njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Series: Monthly Reports, 1926-1971
Accession #: 1977.012, 1978.030
Series #:  SIN00001
Guide Date:  9/1995 (JK)
Volume: 16 c.f. [91 vols.]


Contents

Content Note

This series consists of a near-complete set of monthly reports of the Department of Institutions and Agencies for the period 1926-1971, providing coverage for most of the department's existence (1918-1976). The reports for the first year (January 1926 - February 1927) were actually done on a weekly basis; they record the commissioner's and division directors' day-to-day activities, and also provide reports from the superintendent of each institution or agency. Beginning in March 1927, the reports were done monthly and no longer included separate sections for each institution. The commissioner reported on his own activities, usually including highlights of meetings and conferences, accounts of projects or initiatives at specific institutions, and updates on budget and legislative matters. This was followed by summaries of each division's activities throughout the various institutions (as opposed to sections for each facility). While the number, names and functions of the department's divisions changed over the years, the subjects they reported on generally included: finances, personnel policies, farm yields, grounds and buildings improvements, social services, parole, classification, education, and mental and physical health care. The early reports are predominantly narrative, but do provide some tables of financial data as well as patient/inmate demographics. By the 1940s, the amount of statistical information included in the reports increased and tended to dominate the reports by the 1970s. NOTE: The reports for the period July-December 1955 are missing.


Contents

Box 1 Box 2
January-June 1926 January-June 1931
July-December 1926 July-December 1931
January-December 1927 January-June 1932
January-December 1928 July-December 1932
January-December 1929 January-June 1933
January-December 1930 July-December 1933
  January-June 1934
   
Box 3 Box 4
July-December 1934 January-June 1938
January-June 1935 July-December 1938
July-December 1935 January-June 1939
January-June 1936 July-December 1939
July-December 1936 January-June 1940
January-June 1937 July-December 1940
July-December 1937  
   
Box 5 Box 6
January-June 1941 July-December 1943
July-December 1941 January-June 1944
January-June 1942 July-December 1944
July-December 1942 January-June 1945 [Copy 1]
January-June 1943 January-June 1945 [Copy 2]
   
Box 7 Box 8
July-December 1945 [copy 1] January-June 1947
July-December 1945 [copy 2] July-December 1947
January-June 1946 January-June 1948
July-December 1946 July-December 1948
   
Box 9 Box 10
January-June 1949 July-December 1950
July-December 1949 January-June 1951
January-March 1950 July-December 1951
April-June 1950 January-June 1952
  July-December 1952
   
Box 11 Box 12
January-June 1953 January-June 1955 [copy 2]
July-December 1953 January-June 1956
January-June 1954 July-December 1956
July-December 1954 January-June 1957
January-June 1955 [copy 1] July-December 1957
  January-June 1958
  July-December 1958
  January-June 1959
   
Box 13 Box 14
July-December 1959 January-June 1964
January-June 1960 July-December 1964
July-December 1960 January-June 1965
January-June 1961 July-December 1965
July-December 1961 January-June 1966
January-June 1962 July-December 1966
July-December 1962  
January-June 1963  
July-December 1963  
   
Box 15 Box 16
January-June 1967 January-June 1970
July-December 1967 July-December 170
January-June 1968 January-June 1971
July-December 1968 July-December 1971
January-June 1969  
July-December 1969  

Created September 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations