njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Subgroup: New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman
Series: Minutes of the Board of Managers, 1898-1901 and 1907-1953
Accession #: 1994.032, 1995.057
Series #:  SINEP001
Guide Date:   12/1994 (EC)
Volume:  6.3 c.f. [21 vols.]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

This series consists of minutes of the Board of Managers of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics for the periods 14 July 1898 to 11 January 1901 and 8 November 1907 to 13 May 1953. The minutes for the period February 1901 to December 1907 have not been found; since the volume labeled as number 2 begins with 8 November 1907, it is possible that the 1901-1907 minutes have been missing for many years. In addition to details on the decisions and policies of the Board, the majority of the minute books (volumes 1-18) also contain reports of the various board committees and officers. These include: the medical committee, the executive committee, the buildings/grounds committee, the supervisor and the treasurer. The committee/officers reports provide information regarding financing, personnel changes, visitors to the Village, and yields from the Village's agricultural enterprises. The minutes also furnish patient information, including: admissions, discharges, escape attempts, illnesses and deaths. Volumes 19-[21], dating from 1952-1953, are much less detailed and do not contain monthly reports of officers and committees. These later minutes, however, do include financial, personnel and patient data as well as information about projects and problems in the Village.

It should also be noted that the final volume, number [21], contains transitional minutes for the Village and its successor, the New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute. Photocopies of pages 1-55 of this volume are included in box 19, and can be broken down as follows: pages 1-27 (10 September 1952 - 14 January 1953) are minutes for the Village alone; pages 28-51 (11 February 1953 -15 April 1953) are minutes for joint board meetings of the Village and the Institute; pages 52-55 (13 May 1953) record the first meeting of the Institute's Board alone. The original volume [21] is in Box 1 of the records of the New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute.



Contents

Box Vol. Inclusive Dates
1 [1] 4 July 1898 - 11 January 1901, and loose items as follows:
     a. "New Jersey's Colony of Epileptics, Newark Sunday News, 18 August
          1901, p. 8.
     b.  Rough notes and additions to minutes of 15 October 1900 (see pages
          167-168) [4 items].
1a 2 8 November 1907 - 13 September 1911
2 3 9 October 1911 - 9 September 1914
3 4 9 September 1914 - 13 June 1917
4 5 13 June 1917 - 11 August 1920
5 6 11 August 1920 - 10 October 1923
6 7 14 November 1923 - 8 December 1926
7 8 12 January 1927 - 13 March 1929
8 9 10 April 1929 - 12 November 1930
9 10 12 November 1930 - 10 August 1932
10 11 10 August 1932 - 8 August 1934
11 12 8 August 1934 - 8 July 1936
12 13 8 July 1936 - 13 July 1938
13 14 13 July 1938 - 11 September 1940
14 15 11 September 1940 - 9 December 1942
15 16 9 December 1942 - 14 June 1944
16 17 12 July 1944 - 11 December 1946
17 18 8 January 1947 - 11 August 1948
18 19 8 September 1948 - 9 January 1952
19 20 15 February 1952 - 14 August 1952
19 [21] 10 September 1952 - 13 May 1953 [photocopy, pp. 1-55]

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations