njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Department of Institutions and Agencies

Subgroup: New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman
Accession #: 1994.032, 1994.038, 1995.057, 1996.038, 1998.055



Institutional History

During the nineteenth century, epileptics were often institutionalized in homes for the feeble-minded or insane asylums. As early as the 1860s, however, physicians at the State Lunatic Asylum in Trenton, New Jersey, had noted that housing those suffering from epilepsy with the insane had a deleterious effect on both. In 1877, and again in 1884, Dr. John W. Ward, superintendent of the State Asylum in Trenton, unsuccessfully lobbied the New Jersey State Legislature for funds to open a separate building for epileptics. Between 1888 and 1895, Professor S. Olin Garrison, founder and principal of the New Jersey Training School for the Feeble-minded in Vineland, also devoted much time advocating separate facilities for epileptics. Finally in 1895, the New Jersey State Legislature established a commission to investigate the condition of epileptics in New Jersey (P.L. 1895, Joint Resolution No. 1, p. 855). While the commission's 1896 report convinced the legislature of the need to establish a specialized institution for treatment of this disease, the resulting bill was vetoed by Governor John W. Griggs. Two years later, however, legislation establishing the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics was signed into law by Acting Governor Foster M. Voorhees (P.L. 1898, chap. 113, p. 185).

The 1898 act entrusted the organization of the Village to a board of six managers appointed by the governor. The first board members were Rev. James M. Buckley, Prof. S. Olin Garrison, and Drs. William S. Coombs, John H. Ewing, Thomas J. Smith, and John W. Ward. Their first order of business was to find an appropriate location for the Village. After searching several months, they purchased adjacent farms in Montgomery Township, Somerset County, containing a total of 402 acres of land. In October 1898, the board hired Dr. Henry M. Weeks, a pathologist and assistant physician at the New Jersey State Hospital in Trenton, as the Village's first Superintendent. They officially opened the Village on 1 November 1898.

During the early years of the Village, the managers and Dr. Weeks devoted most of their time and limited resources to making the Village physically viable. Roads, sewers, power plants and additional buildings for patients and administrative offices were constructed, and electricity was brought in; livestock and farming equipment were purchased. The goal was to establish a self-sufficient, agrarian-based community maintained by both patients and employees. Here the staff would provide scientific treatment and care to residents, while the residents would learn domestic, agricultural, and industrial skills that would help maintain the Village.

Funding initially came solely through legislative appropriations and fees paid by private patients. In 1902, legislation was passed which allowed the admission of indigent epileptics by order the county Courts of Common Pleas. Under this law, the county would make payment to the Village for each patient it had sent (P.L. 1902, chap. 85, p.249). Additional funds were eventually raised through the sale of goods raised on the Village's farms.

In 1918, responsibility for the Village was given to the newly established Department of Charities and Corrections (P.L. 1918, chap. 147, p. 343), which was renamed the Department of Institutions and Agencies the following year (P.L. 1919, chap. 97, p. 222). At this time, the Village had over 700 patients and covered over 1,000 acres of land.

It appears that throughout the history of the Village, its managers and supervisors strived to make their ideal of a self-sufficient community a reality. Children attended the Village school while adult residents assisted with the general upkeep of the facilities, learning skills such as carpentry, plumbing, sewing, and housekeeping. Patients also worked on the Village farm, which grew vegetables, fruit, wheat and hay, and kept livestock including dairy cows, pigs and chickens. There were regular social events as well: plays, concerts, dances and agricultural fairs. Many residents, however, because of physical or mental conditions, were incapable of participating in these functions and were simply patients in the Village hospital, which was opened in 1913.

The State Village also served as a center for research on epilepsy. In cooperation with other institutions, the Village medical staff conducted studies to determine the possible causes of the disease and tried various therapies, focusing mainly on diet and nutrition. Eventually, drug therapies were developed which more effectively controlled seizures.

According to Walter C. Baker, author of A History of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics, the gradual decline and closing of the Village had several causes. The depression of the 1930s resulted in severe cutbacks in funding of the Village; this led in turn to cramped housing and deterioration of the facilities resulting from deferred maintenance. The era of World War II also brought about a shortage of qualified workers: high-paying war work was more attractive than the low wages of the Village. And, as epilepsy became better understood and more treatable, it became increasingly apparent that it was neither necessary or desirable to isolate those suffering from the disease. Due to these and other factors, the state decided to phase out the program and use the Village for other purposes.

To this end, Dr. Robert S. Garber was appointed superintendent of the Village in 1952. Under Dr. Garber's guidance, sixty percent of the Village's epileptic patients were re-evaluated and either sent back into their communities or transferred to other state facilities. In 1953, the State Legislature formally abolished the Village and replaced it with the New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute (P.L. 1953, chap. 122, p. 1307). The Institute took over the Village's lands and facilities, and those serving as board members of the Village for Epileptics continued as members of the board of the Institute until their terms expired.



Bibliography

Baker, Walter C. A History of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics. (Belle Mead, NJ: Van Harlingen Historical Society, 1993).

Mendelson, Michael and Burlingham, Helen. "A History of the New Jersey Neuropsychiatric Institute" [unpublished paper]. (Skillman, NJ: 1972).


Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations