njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Subgroup: New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman
Series: Deeds, Agreements, and Miscellaneous Land Records, 1854-1947
Accession #: 1998.055
Series #:  SINEP011
Guide Date:   6/1998 (EC)
Volume:  0.25 c.f. [29 items]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

This series consists of deeds, mortgages, agreements and other records relating to real property held by the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman. Several documents relate to Maplewood Farm, one of the two original tracts purchased in 1898 for the Village site [items 4-7b and 9-10d]. The records are arranged chronologically with undated material filed at the beginning.


Contents

Box 43

1. Description of five tracts of land which became part of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics [no date].
2. Map of "223 Acres conveyed on May 3rd, 1811 to Henry Skillman by Heirs of Thomas Skillman...." [no date].
3. Agreement of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics to loan a Holstein bull to Luther C. and Harry S. VanZandt for one year, 25 May [no year].
4. Deed of Catherine Griggs to Abraham Voorhees for 2.1 acres in Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co., 20 January 1854 [recorded in Book F, No. 3., page 354, 22 October 1859].
5. Deed of Jacob and Cornelia Voorhees to Abraham Voorhees for 2.5 acres in Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co., 19 April 1859 [recorded in Book F, No. 3 of Deeds, page 357, 22 October 1859].
6. Receipt for tax payment of J. C. Voorhees, Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co., 1898.
7a. Mortgage of David C. and Mary Voorhees to the Chancellor of New Jersey for 186.68 acres in Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co., 11 February 1884 [recorded in Book Z, No. 2 of Mortgages, page 428, 11 February 1884].
7b. Cancellation of mortgage [see 7a] as granted by Hugh H. Hamil, President of the Trenton Trust and Safe Deposit Co., 1 November 1898.
8. Lease of S. Olin Garrison to the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics for 213 acres in Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co., 1 November 1898.
9. Agreement of Mary S. Voorhees et al to sell to the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics 187 acres in Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co. ["Maplewood Farm"], 6 September 1898.
10a. List of six "Papers relating to the Maplewood farm [including 10b-10d; other three not found]:
10b. Warranty deed of Mary S. Voorhees et al to the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics for 186.68 acres in Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co., 28 October 1898 [recorded on Book V, No. 8, page 52].
10c. Title search for 186.68 acres in Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co., 19 November 1898.
10d. Certificate of Clerk of the Supreme Court of New Jersey that he found no judgments of liens recorded against various individuals [includes Mary S. Voorhees and others selling land to the Village], 19 November 1898.
11. Agreement of Abraham P. Voorhees to sell 100 acres in Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co., to John W. Ward, representing the Executive Committee of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics, 12 April 1900 [signed manuscript copy and signed typed copy]; also note from J. J. Bergen, Counselor at Law, to "My dear Doctor" [probably Dr. Henry Weeks, Superintendent of the Village] regarding the "two old deeds," 24 May 1900 [3 items].
12. Special contract between the Delaware & Atlantic Telegraph & Telephone Company and the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics for various telephone services and equipment, 19 September 1905; also two applications from the Village for additional facilities and services, 26 May & 8 August 1917 [3 items].
13. Agreements giving an option to David F. Weeks to purchase 226 acres "located to the north of the N. J. State Village for Epileptics" from Luther C. Van Zandt [fragment] and land "located to the north of and adjoining the State Village property" from L. C. and S. H. Van Zandt, 11 December 1911 & 19 March 1912 [2 items].
14a. Unsigned letter to William T. Read, State Treasurer and Newton A. K. Bugbee, Comptroller of the Treasury, regarding the purchase of portions of the farm of Mr. S. S. Voorhees, December 1917 [probably draft of a letter from Dr. Henry Weeks, Superintendent of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics].
14b. Agreement of S. S. Voorhees to sell 75 acres in Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co., to the State of New Jersey (by William T. Read, State Treasurer, and A. K. Bugbee, Comptroller), 18 December 1917 [signed copy and draft; 2 items].
14c. Agreement of S. S. Voorhees to sell 75 acres in Montgomery Twp., Somerset Co., to the State of New Jersey (by William T. Read, State Treasurer, and A. K. Bugbee, Comptroller), 4 November 1918.
15. Deed of the State of New Jersey to the Board of Chosen Freeholders of the County of Somerset for a parcel of land belonging to the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics needed to straighten the county road leading from Plainville to Blawenburg, 13 October 1920.
16. Letter of F. P. Gerry, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Institutions and Agencies, to Albert W. Pigott, Superintendent of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics, regarding insurance coverage on Village property, 22 April 1947; also photostatic copy of insurance endorsement for coverage of various buildings of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics, 15 April 1947 [2 items].

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations