 1910.
     
2. Ewing Township [6 items]:
     
  a. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 191[-], no date.
  b. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 191[-], 22 August [191-].
  c. Report on evening schools, lectures, library and apparatus for the year ending 30 June 1910, 10 August 1910.
  d. Report on district indebtedness for the year ending 30 June 1911, 10 July 1911.
  e. Financial report of the custodian of school moneys for the year ending 30 June 1911, 31 July 1911.
  f. Annual report of the district clerk for the year ending 30 June 1911, 31 July 1911.
     
3. Hamilton Township [2 items]:
     
  a. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 1910, 9 September 1910.
  b. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 191[-], no date.
     
4. Hopewell Township [3 items]:
     
  a. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 191[-], no date.
  b. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 1911, 26 August 1911.
  c. Report on evening schools, lectures, library and apparatus for the year ending 30 June 1910, 8 August 1910.
     
5. Lawrence Township [3 items]:
     
  a. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 1910, 5 August 1910.
  b. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 191[-], 21 July [191-].
  c. Report on evening schools, lectures, library and apparatus for the year ending 30 June 1910, 6 August 1910.
     
6. Princeton Borough [1 item]:
     
  a. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 1910, no date [includes a sketch of the Model School lot].
     
7. Princeton Township [1 item]:
     
  a. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 1910, 1 August 1910 [includes note from J. M. Arnold, 5 August 1910].
     
8. Washington Township [2 items]:
     
  a. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 1910, 21 July 1910.
  b. Report on evening schools, lectures, library and apparatus for the year ending 30 June 1910, 21 July 1910.
     
9. West Windsor Township [3 items]:
     
  a. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 1910, 2 July 1910.
  b. Report on schoolhouses for the year ending 30 June 1911, 26 July 1911.
  c. Letter from Fred. S. Cook, District Clerk, re: annual district school meeting, Dutch Neck, 15 March 1910.

Created September 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations