njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Subgroup: New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman
Series: Letter Book of S. Olin Garrison, Secretary of the Board of Managers, 1898-1899
Accession #: 1994.032
Series #:  SINEP003
Guide Date:   12/1994 (EC)
Volume:  0.25 c.f. [1 vol.]


Institutional History

Content Note

Professor S. Olin Garrison was founder and principal of the New Jersey Training School for the Feeble-Minded in Vineland. He served as secretary of the State Village's Board of Managers from 1898 to 1900. This series consists of copies of Professor Olin's correspondence as secretary covering the period 14 July 1898 to 15 November 1899, and documents the earliest development of the Village. Topics include the search for and selection of the Village site, letters of appointment for the earliest staff members, reports to Governor Foster M. Voorhees regarding the progress of the Village, and letters to parents of prospective patients. Correspondents include state officials such as Governor Voorhees, Treasurer George B. Swain, Comptroller William S. Hancock, members of the Village's Board of Managers and the first superintendent, Dr. Henry M. Weeks. There is an alphabetic index to the correspondents at the beginning of the volume. NOTE: This volume is in subgroup Box 24.


Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations