njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Subgroup: Leesburg State Prison
Series: Photograph Album of the Medium Security Facility, ca. 1969-1970
Accession #: 1994.074
Series #:  SINLE001
Guide Date:  10/1994 (JK)
Volume: 1 vol. [0.1 c.f.]



Content Note

The medium security facility at Leesburg (now Bayside) State Prison was opened for occupancy in 1970, its cornerstone having been laid in 1969. The facility's design by Kelly and Gruzen, Architects, won them the 1962 Progressive Architecture Tenth Annual Design Award for best public-use structure not yet built. The architects envisioned the facility as eliminating, as much as possible, an oppressive sense of confinement. It was hoped that, through a pattern of interlocking courtyards formed by separate inmate housing units, the facility would achieve "a secluded and orderly group of spaces similar in character to a monastery."

This volume was part of the personal effects of Dr. Lloyd W. McCorkle (1913-1984), Commissioner of the Department of Institutions and Agencies from 1963 to 1971. It contains seventeen interior and exterior views of the medium security facility at Leesburg--apparently taken about the time the facility was first put into use. Included at the beginning of the volume are a photograph of the general layout of the facility, and a copy of the January 1963 Progressive Architecture award article.



Created September 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations