njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Subgroup: New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman
Series: Miscellaneous Administrative Records and Publications, 1914-1993
Accession #: 1994.032
Series #:  SINEP008
Guide Date: 12/1994 (EC)
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [1 box, 1 map folder]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

This series consists of miscellaneous administrative records and publications. Included are lists of the Village's board members and professional staff (physicians, clinical directors, dentists, etc.), published by-laws, teaching materials, booklets of poetry and essays printed at the Village, and a 1925 "Institutional Questionnaire" (item 8) which provides information on funding, staffing and building use. In addition, there is a 1993 history of the Village prepared by Walter C. Baker. NOTE: The map and organizational chart (items 10 and 11) are stored flat in a map case.



Contents

Box 25
1.
Compiled lists of board members, professional staff, etc., 1898-1961 [removed from loose-leaf binder]:
 
a.
Board of Managers, 1898-1961 [includes Neuro-Psychiatric Institute Board Members].
 
b.
Superintendents, Stewards, Senior Physicians, Clinical Directors [includes biographies of Superintendent Dan Smith Renner, Superintendent Albert William Pigott, and Clinical Director Diomede Guertin].
 
c.
Department of Institutions and Agencies, 1949 [includes State Board of Control and all agencies within the department].
 
d.
Assistant Physicians, 1902-1950.
 
e.
Dentists, 1910-1939.
 
f.
Interns, 1909-1924.
2.
Indiana Village for Epileptics, New Castle, Indiana [photographic album], no date.
3.
Statutes, by-laws, etc.:
 
a.
Statute Law, By-laws, Rules and Regulations Governing Officers, Employees and Patients of The New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman, 1914.
 
b.
By-Laws, Rules and Regulations Governing Officers, Employees and Patients of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman, 1937.
4.
Manuscript & Inscription Letters For Schools & Classes & for the Use of Craftsmen, by Edward Johnston, 1916 [State Village library book].
5.
Outline Course of Training for Epileptics, by Louis Weeks, Principal Teacher, New Jersey State Village for Epileptics, 1918.
6.
Thoughts of Mother: A selection of Poems collected and used at The New Jersey State Village at Skillman, 1921.
7.
Selected Selections [poetry, prose, humor]:
 
a.
Vol. I, 1921
 
b.
Vol. II, 1925
8.
"The New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman, Institutional Questionnaire for the Collection of Information and Data in a General Survey of the New Jersey State Government," 25 June 1925 [includes information on funding, staffing, buildings, etc.].
9.
Notes from teachers' meeting, 16 September 1932.
10.
"Map of New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman, New Jersey," 22 March 1937, revised 13 September 1944 [blueprint, 20"x30.5"].
11.
"New Jersey State Village Table of Organization, 1951-1952," 10 December 1951.
12.
A History of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics, by Walter C. Baker, Van Harlingen Historical Society, Winter 1933.

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations