njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Subgroup: New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman
Series: Admission Registers, 1899-1952
Accession #: 1996.038
Series #:  SINEP004
Guide Date:   11/1996 (EC)
Volume:  3.0 c.f. [13 vols.]


Institutional History | Content Note | Contents | Notice to Researchers

Access Note

The records of patients admitted to state hospitals are confidential as stipulated by NJSA 30:4-24.3, which reads as follows:

All certificates, applications, records, and reports made pursuant to the provisions of Title 30 of the Revised Statutes and directly or indirectly identifying any individual presently or formerly receiving services in a noncorrectional institution under Title 30 of Revised Statutes, or for whom services in a noncorrectional institution shall be sought under this act shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed by any person...

Exceptions to this rule can only be made when: 1) the patient or his or her legal guardian gives consent to access; 2) a court, for the purposes of its proceedings, deems that failure of the disclosure of this information is contrary to the public interest; 3) disclosure is deemed necessary by the Commissioner of Human Services in order to carry out any provisions of Title 30 or Article 9 of NJSA 2A:82; or 4) disclosure is deemed necessary by the Commissioner of Human Services in order to conduct an investigation to determine the patient's financial ability to pay for services received.



Content Note

This series consists of registers of admissions to the State Village for the period 29 April 1899 to 27 December 1952. It should be noted that an October 1899 report in the minutes of the board of managers states that there were seven patients in the village; however, these records show only five admissions by that time. While the earliest records tend to be brief, the registers generally include the following information for each patient: admission number, the patient's name, sex, race, date and place of birth, marital status, occupation, education, parents' names, and date of release, transfer or death. Admission records in the first volume (which are handwritten) usually include the supposed cause of epilepsy and also list any known auras (physical warning signs such as nausea or dizziness which may precede a seizure). Beginning with the second volume, the registers contain pre-printed admission pages and provide greater medical detail, including the following: length of illness before admission, mental and physical condition, type of seizures, and whether heredity is known to be a factor. The later records also include the names of the examining physicians and the name of the presiding judge (in cases where an individual was committed by court order), and indicate whether an individual was an indigent, private or committed patient.

Admission records for 26 feeble-minded men who came to the Village between May and September 1913 are also included at the end of the first volume. These admissions were apparently the result of an agreement between the managers of the Village and the Commissioner of Charities and Corrections. However, after considerable discussion on this matter (as shown in the board minutes), it was ultimately decided that the Village should be used exclusively for the treatment of epileptics. By November 1913, the feeble-minded men who had been admitted to the Village were either transferred to the New Jersey Training School at Vineland or released.

It should also be noted that Volume 13 of this series includes admission records for the Village's successor agency, the New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute. The Institute's admissions start with #6260 in February 1953, and are described more fully in the guide to the series: Department of Institutions and Agencies/ New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute/ Admission Registers, 1954-1961.



Contents

Box Vol. Admission Nos. Inclusive Dates  
29 1 #1-371 1899-1908 [also includes Feeble-Minded Men admissions
#1-26, 1913]
  2 #372-867 1908-1915  
30 3 #868-1379 1915-1918  
31 4 #1380-1883 1918-1922  
32 5 #1884-2386 1922-1926  
33 6 #2387-2886 1926-1929  
34 7 #2887-3386 1929-1931  
35 8 #3387-3890 1931-1933  
36 9 #3891-4398 1933-1936  
37 10 #4399-4902 1936-1939  
38 11 #4903-5406 1939-1944  
39 12 #5407-5909 1944-1949  
40 13 #5910-6259 1949-1952 [also includes New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric
Institute admissions #6260-6412, 1953-1954]

Notice to Researchers Using Admission Records of the
New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman


A patient admission number will be needed in order to locate an individual record in the State Village admission registers. Admission numbers can be obtained by contacting:

Division of Developmental Disabilities
P.O. Box 726

Trenton, NJ 08625-0726
(609) 292-9435

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations